Skip to content

. eating experiments .

September 13, 2011

Happy Tuesday loves. Hope your week is off to a great start 😀

I abstained from posting yesterday because:

a) I was running around getting all of the last minute legal crap paperwork finished before my big move (2 more days!!), thereby leaving me with little time to come up with a coherent post, and

b) I loved all of the comments you guys left on my last post, and really wanted to think about them some more while I was making a decision on the whole meat thing.

So, did I make a decision? Well, yes and no – there were a lot of  valid points raised for both sides! A lot of people, it seems, have had similar experiences with feeling constantly unsatisfied when following a vegetarian diet; feelings that subsided with the reintroduction of meat. Others argue that a plant based diet can provide the body with everything it needs, as long as proper care and attention is given.

Fair enough. But who’s right?

Both sides are. Herbivore. Omnivore. Carnivore. There is no perfect way to eat, and diets (as in the kind of food you eat) aren’t a one-size-fits-all kind of deal. Different things work for different people, and the most important thing is doing what works for you as an individual.

So here’s my plan.

A few people suggested that I try increasing my consumption of beans, nuts, fats, and other nutrient dense foods as a first step, as I’ve been eating sweeter, snackier, breakfast-type foods lately, and my body might just be wanting something a bit more substantial.

 

Alright, I can do that… at least until Saturday.

Why Saturday?

Because Saturday is farmer’s market day, and if I’m going to eat meat, I want to get it from local organic sources where I can actually talk to the farmer to see how the animal was fed/treated. Although perhaps not entirely motivated by ethics, my decision to follow a vegetarian diet was influenced by a love for animals, and I’d like to be as humane as I possibly can.

Sooooo that leaves me with a few days to experiment, and what better time to start than the present…

Instead of having my beloved bowl of eggy bananafied oats with AB and pudding for breakfast, I opted for overnighters made with Greek yogurt, coconut milk, and a banana. Blueberries, almond slivers, and ground flax were added in the morning. Tasty, but I’m still not the biggest fan of overnight oats.

Lunch was also a deviation from the norm…

No cereal messes or protein smoothies. Instead, I threw some rice into a skillet and mixed in a whole egg. When that was done, I added chickpeas and a glob of hummus, and had the whole mess alongside some steamed broccoli. Ketchup was obviously a must as well.

No cereal for lunch meant that I had to satisfy my craving later on in the day…

[Greek yogurt, blueberries, banana, Puffins, Kashi Honey Sunshine, almond butter]

… but not for dinner. Dinner was slightly more “grown up”…

[Pumpkin chili Mexican scramble – salsa – avocado – cottage cheese]

And there we have it. Day 1 done.

Did I notice any differences? Eh. Not really. Granted, it’s only been one day so I’m not going to jump to any conclusions, but I will let you in on a little secret. Whether I see any changes or not, I’m still going to give meat a shot. Why? Because I feel as though it’s important for me to make the decision on whether I want to include meat in my diet or not with a clear head. See, when I originally gave it up, my ED strongly influenced my choice. Now that it’s no longer an issue, and my vegetarian diet is largely habitual, I want to reassess the actual reasons behind my choice.

If I don’t like it, then I don’t have to keep eating it, simple as that. But if I do enjoy it and it does make me feel better, then I’ll be reintroducing it back into my diet. Some people may not agree with my reasoning, and I’m perfectly okay with that – I don’t always agree with everything that everyone else does either. But I do respect their decisions, and all I ask is that the same degree of courtesy be shown to me.

See you guys tomorrow for WIAW! 😀

. – . – . – .

Do you enjoy experimenting with your diet?

Is there anything that you’re currently trying out?

81 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2011 5:28 pm

    i have a post written about it, but am not going to post till after WIAW (duh) but I actually just added meat back into my diet, for the same reasons I commented on before. Now since I haven’t eaten meat in 2 years I only introduced a small amount, but I will tell you it didn’t seem to satisfy me anymore. Now granted I am using small portions, so that might be a reason as well, but like you I am giving it some time to where I can increase my portions so I can get a true feeling for if this will be a solution. My body actually did not react harshly which I was surprised. So we shall see.

    Good luck on your experiments. Just remember to do whatever you feel is right for your body. Your health and happiness are the most important things!

    • September 14, 2011 6:10 am

      Yeah I think portions play a huge role. It’s like eating a teaspoon of nut butter compared to a few tablespoons of it. Interested to see how things go for you 🙂

  2. September 13, 2011 5:29 pm

    Awesome! I think your strategy is great, and your eats look just as tasty 😉 Looking forward to hearing how it goes for ya for the rest of the week! And yay for final moving paperwork, soooo excited for you girl 🙂

  3. September 13, 2011 5:30 pm

    Good luck with your decision in regards to adding meat back into your diet. I’m sure you’ll make the right choice for you 🙂

    And also, good luck with the move!!

  4. September 13, 2011 5:32 pm

    I have a had time getting meats in my diet again. I eat beans, hummus, greek yogurt for protein. But I think its my eating disorder telling me again its “bad” to eat meat.. Thank you so much for posting this, it really has touched my heart. I love your blog it has impacted my life. I am glad to know you contemplate meat also. Thank you so so much!

    • September 14, 2011 6:13 am

      Thank you for your kind words, Hannah. And don’t be afraid to at least try. It’s not “bad” to eat meat, but it IS bad to let disordered thoughts dictate your actions. Give it a try and see how you feel… if you don’t like it, you don’t have to eat it, but at least your question will have been answered.

  5. September 13, 2011 5:33 pm

    You’re great. haha.
    That’s not all, but you’re great.
    I’m proud of you for experimenting and feel like you’re giving everything a chance by waiting and trying more dense veg foods before you try your meat. If you like it and it works for you- more power to you. The only “right” way to eat is whatever way makes you feel most satisfied and happy. Try it all Amanda!
    Love the looks of that dinner- the colors are almost popping- I might have to make it while I’m abroad.
    I’m working on broadening my diet. I’m working on fish and eggs right now, those are my most recent additions. As well as more carbs. I’m loving them 😀

    ps: is it bad that your blog is on my computer dashboard’s most frequently visited pages page? I guess I visit a lot? haha

  6. September 13, 2011 5:34 pm

    I think it’s great that you’re making an informed decision! And I also definitely agree with you that there is no perfect way to eat and that different things work for different people!
    I actually have pretty similar feelings to you although I’ve never been a vegetarian. I hate cruelty to animals so refuse to eat anything other than organic/free-range meat and for ethical reasons also limit my meat consumption. I think I’ll eat an even more vegetarian diet at uni as ethically produced meat is so expensive!
    Good for you for experimenting, just go with whatever feels right 🙂

  7. September 13, 2011 5:35 pm

    Do what’s best for you 🙂

  8. September 13, 2011 5:37 pm

    I love switching up my eats all the time, it definetly allows you to try more recipes and search for more and different ingredients! I am actually experimenting NOT eating dairy for abit. I have to work out some allergy things….sigh….

  9. 2tightlywound permalink
    September 13, 2011 5:37 pm

    When I moved into my apartment I was amazed at all the paperwork… and I’m only renting! I have no patience for such things, but it’s well worth all the hassle!

    You have clearly thought this meat thing through, so I’m sure you’ll make the best decision for you. And getting your meat direct from the farmer sounds like an awesome idea (though to be honest, I think knowing more about the animal would turn me off of meat even more).

    I wish you the best of luck, both with the move and your meat adventure!

  10. lapiattini permalink
    September 13, 2011 5:47 pm

    Great idea to wait until the Farmer’s Market to talk to your local farmers- I think that’s really smart and something I’d like to try as well. Your meals look delish- I ❤ your pics.
    I'm currently trying out a new eating schedule since my lunch is scheduled for me at my job. It's working out great so far and I'm glad because I was quite worried about it!

  11. September 13, 2011 5:54 pm

    I am so proud of you Amanda 🙂 I know how much you like your tasty cereal treats, but these meals look fantastic! You are so inspiring 🙂 I love all of your meal ideas 🙂

    Currently, I want to gain muscle and I am wanting to experiment with my foods… I think I may need to add in more carbs? I am not sure though… I was thinking of adding carbs into my snack times, but it is something new for me, so it will be an adventure!

    • September 14, 2011 6:19 am

      Weight training is great for building muscle, especially if you lift heavy 🙂 I noticed a lot more muscles popping up after a few months of training. Just make sure to get an adequate amount of protein if you do decide to start lifting more to support muscle growth, and carbs are great too because they aid in recovery 🙂

  12. September 13, 2011 6:01 pm

    You are so beautiful! * waves back*
    I am currently trying to gain so im pretty much on a eat as much as possible diet, which is challenging cause I always tend to restrict,restict,restrict.
    Good-luck with the experimenting!

  13. September 13, 2011 6:03 pm

    Your plan sounds perfect. It’s great you are giving yourself a chance to see if increasing vegetarian sources help for the next few days. And I think it’s even a better idea that your still going to give meat a try so you can decide with a clear head. You’ll never know until you try, so you may as well try 🙂

    As for something new I’ve been trying out, I’ve been attempting to add more fats into my diet. I’ve always loved almonds, but lately I’ve been loving egg yolks, coconut oil, and chocolate!

  14. September 13, 2011 6:09 pm

    Awesome! I’m glad you received such great feedback from both sides (I’ll have to go check out the comment section myself), and It’s commendable that you’re using it to make an informed decision. Are you planning on introducing all meat back into your life, or just white, less-carnivore-y meats?

    • September 14, 2011 6:21 am

      For now, I’m going to start with chicken and turkey, because that’s what I remember liking the most back in the day, but I’ll probably try red meat on occasion, especially if I come home to have dinner with my family on the weekend and my mom cooks some.

  15. September 13, 2011 6:10 pm

    Hi love!

    Its good to see you are happy with your choice ; ) and its always fun to switch it up! I say it will be more fun when you are in your new place!

    I am definitely on the same page with you as the meat, if I do start incorporating red meat, I am going to buy organic and local as well ; )

    Have a great night love! xoxo

  16. fabulousemily permalink
    September 13, 2011 6:16 pm

    I’m glad your experimenting! You should never feel pressure to eat a certain way if its not making you feel your best. I’m a vegan, and I feel fabulous on it. But if I changed my mind on that, I would never want to feel pressure to stick with my veganism, you know?

    Good luck!

  17. sarah permalink
    September 13, 2011 6:21 pm

    You seem to really have your head screwed on about this whole ‘eating meat if its the right thing for you ‘thing- I have no doubt you will figure out what’s best soon enough:)
    I’m currently experimenting with the grapefruit diet- HA, joke, I’d never do that. I can only imagine that diet is for people who aspire to be miserable.
    I do enjoy trying out recipes and eating styles from my favourite blogs though( I.e YOU).
    All your food looks fantastic (as per ushe) , that lunch rice thing looks especially scrumptious- I love the word scrumptious:)
    Xxx

  18. Lilly permalink
    September 13, 2011 6:26 pm

    You are so great, seriously…. your fabulous! The most important thing is you, so doing what works for you is awesome. And sharing what you do with all your readers is so inspiring, I just know you are making a huge impact on so many people, me included. After your last post I really started thinking about my own family and their eating patterns and found it fascinating on how each person is so different and thrives on very different things, but as long as they know what works for them that is all that matters! And as much as I love cereal it jut isn’t a meal to me, and your meals look divine and super tasty, I may just have to copy what you had for dinner 🙂

  19. September 13, 2011 7:01 pm

    I love to experiment with my diet. Even though I eat a lot of the same foods, I have to mix it up in little ways now and then, or else I get bored and stop enjoying everything as much. I completely respect your decision. I’m looking forward to seeing what you try!

  20. September 13, 2011 7:20 pm

    yay amanda! im so proud of you for taking this step–it’s huge! you are totally listening to your body and that is so important 🙂

  21. September 13, 2011 7:23 pm

    I experimented for years with the foods I wanted to eat! I’ve finally found something that works for me! I think you’re doing a great job listening to your body and trying to figure ouw what you should do!

  22. September 13, 2011 7:29 pm

    I actually want to start experimenting more with my diet (and Jason’s too) — there are just too many times where we each have digestive issues (but never at the same time) and I’d love to explore that more. If there is something giving us grief I want to cut it out of our daily diets!

    I think eating more beans/fats/etc is a great place to start — thanks for updating us on your progress so far!

  23. September 13, 2011 7:33 pm

    I change my diet very often these days. I change both foods and meal times. I experiment so much that at the moment my dinner time is around 4 pm and it can be anything from pumpkin with yogurt to chickpea salad or a restaurant meal 😀 .

  24. September 13, 2011 7:39 pm

    I think it’s good for you to try meat. I actually gave up meat because it was letting me hold on to my ED… weird right? By cutting out deli sliced turkey and chicken breast, I actually had to find other more caloric substitutes for protein and face my fear of grains. Now that I’m over that, I wonder if I should go back to it. I love animals, but I also love to experiment to see what makes me feel best and if it’s possible to get them from local, organic, trusted sources then I’d be willing to try! I can’t wait to see how it works out for you.

  25. September 13, 2011 7:40 pm

    I just try to diversify my diet as frequently as possible… The more I switch it up, the less bored I get.

  26. September 13, 2011 7:43 pm

    I think it’s great that you are testing out different ways of eating to find what works for you. It’s all about experimentation.
    I tend to not eat red meat and favor chicken,turkey or fish. I’m not sure why.However, if I’m craving steak tips,beef terriyaki or prime rib, I eat it! I don’t like putting a label on things. My diet changes daily, as does my cravings and appetite.Life’s to short to not enjoy all different types of food the world has to offer.
    I hope you find the right choice for you!

  27. Nicole permalink
    September 13, 2011 7:51 pm

    Sounds like a great plan to me! 😀 And I’m glad you’re at the point that ED is no longer directing your eats… although I can’t say 100% that that’s the case for me, it’s definitely the case for well, maybe 80% of the time, which is HUGE for me and I’m so happy I’ve made it this far! I eat when I’m hungry instead of trying to stifle my hunger with diet Coke or gum! However, I still tend to stick with lower-calorie foods, which naturally doesn’t fill me up too well so I become quite snacky throughout the day! (Which I was mentioned to you that I’ve been trying to add more protein into my diet as well as my nutritionist noticed that it may be the culprit in my constant hunger).

    The thing that I’m really experimenting more with however is dairy. I never liked milk, but I at least had it with cereal and sometimes made oatmeal with it… I always ate all kinds of cheeses…. but ED made me eliminate it completely. So now, I’ve been making myself eat more cheeses instead of JUST Laughing Cow wedges, more eggs, and chocolate milk — which I LOVE! And is actually a very filling snack! 😀

    • September 14, 2011 7:02 am

      I went through the same thing with trying to satisfy my hunger with low-calorie foods… it never worked and probably only made me even hungrier. It was really hard to do at first, but I’ve noticed that reaching for a more substantial snack in place of a safe one both satisfied my hunger and prevented me from snacking even further. You’re doing awesome though Nicole, and soon that 80% will turn into 100 😀

  28. September 13, 2011 7:54 pm

    Props to you for being able to experiment! 🙂 Honestly eating some meat is kidn of what I’ve been experimenting with for about a month now, and so far I mostly like the results. Soon I’m leaving for school an dI’m pretty sure my entire eating schedule will go nuts so I’ll be fully experimenting with a totally different schedule! Including lots of lunch-packing. We’ll see how it goes 😉 I’m also ‘experimenting’ coming back to blogging and may be trying some different directions, but that’s not food-related 😉


    n

  29. September 13, 2011 8:06 pm

    I totally understand your need to experiment. I am a pescitarian (sp?) because of my ED… Well, kind of. I actually don’t really miss meat that much except for deer, surprisingly. It just made it easier for my mom to accept my eating habits… So, I’ll probably eventually go back. Maybe.. Maybe not. I have the same mindset as you do right now. Whatever seems right, I’ll go with it.

    Right now, I’m just trying to eat more which is proving to be difficult. Gah. Stuppid.

    • September 14, 2011 7:10 am

      It’s always hard at first, especially because your thoughts of what a “normal” amount of food is are probably pretty skewed. It gets easier over time, though, so be strong and hang in there 🙂

  30. September 13, 2011 8:09 pm

    Hahaha I love experimenting with my diet! I think that’s part of what fascinates me about the blog world! It’s always giving me new ideas for things to try!

    I think it’s a good idea to start with some more substantial meals! Hopefully that helps!

  31. September 13, 2011 8:17 pm

    I love experimenting with my diet, but at this point I’m relly not sure how to tell what makes the biggest difference. Perhaps that come a little later, as I learn to be more and more in tune with what I need.
    I think you’re going about this in exactly the right, level-headed, well-educated, solid way! I have so much respect for this, really. I’m so bad at making personal plans without slipping up.
    Also, a comment on oats – have you tried making pumpkin pie oats? You can still make your eggy oats but maybe replace the banana with pumpkin purée and a bit of maple syrup, and spice it up! It’s my new autumn have 🙂

  32. Kaila @ healthyhelperblog! permalink
    September 13, 2011 8:52 pm

    I think its so great that you are so reflective and you want to reevaluate your choices! That is so awesome! And I think they way you’re approaching the situation is perfect! Good for you girl!

  33. September 13, 2011 8:57 pm

    This summer I recently switched from being vegan to being well I don’t really have a term for what I eat now. Just normal I guess? I eat meat sometimes, but not too often. I started eating protein from animals because I was feeling like I was restricting my eating too much. Veganism actually helped to to recover from an ED, so that was one thing it was great for! It’s just I felt like I was starting to term foods as good or bad again, which isn’t good at all! Plus I always felt like my mind was always hungry even if I was full. After I made the decision to eat animal products again I felt so much better! I don’t think it’s just because of the protein, but I feel like giving myself the option to say yes to anything is just so freeing which is something that I love.

    Right now I’m trying to get variety into my diet. I always eat the same things!

    Mmm that yogurt mess looks amazing!

    • September 14, 2011 7:23 am

      Ahh yeah I can totally relate to knowing that you have the freedom to eat whatever you want being an intoxicating feeling. I started recovering on a vegan diet, then switching to a vegetarian one. Adding meat seems like the next most logical step.

  34. September 13, 2011 9:09 pm

    Good plan! If you’re going to eat meat, make it the highest quality possible. 🙂 I like it.

  35. September 13, 2011 9:16 pm

    Nice!! I think this is a good way to go – you’re trying ALL the options out there. 🙂 And YAY for organic, local meat sources!! I really need to find a farmer’s market around here – I wanted to go veg. for humane reasons, but I started feeling kinda crappy/empty/craving meat about a week into it. I really hope you figure out what it is you’re missing! And I can’t wait to read about the meat experimentation!

    I do like experimenting with my diet to find out what’s causing me problems- It’s helped me discover a mild lactose and soy intolerances! Having a vegan sister also helps – I’ve gotten to try out all the vegetarian & vegan replacement foods like “cheese”, tofu, tempeh, seitan – things most meat-eaters don’t usually think about!

  36. September 13, 2011 9:45 pm

    I like your decision a lot! Although it would be sad if you continued to eat the way you do and have it work but not actually enjoy it. I think buying meat at a farmers market is definitely the way to go. I do think that meat will make you feel good. I find that it does wonders for me!

    I do enjoy experimenting with my diet to a certain extent. But when I have to cut out my loves (apples, dried fruit, milk, ice cream etc), I get a bit miffed and pissed off at the fact that I can’t eat the way others eat. But I do like the feeling when I find what works for me and what makes me feel good!!

    I’m currently trying a low-lactose low-fructose diet. I’m roughly following the FODMAPS way of eating due to lame intolerances. Blah. I say roughly because it says that I can’t eat beans when I totally can without trouble and yoghurt when yoghurt doesn’t affect me all that much.

    xxx

    • September 14, 2011 7:26 am

      If it makes you feel any better, I can’t eat peanut butter or peanut flour, which the whole blog world seems to be obsessed with. Intolerances suck, but at least there’s plenty of other delicious foods to enjoy 😀

  37. Jenn permalink
    September 13, 2011 9:57 pm

    Love this post too 🙂 You’re not going to let people influence you, which is awesome! I encourage doing something that is something totally un-related to ED 🙂 Ok, so I totally don’t mean this bad/mean/offensive so please don’t take it that way! I was just curious on your last post you assumed it was meat that was lacking (or protein). I was just wondering why you thought that anything was wrong. I mean, obviously if you’re hungry then your body needs it right? Is it a weight gain thing? Is it possible that you actually need to gain weight a bit? I mean the body knows right? And if its not a weight gain thing, could it be that your metabolism is just speeding up and needs more energy?? I don’t know. I hope I don’t confuse you more, just trying to help 🙂

    • September 14, 2011 7:31 am

      Hehe oh I totally wish I had the answer to all of those questions. Or a manual I could refer to. Unfortunately, I have no idea, I’m just guessing. And to be honest, my decision has more to do with mental health than physical.I mean, of course I want to see if it makes a difference in how I feel, but really, I have to know that it’s not just a way for me to hold on to little bits of my ED. I want it out of my life completely, and not hiding under clever disguises.

  38. September 13, 2011 10:25 pm

    I think it’s really great that you’re getting meat from a local organic source! That way you can try it without feeling bad for how the animals may have been treated. I would totally try to do the same if I started eating meat again.

    I actually really love overnight oats and I have them everyday, but I do tend to prefer cold foods over hot. Plus I just love the texture, but I can see where some people wouldn’t. P

    2 days?!?! Eeeeeeeeee, I’m so excited for you 😀

  39. September 13, 2011 10:27 pm

    One of my good friends who was a lifelong vegetarian just became a meat-eater; she’d never tried it in her life but found herself constantly craving it and now she’s incorporated it into her diet. I admit I eat meat almost every day at almost every lunch and dinner. I do occasionally have a non-meat meal and can be satisfied, but I find if I go more than several meals without some I tend to have trouble feeling satiated and end up craving it even more. I’m interested to hear what you think of it once you try it again 🙂

  40. September 13, 2011 10:59 pm

    Wow all your pictures look incredible and delicious! I’m not a vegetarian officially, but at school I don’t trust a lot of the meat available, so I end up eating vegetarian meals most of the time ( LOTS of breakfast foods! supplemented with salads and veggies) but I understand that it’s sometimes not satisfying and hard to get nutrients. I think that you should listen to your body above everything. Good luck with your experiments! I’m looking forward to reading more of your posts!

  41. September 13, 2011 11:00 pm

    Whatever you want to do is your choice. It shouldn’t be ours.

  42. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    September 13, 2011 11:05 pm

    You “more-protein-y” meals look amazing! I was trying to add up more protein to my diet in August. I hoped it would solve my “hunger-issues”, but it just didn´t work. I enjoy experiments as long as they are woth something (at least some fun :).

  43. September 13, 2011 11:23 pm

    Good luck with your meal experiments. I hope you find what works for you.
    I’ve been playing around recently with my diet in hopes of finding something to solve my ongoing IBS issues. I haven’t reached any super definite conclusions yet, but I feel like I’m making progress and that’s what’s important.

  44. September 14, 2011 12:28 am

    SOunds like a great plan–> we can all sit here and tell you what works for us but like you said there’s no ‘one size fits all’ when it comes to fuelling our bodies! You’ll only know after trying out for yourself !

  45. September 14, 2011 1:58 am

    Have you ever added protein powder to your oats? I do and find them so much more filling that greek yogurt. I was veggie, but started introducing fish and first and then chicken.

    • September 14, 2011 8:36 am

      I’ve tried adding protein powder to oats and didn’t find that it made much of a difference… that’s why I usually go with egg whites when I’m cooking them 🙂

  46. buttonss - Cherie permalink
    September 14, 2011 4:07 am

    I think its great youre doing this for yourself.
    Being a vegan I honestly dont think I could bring myself to eat animal products again, not yet anyway. Who knows, maybe one day I will change my mind just like you. But right now the thought of consuming them again makes me feel ill. A large reason I’m vegan is because I’m so against the treatment of animals and I find drinking milk from another species kinda creepy. But you know, thats me, that my personal views.
    And even though you have been given so much different advice I’m glad to see youre going your own way.
    Good luck though, I hope you find something that works in the end 🙂

  47. September 14, 2011 4:26 am

    I’m most a silent follower but I really loved your last two posts. Personally, my newfound ability to experiment with food is one of the things I’m most proud of because it shows that I can be more flexible about my diet (what I eat, not how much I eat). I did feel a little defensive for you (haha too much empathy – I know) about your “tasty cereal treats”…There’s nothing wrong with eating something you love. In fact, there’s something insanely right about listening to your body wants! Cereal isn’t a “treat”.

    • September 14, 2011 8:44 am

      Hehe no, cereal definitely isn’t a treat… it can be an addictive and delicious meal 😉 I kind of miss having it for lunch or dinner, so it most definitely won’t be disappearing completely, just for a little while so I can try different things.

  48. September 14, 2011 4:28 am

    I think you are doing the absolute right thing, especially if your original decision could have been made because of ED motivations. I also think you are spot on with us all being different, as I said in my comment to your last post I really believe that different people have different needs. Although I’m ‘mostly’ vegan (I hate labels!) I’ve always maintained that I would eat ethically sourced diary and eggs again if I was really craving them (I know that I won’t crave meat again, I was never a huge fan of it before anyway and mostly ate it cause I thought it was good protein!) but up until now I haven’t. Looking forward to hearing about how you get on!

  49. September 14, 2011 5:07 am

    Great post like always! 🙂
    Im trying out some new recipes right now 🙂

  50. September 14, 2011 5:45 am

    This sounds like a good plan! It looks like you’ve really thought things out and are doing what is best for you. I’m anxious to see what you think of meat when you try it again!

    I’m honestly not the biggest fan of overnight oats made with yogurt either – you should try the vegan version! It tastes a lot more like “normal” oatmeal.

  51. September 14, 2011 6:13 am

    One more day! Woohoo! So excited for you!!

    I think experimenting with foods is what makes eating fun. For the most part, I know what I like and eat it over and over again. But whenever I introduce a new food, my taste buds perk up and I find that I feel more satisfied. I try to maintain the philosophy that life is short; why not step out of my comfort zone from time to time? The worst thing that can happen is that I don’t like the new food, and I return to what I love the next meal.

    I’ll be doing lots of experimenting with meal timing the next few weeks. Today I start my internship, which means much much crazier mornings, packed lunches, and less time to prepare dinner. I’ve had a pretty leisurely schedule the past two years, which has allowed me make a hot breakfast every morning and eat whatever I want mid-day. I’m a bit nervous about how my body and cravings will respond to the new schedule, and I’m not sure when/if/how I’ll eat while I’m at the office. I’m sure it will involve lots of trial and error, a grumbly tummy from time to time etc. etc. But that’s okay. I *will* figure it out!

    Happy Wednesday, love! xoxo

  52. September 14, 2011 6:23 am

    I think that what you are doing is awesome! It’s a good idea to probably not introduce meat right away to see if that does make a difference, but I also think it’s great that you are willing to give meat a try again! You are absolutely right that everyone is different and we all need different types of foods to fuel our bodies best :). Can’t believe you move SO SOON! So exciting!!

  53. September 14, 2011 6:50 am

    Good call on the farmer’s market idea. They have the best meat. I love that my local market has when I like to think are really kind environments for pigs n’ cows.

  54. September 14, 2011 7:15 am

    You’ve got to do what works best for you and makes you feel good! I’m sorry to hear you’re feeling a bit off :[ I think experimenting with your diet is great as it lets you see what works and doesn’t work for you. Good luck and I hope you feel better soon!

  55. September 14, 2011 10:04 am

    i really enjoy changing up the types of foods i’m eating, but i tend to get into phases. right now i’m trying to eat more fish! i absolutely love it, it’s easy to make and very healthy. i usually try to stick to a more vegetarian diet, but i do have meat at least 3 times a week for some of my meals ’cause it’s just too good! but i think you’re absolutely right, there’s not perfect way to eat. i hope you find your own personal way soon 🙂

  56. September 14, 2011 10:09 am

    EEeee big hugs to you girly! You have definitely thought out your plan carefully and that just shows how serious you are about your health now which is just amazing 🙂 And what is also amazing is that you are now strong enough to be able to ‘experiment’ and not worry about it and see it as a challenge and quite exciting maybe? I know that in the depths of an ED, experimentation is a no-goer so this just proves how you’re in such a positive place now 🙂
    I think for me, going vegan was the biggest experiment with my diet. It took me a lot of time looking into it and research before I did it and I’m still using it as an experiment really, but so far it has got me to a place where I can finally say that I am healthy. I don’t know whether it will be forever, and I might end up finding myself experimenting more in the future now that I’m healthier physically and mentally 🙂

  57. jenandberries permalink
    September 14, 2011 10:50 am

    Good idea with the meat trying! Especially if it was initially ED influenced, you want to get away from that horrible time as mchas possible and all decisions influenced by it.
    I really cba to experiment with my diet, i just eat what I crave, if I tried eliminating dairy or something I’d probably just go and stuff myself with ice cream the next day! I think the more varied your diet the better and have so much respect for you for allowing your body to try adapting to new things. Btw, I really hope you do like meat because you are probably the one girl who can make it look attractive with your photos! 😛

  58. September 14, 2011 11:59 am

    This is so awesome, and I agree 10000%!! While I think some people can easily thrive on a veggie/vegan diet, others don’t, and there’s nothing wrong with that! And I LOVE that you are gonna source the meat from happy places! That is so awesome of you!!!

    I LOVE my diet at the moment, and it is working for me! Don’t wanna change a thing! 😀

  59. September 14, 2011 12:38 pm

    Well I’m glad you tried everyone’s suggestions first AND that if you do eat meat, it will be from a good source. I think finding what works for you means you HAVE to experiment, so good for you, lady!

  60. September 14, 2011 12:45 pm

    Experimenting with my diet drives me CRAZY!! I hate thinking about what im going to eat next. Right now Im trying to eat every 3 hours and eat real foods!!! I hopeful it will help me take control over my bingeing. Its scary to eat so many fats and see the scale climb more as my body adjust. Good for you though, its always good to listen to YOUR bodys needs 🙂

  61. September 14, 2011 1:39 pm

    I think you are doing the right thing here! Not because Im all for meat or anything, but because Im all for listening to your own body and doing mindful choices! And as you say, you became veg when your ED was running your life! And that is really a decision you should make, not ED!
    And also, as I wrote the other day; no need to be veg if you dont want to! Im so happy that you are following your heart! You are my hero, girl 😉
    And Im so excited to hear about how you will feel with some meat back in your life!
    Cant wait for your WIAW!
    Love you ❤

  62. September 14, 2011 2:32 pm

    It is weird, I have desires to add tuna into my diet a lot, but I realized that that desire is actually disordered. Tuna = low cal. But ya, I have to work on my diet and figuring out what works for me.
    It is really hard for me because everyone knows I am vegan, so if I ever did go back to vegetarianism, it wold be..hard. Maybe something to think about for college-my new start in life.
    Though the idea of drinking milk will always gross me out, almond milk all the way.
    Though, I have always wanted to try goat milk.

  63. runningperspective permalink
    September 14, 2011 2:34 pm

    well your meals looks amazing and honestly girl GOOD FOR YOU deciding to go back to meat! that is awesomeee that you are able to realize why you gave it up and that now you are ready for it to come back! way to go girl<3

  64. September 14, 2011 2:51 pm

    I made the definitive decision to give up meat a while back and haven’t regretted my decision once. I eat fish now and then but very rarely. Congrats on making a decision that is right for you. If I decide to eat meat again then it’s no big deal. We are all different and need different things to satisfy our diets. I think it’s fab that you are listening to your body.

  65. September 14, 2011 4:14 pm

    I’m trying to eat a source of healthy fat at every meal. I don’t really feel any different but boy is it tasty!!! 🙂 I was vegetarian because of my ED but then I realized that I love meat too much to give it up. Many people though feel better when they don’t eat it, and they’re them and I’m me, so that’s great! You could just try some meat, and not commit to quitting vegetarianism or anything.

  66. September 14, 2011 6:05 pm

    I have been vegetarian and vegan…for now I am happily an omnivore

  67. September 14, 2011 7:00 pm

    I think that is a perfect compromise, and leaving yourself open to whatever feels right in the future is absolutely the right thing to do in my opinion 🙂

    Have a great one!

    Scott

  68. September 30, 2011 8:19 pm

    i go through periods of craving meat (like chicken sausage), but usually try to balance it out with eggs, tempeh, fish, etc. I know that craving is there for a reason so i just go with it. I think its good to experiment. SOmetimes are bodies are just trying to tell us what we are lacking, ya know? Love the rice and chickpeas with eggs. Good call!

  69. Carly permalink
    December 2, 2011 9:42 pm

    I see that you top your oatmeal with pudding a lot, and I was just wondering what kind you used? or if you made it yourself? It looks delish, and I wanted to try(: thanks!

Trackbacks

  1. . WIAW … last night at home . « . running with spoons .

Leave a comment