Skip to content

. sweet and savory oats .

June 13, 2011

Yipee! I think I hear the ice cream truck! 😀

*mad dash for wallet and door*

You’ll have to excuse me if I seem a bit loopier than usual today, but I think this might explain it…

Mmm hmm. Last night was an interesting night for sure. Unfortunately, the liberating effects of giggle weed can’t be blamed for the “interesting” contents of the mystery bowl that I posted yesterday:

Because it wasn’t the first time it happened…

And it definitely won’t be the last. So while it would have been nice to pass off my… err… “interesting” choices on an altered state of mind, I’m afraid that it was just my plain old crazy self shining through.

But enough stalling, what was in mystery bowls 1 & 2?

6 things. Most of you were correct in guessing three, which, to be fair, is pretty darn good considering that’s pretty much all you could see from the picture. Oops. So here’s a better look at mystery bowl #1:

What we have there issss: eggy bananafied oats alongside cottage cheese, strawberry jam, and hummus.

And in mystery bowl #2?

The same eggy bananafied oats, but this time with cottage cheese, blueberry jam, and avocado.

I know, I know. Whaaaaaaaat!?! 😯

Well, you probably know by now that I’m no stranger to strange combinations…

 

Rice with applesauce, cinnamon, hummusHummus, apple, cheese, avocado wrap

And you probably also know that I always try to honor my cravings, no matter how odd they might be. So, when I found myself craving sweet oats for dinner, but also wanting something savory, I figured… why the heck not? I’ve done sweet oats…

 

… and I’ve done savory ones…

 

Why not combine the two? So that’s what I did, and sweet & savory oats were born

And now I’m kind of obsessed… I may or may not be working on bowl #5 as we speak…

If I haven’t weirded you out by now, and if you’re curious and adventurous enough to wanna try your own, then all you have to do is: cook up a serving of oats like you normally would, adding a pinch of salt, 1-2 egg whites, and ½ banana. Then, top with the sweet & savory mix-ins of your choice.

If I may make a suggestion… hummus and jam, or hummus and honey, make an amazing combination. And a fried egg with cheese and jam is next on my list of things to try. I also wanna try adding some nutritional yeast to the oats themselves, to see how that will pair with the banana. The possibilities are endless and I’m getting hungry just thinking about it… oh how I love looking forward to my meals…

. – . – . – .

What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever added into oatmeal?

And, what’s your favorite sweet & savory combination?

82 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2011 5:24 pm

    I’m very boring with oatmeal – you’re brave! 😀

    I love sea salt chocolate as the sweet/savory treat.

  2. movesnmunchies permalink
    June 13, 2011 5:29 pm

    WOAH!!!! crazy combos! but i LOVE IT!! best sweet and savory has got to be…. uh… actually i cnt think of anything!! its always SWEET+SWEET for me!

  3. June 13, 2011 5:30 pm

    Wow, I’ve never tried anything as daring as this! If I’m ever craving something strange but supposedly yummy I will turn to this crazy combination thats for sure!

  4. Vanillandspice permalink
    June 13, 2011 5:32 pm

    I don’t think I’ve added anything too weird to my oats. I like a lot of sweet/savory combos though. I can’t even picture what these oats would taste like, I’m going to just have to make them!

  5. June 13, 2011 5:32 pm

    ahhh this looks so good! How do you make your eggy bananified oats?! They look so fluffy and delicious. I’ve never tried any sweet with hummus but maybe I’ll give it a try sometime

  6. June 13, 2011 5:42 pm

    What wonderful combinations!!!!! Sweet and savory at the same time = perfection in my book!!!!
    I love the idea of savory oats – i love them mixed with spinach and parmesan cheese or a poached egg!!
    That reminds me of my dinner tonight – perfectly poached egg on top of fresh arugula with a extra crisp baked potato with spinach and parmesan cheese!!
    my belief – if you’ve got a craving – go with it!!

  7. June 13, 2011 5:45 pm

    I still can’t do the whole savory oats thing. Put some freaking banana, peanut butter, and maple syrup in there!

  8. Moira permalink
    June 13, 2011 5:45 pm

    Love your blog!!
    Honey with hummus is actually a moroccan combination! 😉 My favourite savoury/sweet combination is kimchi (korean fermented cabbage) with chocolate…it really works together!

  9. June 13, 2011 5:47 pm

    Mmmm avocado. I do have to be impressed by your random combo of foods! Pretty hilarious!

  10. June 13, 2011 5:50 pm

    You are going to be fun when your pregnant 🙂 you have crazy combos now, just wait till the baby starts talkin 😉
    Btw I’m having a hummus pizza tonight, and everytime I make one I always think of you and say a little thanks for introduing me to my favorite new meal 🙂 love you girl!!

    • June 13, 2011 7:00 pm

      Lol oh it’s gonna be scary for sure. Or maybe it’ll be the complete opposite and I’ll just start craving normal food. That would be pretty odd…

  11. June 13, 2011 6:08 pm

    Yeah, eggs , avocado, cheese and jam make sense cuz i like toast + eggs + cheese + avocado , etc…
    my issue is that i get too complex and make things bad for my weak weak tummy. I know i ought to be simpler, and help my tummy out a bit so then i can get more complex in future…but je suis trop stubborn ..no surprise there.

  12. June 13, 2011 6:15 pm

    Haha this is great! I’ve put beans and salsa on oatmeal once, with some olive oil ( not bad!!) that would be good with your avacado fo sure!!
    Hmmm fav sweet and savory? salted banana chips hmmm 🙂

  13. June 13, 2011 6:26 pm

    I can’t even deal with how much I love you. Like, really, thoughts of you are legitatmitely starting to consume my life. Sweet and savory oats? Girl, shut the front door.

    I wish you weren’t a little veg-head. I need you try to a peanut butter and bacon sandwich. It will change your life in so many ways you didn’t know were possible.

  14. Laura permalink
    June 13, 2011 7:11 pm

    And I thought I was wierd for eating my eggs with jelly! I read about one of the characters in the book the Outsiders trying it once, and decided it would be a good idea. Ever since, I’ll occasionally top my eggs with jelly. But I do think your combinations are stranger, but if they taste good, that’s what matters 🙂

  15. June 13, 2011 7:46 pm

    This is quite interesting. I love how much you just eat whatever you want. That’s one way to feel truly satisfied. I don’t know how I feel about savoury oats. I haven’t had the nerve to try them yet….you know my qualms with breakfast for dinner and dinner for breakfast, vice versa. I do love nut butters with veggies though!! Tuna and hummus is pretty good so I wonder how nut butter and hummus would be….

  16. June 13, 2011 7:49 pm

    Haha…I like to keep my oats sweet. No thanks for the savory ones LOL. But sooner or later, I’m SO going to put Kabocha in my oats (or alternatively, rice). I think the idea of adding egg-whites in oatmeal is pretty weird – but I love it that way! Nut Butter & jam on egg white oats is the most filling combination IMO.

    p.s. I don’t know if you watch Hockey, but at the moment, I’m so upset about the stupid game that’s currently going on in Boston!! Why can’t they just win!!!!?? urrgghh

    p.p.s. I saw Ashley @edible perspective add butter before…hm…

  17. June 13, 2011 7:55 pm

    I have yet to try savory oats yet – I don’t know what I’m waiting for!!!

  18. June 13, 2011 8:07 pm

    hah. my neighbor used to smoke the happy grass by his garage, which happened to be semi-near to where we had our horses at the time. I just wanted to be like “Dude, can you step a couple feet to your left? My horses don’t like getting stoned as much as you do…”
    alright, alright. the hummus & jam kinda made me cringe…but then again, I do love an odd combo. I think it only seems odd because the only hummus i ever really have is garlic lovers, so i’m imagining super garlicy hummus w/ strawberry jam vs. regular hummus, lol. the fried egg, cheese and jam sounds awesome, though – as does the hummus and honey! …and avo and jam. okay, okay, so you’re just a genius…

  19. June 13, 2011 8:14 pm

    I want the savory ones!!!!!!!! =) yum yum yum! you can have the sweets but give me that avo and oats nooooow! ❤

    mwah!

  20. June 13, 2011 8:51 pm

    You are one wild cat, my friend. I SUCK at mixing weird combos because I’m not man enough to try them. Let’s just say I find having jasmine rice with an indian curry a bit of a stretch, let alone avocado with sweet oats! MADNESS!! 😛

    xxx

  21. Emily permalink
    June 13, 2011 9:27 pm

    I had a fried egg on toast with cheese and jam just last night as a midnight snack! And oh, it.was.fabulous. And I want another one tonight.
    I’ve had savory oats only once, with cheese + steamed veggies + salt and pepper, and I loved it. I’ve been meaning to experiment more with that lately, but it’s getting so warm outside that I can’t be bothered to cook anything hot for lunch, especially oats. Ah well, hopefully they’ll make a reappearance soon!

  22. June 13, 2011 9:27 pm

    That sounds interesting! I looove sweet and savory together (sweet and savory sushi is the BOMB!)!

  23. June 13, 2011 9:56 pm

    avocado + jam sounds amazing! & hummus in oats, i have to try this.
    my fav sweet and savoury combo as of recent is; cinnamon raisin toast with an egg. 🙂

  24. June 13, 2011 10:13 pm

    I’ll bet I’ve tried weirder combos than that. I have to admit, I wouldn’t have thought of the hummus + jam, but I actually don’t consider avocado to be savory (um, avo + honey = YUM). But I do also love hummus & honey sandwiches. :B

  25. June 13, 2011 10:39 pm

    You’re awesome. Those seriously sound like killer combos! I’m intrigued. I’m all about sweet and savory. I used to really like to eat tortilla chips and chocolate chips together. Sweet and salty. Mmmm 🙂 The strangest thing I’ve ever added to oatmeal? Well, I didn’t think it was strange, but it freaked my boyfriend out. I crumbled up a brownie on oatmeal once which I think is totally chill and acceptable. Woody just was not down with at all. 🙂

  26. June 13, 2011 10:56 pm

    I need to make savory oats already! And you’ve never steered me wrong on an odd food combo so I guess I should try sweet and savory oats while I’m at it! However, nutritional yeast and banana? I think I’m going to have to pass on that one.

  27. Teniesha permalink
    June 13, 2011 11:02 pm

    Sweet & salty or sweet & savoury are usually the best combinations, weirdly enough. Love your ideas! 🙂

  28. June 14, 2011 12:37 am

    I remain a savory oats virgin! For some reason I have an aversion to the idea. However, I’m sure that if I added enough cheese to the mix, they’d be pretty amazing. Oh, and avocado. I like ANY food that’s topped with it.

    My very favorite sweet and savory combination is fruit jam and goat cheese. SO good. Maybe I should try mixing them into oats? 🙂

  29. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    June 14, 2011 12:38 am

    I have to say I LOVE (!!!!) all those combinations you posted! They all seem delicious to me and I would eat and enjyo them all:)
    I love strange combinations, I am putting things like hemp or peanut oil to my oats, hummus is the best oats´ friend, grated zucchini + cocoa are great. Grated red beet? Why not! Oatmeal is the most versatile thing ever!:)

  30. June 14, 2011 1:24 am

    Hummus and jam…interesting, I love both but have never combined them! When I was little I used to get the weirdest cravings for French bread middles (the doughy part) with lots of mustard. As for sweet and savoury, I LOVE pastilla- this moroccan dish which is a powdered sugar puff pastry with chicken and cinnamon. SO GOOD

  31. June 14, 2011 3:00 am

    Oh, wow, this really does sound strange 😛 But I have faith in your tastebuds, so it must be good 🙂 And when I think of it I do LOVE tahini with honey, so hummus+honey cant be too bad either.
    Before, I thought sweet potato only was for savory meals, but Ive found I LOVE it with almondbutter and maple sirup, and now it doesnt seem strange at all!
    Have a great day Amanda, and thank you SO much for your email, meant the world to me. Ill write back soon!

  32. June 14, 2011 4:27 am

    Oooh you are so creative with your unusual combinations – LOVE it!! You know what you should do? Your pumpkin and hummus combo! That would be YUM. Maybe with..cranberry sauce…Ooooh I’m gonna try this one myself haha! I’ve always kept my oats sweet but you’ve totally just inspired me 🙂
    My favorite sweet and savory combo is definitely my cottage cheese, apple, grape and jam sandwiches are the moment. And also dipping tomato and herb spelt breadsticks in jam..I have no shame, it’s tastes good haha.

  33. time for happiness permalink
    June 14, 2011 4:41 am

    who woulda thought! These all look soooo gooood 🙂

  34. June 14, 2011 5:08 am

    The weirdest thing I’ve put in my oats is probably…. ginger. Wasn’t sold on it though, so I never did it again.

    Favorite sweet and savory combo has to be cheese and mango chutney or hummus and mango chutney. Love it!!

  35. June 14, 2011 5:52 am

    FRIED RUNNY EGG ON TOP OF OATS= DELICIOUS. with salsa! Since I love eggs & PB&J I would love to add all three. I may try.

    Faave savory/sweet combo may be PB&EGG&J or honey on egg&cheese sandwiches. I know I like a lot of other sweet/savory combos, Like salted caramel, but I’m on a huge egg kick right noww.

  36. June 14, 2011 7:22 am

    You know, I don’t think I’ve ever added anything “strange” to oats… well, when I first had savory oats I thought it was a pretty weird thing to do, but I quite like it now, so I don’t consider it strange anymore! I haven’t had it in a really long time, though…

    ❤ ❤

  37. June 14, 2011 7:46 am

    I’ve always been under the impression that I just don’t like oatmeal… but I changed my mind this morning! I guess I was just making it the wrong way. I was using all those “voluminous” tricks you see going around the blogosphere (adding WAY too much water, letting it sit overnight to absorb, etc.) I just ended up with a big bowl of runny oatmeal soup. Well, today I got to thinking that I was being an idiot (seriously, trying to make MORE VOLUME when I already can’t shove enough calories into my face without feeling sick?!) So I just cooked oatmeal like normal people do on the stovetop with the proper amount of water. Less volume, of course, but it was so thick, gooey, and delicious! Now I can’t wait to start experimenting with it, haha.

    • June 14, 2011 9:37 am

      Eee I can’t stand runny oats. I used to be all about the volume eating because I thought it would help fill me up, but it just left me feeling bloated and unsatisfied. Compact and tasty is where it’s at 😀

  38. June 14, 2011 9:00 am

    This post gave me the inspiration to do my own about how I like my oatmeal- Thanks gurly!!
    http://lauren-whatlaurenlikes.blogspot.com/2011/06/adventures-with-oatmeal-likes-loves.html

  39. June 14, 2011 9:22 am

    WOAAAH you blow my MIND!! Haha I can’t imagine sweet and savory oats!! I’ve never even had savory oats before! Oh wait, does sweet tater count as savory?! I guess not since it’s ‘sweet’! 😛

    Ok, I think it’s time for me to step outta my comfort zone this week and try sweet and savory oatmeal. I’m scared…but it WILL happen soon. Bring it ON oatmeal 😉

  40. June 14, 2011 9:30 am

    Um, sweet and savory oats sounds so good!! I’m willing to try pretty much anything and this is now on my list! 🙂

  41. June 14, 2011 9:31 am

    I can’t say I’ve gotten too crazy with oats. My fav sweet/salty combo is probably pretzels n’ chocolate. Very addicting!

  42. June 14, 2011 9:51 am

    Bahhhh that sounds so bizarrely delicious.. the fried egg sounds like it would be delish. All that goey, tasty yolk everywhere 🙂

  43. June 14, 2011 10:18 am

    Okay the eggy bananafied oats, with cottage cheese, blueberry jam, and avocado sounds so good! In a strange way? It sounds like a flavor explosion! I’m so writing that down so I don’t forget to try it 😀

  44. June 14, 2011 11:32 am

    Avocado? Interesting….

  45. June 14, 2011 1:42 pm

    I definitely love my oats sweet although I’ve never done the savory so I can’t exactly say…I remember when my bf started making me oats he would add egg beaters. I thought it was kinda odd but it tasted delicious 🙂

  46. June 14, 2011 1:45 pm

    Some awesome and crazy combos! I’ve out chai tea in my oats before, but your combos sound way more exciting!

  47. runningonapples permalink
    June 14, 2011 3:01 pm

    I’ve added egg whites. woot woot soooo adventurous haha. But that avocado looks tempting. Does it really work with sweet? Would it be good with cinnamon?

  48. Lilly permalink
    June 14, 2011 4:56 pm

    Those look divine! People always think my combos are weird but eggs and jam or grapes/ fruit in salads seem normal to me. Also, banana, almond butter, and nutritional yeast is actually really good! When I was younger I loved rice with mango and butter ? haha I always ate it while wearing my swim suit and called it “island time”, damn I was an odd child. But really, sweet and savory and sweet and salty are perfect combos that balance each other so well, loooooove your ideas!

  49. June 14, 2011 8:55 pm

    oh i am ALL for the sweet and savory combinations. my fave sweet+savory is sea salt + chocolate, but lately i have been digging fig jam+tempeh+avocado+hummus sandwiches! i also like almond butter+banana+smoky tempeh bacon on toast…. mmm mmm mm

  50. June 15, 2011 11:58 am

    I love that oats can be savory, but sweet AND savory? What an awesome combo!! I have an avocado waiting to be eaten…perhaps I’ll add it to my oats 🙂

  51. June 15, 2011 7:08 pm

    I LOVE jam and avocado together! I’ve done it on toast, but I’ve never thought to add it to oats before! I started thinking of a fried egg, cheese, and jam before I even got to that part in your post! Haha! Eggs with jam are the best!

    I’m not sure what the weirdest thing I’ve put in oats is since I don’t really think they’re weird…tahini and chocolate?…bbq seasoning and pb&j?…nooch, avocado, and greek yogurt? All seem pretty normal to me! 😉

  52. June 16, 2011 12:11 pm

    I am going to give this a try!

    I sometimes like to make a savory bowl of oats with veggie stock, curry and nutritional yeast….but this looks even better!

Trackbacks

  1. . accept yourself for who you are . « . running with spoons .
  2. Weeekend E’s | feeedingbrainandbody
  3. . WIAW… round seven . « . running with spoons .
  4. Summer Lovin’ {Have} Me A Blast « The Healthy Verdict
  5. Recipiration & A Fashion Update « The Healthy Verdict
  6. . eat less, exercise more? no way! . « . running with spoons .
  7. . WIAW… round eight . « . running with spoons .
  8. . WIAW … round ten . « . running with spoons .
  9. . a factual friday . « . running with spoons .
  10. . eat more, smile more . « . running with spoons .
  11. . this or that . « . running with spoons .
  12. . WIAW… round twelve . « . running with spoons .
  13. . stuck on you . « . running with spoons .
  14. NROLFW: Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess « One Smile Ahead
  15. WIAW – Going Once, Going Thrice « One Smile Ahead
  16. . stuck on you .
  17. . this or that .
  18. . accept yourself for who you are .
  19. Odd Oats and Gym Talk |

Leave a comment