Skip to content

. eat more what? .

June 27, 2011

Well, I think we’ve pretty much established that eating less and exercising more definitely isn’t the way to go. You’re all such smart cookies, and deserve a cookie of your very own…

… which, I would have given you, except I already eated it…

Sowwy 😳

How about a cookie dough ball instead?

… which I may have already taken a bite of…

Sowwy 😳

Gotta be quick if you wanna eat while I’m around. I’m an only child which means that I’ve never had to fight a sibling over the best/last piece of food, so I have no idea where my food snatching tendencies come from… other than to say that I do not enjoy the Hangry Monster’s company, so I go out of my way to ensure that he doesn’t decide to drop by for a chat – which has been easier said than done lately…

I [heart] food…

Ever since I started taking strength training a little more seriously, my appetite has been off. the. charts; and since we know we have to eat more, the next question becomes: eat more what, exactly?

And the answer to that, my dear friends, is… one that I’m still working on.

I’m not a sport nutritionist or a dietician, so I’m not gonna throw some rules at you claiming that following them will give you the energy you need for a kick butt workout while supplying you with the proper nutritional profile to make you a lean, mean exercising machine…

… especially because everyone is so different…

… and what works for one person won’t necessarily work for another…

But I will tell you that it helps to experiment and try different things to see which ones work for you. I’ve been fiddling with my diet for quite some time now, and I guess I can share some of what I do to give you a general idea if you need some basic ground rules…

. – . – . – .

I eat [at least] 6 times a day…

Breakfast (always), morning snack (usually my pre-workout snack), lunch, afternoon snack, dinner, bedtime snack. I can’t go more than a few hours without food, or I start getting the shakes, and I often nibble between meals/snacks as well. I do my best to honor my hunger, and if I finish a meal and feel like I need a little bit more, I take it. I’m not too fussy with the nutritional content of my meals, but I do try and pay more attention to what I eat before and after my workouts.

 

One of my favorite pre-workout snacks is a banana with almond butter, some dark chocolate, and a bowl of cottage cheese with cinnamon.

I listen to my cravings…

I do my best to include a carb, protein, and fat with every meal/snack, but if I’m not feeling it, I won’t force it. If one of my meals is mostly carbs, that’s fine… high in fat, that’s fine… it’ll all balance itself out in the end. I try to get a good amount of protein in, especially now that I’m lifting, but I don’t protein load or cut down on carbs and fats. The body needs an adequate amount of everything to function properly, and that’s my main goal.

Mish-mash dinner bowl: Kasha, broccoli, grilled mushrooms, pumpkin, hummus, hemp seeds.

I always drink a protein shake after my workout…

This is actually one of those more common workout rules that I try to adhere to. I finish my workouts right around lunch time, so I sip on a shake as the first half of my lunch while I go about making the second half. The recipe I’ve been using lately is the one for my vanilla tofu protein pudding.

 

I drink a lot of water…

8 cups a day, at least. Annoying, but necessary – dehydration sucks… even mild forms of it.

Balance, balance, balance…

I enjoy eating healthy foods because they make my body feel good, but I also enjoy eating not-so-healthy foods because they make my mind feel good. I do my best to make sure that I have a lot of fresh, whole foods in my diet, but I also make sure to treat myself every. single. day. This way, I can be healthy without ever feeling deprived. And I refuse to feel guilty for enjoying any type of food.

 

. – . – . – .

I should probably end by saying that none of this is forced – my body just kind of does it naturally. I don’t try and adhere to a specific style of eating, I just go with the flow and this is what I end up with.

. – . – . – .

What kinds of things work for you?

Favorite pre and post workout snacks?

68 Comments leave one →
  1. June 27, 2011 5:35 pm

    aw my little intuitive eating pro ❤ i love the SP heart!!!! =) though it would look even better on MY plate so I could eat it! haha

  2. June 27, 2011 5:35 pm

    Great list of things that work! Drinking lots of water and eating frequently throughout the day help me stay energized for dance.

  3. June 27, 2011 5:36 pm

    I’m definitely a meal girl but I do love my in between snacks. Water is something that I mentally have to keep telling myself to drink but luckily I’m not fussy and I do like it. Eating is all about balance and variation! 😀

  4. June 27, 2011 5:37 pm

    I love the reindeer plate hehe! My pre-workout meal depends on when I work out. But my favorite post workout meal is always a smoothie! I’ve been adding tofu to mine lately, and I love it!

  5. June 27, 2011 5:40 pm

    Seriously love you! I eat 5-6 meals a day..just depending on when my hunger strikes. If I don’t eat that much, then I can literally feel my blood sugar sinking and then my mood goes down the drain :(. We definitely don’t want that! I also try to eat things that are healthy, but I listen to my cravings as well. I do need to work on drinking more water- I just hate always having to pee. 🙂 Great post!

  6. June 27, 2011 5:43 pm

    Story of my life with the needing food or else the shakes occur–soul sister!!!!! I am trying to do the shake after a workout thing. But I make a huge delicious chocolate protein power shake w/ cereal and choc. chips for dessert so I try to limit them…although why does it even matter?!!? BTW, thank you so much for your sweet comment on my blog, you’re the best girl…totally made me feel better about my choice! 🙂

  7. June 27, 2011 5:44 pm

    I definitely agree with your intuitive eating plan and that too works great for me! I’ve learned to “trust my gut” it knows when I need fuel and usually whatever I’m craving – be it carbs, protein r fat I do my best to honor it!
    Eating small frequent meals and at least one smoothie a day works for me. My favorite snacks- hummus with pita or veggies, nut butter, greek yogurt and berries or banana, protein smoothies.
    P.s. What a cute reindeer plate!

  8. June 27, 2011 5:44 pm

    You are totally inspiring lovely lady. 🙂 And I am entirely salivating looking at alllllll of your food!!!!

    Hearts
    N

  9. June 27, 2011 5:50 pm

    I definitely think that giving into your cravings is the way to go. I tend to gravitate towards healthy food since it physically makes me feel good, but a bowl of ice cream never hurt anyone.

  10. June 27, 2011 5:51 pm

    I love seeing that other people eat as much as me!!! I always eat (like you said, atleast) six times a day….and my snacks look like other peoples meals! They are huge….always gotta listen to my tum though. I am NOT a fan of rumbling tummies!

  11. June 27, 2011 5:59 pm

    I always love big honking smoothies after I workout. I mean monsters. I’m always all hot and schweaty after I train so the freezing cold smoothies hit the spot every time! One of my favorite post workout concoctions: oat bran, raspberries and blackberries, vanilla whey protein, a splash of soymilk, and a handful of ice. I’m drooling just thinking about it!! 😛 For some reason, garbanzo beans always become amazing pre-workout fuel for me, I always get so amped after having them!

  12. movesnmunchies permalink
    June 27, 2011 6:02 pm

    YES YES YES! i always eat when im hungry and eat what i crave.. which is pb 99% of the time 😉
    fav post run meal is OATS.. full of carbs and protein!

  13. June 27, 2011 6:07 pm

    Allo 🙂

    Just wana say that i ❤ your blog so much, and i <3'd your old one too. Your post's always succeed in giving me a good kick up the ass in terms of whats rational and whats just plain ridiculous and disordered. I really admire you for coming so far in your recovery, its such an achievement and i hope you give yourself a pat on the back everyday 🙂

    Nice to meet you, Sona xx

  14. June 27, 2011 6:12 pm

    i love your list of things that work. i don”t quite know what does or doesn’t work for me quite yet because i am still experimenting but i just ordered that womens’ book about lifting that you swear by and i think it will help me reach my happy place. i know the first step is to gain a bit of weight, and thank you for inspiring me to do so. you are awesome!!

    xxx alexandra

  15. June 27, 2011 6:17 pm

    I eat when I am hungry! ( which is usually 24/7) but I always try to eat before and after a workout, breakfast, lunch, dinner ( with snacks always in between!!) I liked this pics today, givin me the munchy inspriations for my nighttime snack.

  16. June 27, 2011 6:19 pm

    LOVE this post! I have to eat 5-6 times a day too. During the school year, i’s definitely 6 times because I always eat a morning snack. Now that I eat breakfast a little later, I don’t always. I think the hard thing for me to get through was sometimes eating when I’m not really hungry. However, I know my body needs it and my body naturally gets “hungry” at the times I usually eat at. I’m okay with having a sort of schedule for eating! It works for me!

  17. June 27, 2011 6:20 pm

    What works for me is similar to what works for you, in the sense that I try to just listen to my body. I believe that there are meanings behind our cravings, and that we should embrace them! I always feel my healthiest and happiest when I’ve been giving my body what it wants.

    By the way, my boyfriend is a personal trainer. (I’m a certified personal trainer too, but I don’t work as one. He’s worked as one for a long time.) He always stresses the importance of drinking a protein shake after a weight session. I get kind of lazy in that department sometimes, but I’m glad to see that you’re on top of your game! My man would give you a thumbs up. And I see you use a magic bullet. Best invention ever, right?!

    • June 27, 2011 7:41 pm

      Lol it definitely is. I have a fancier Vitamix, but the Bullet is just so much more convenient that I can’t be bothered to bring out the big boys.

  18. June 27, 2011 6:22 pm

    I think all those are true but especially, listen to your cravings! I think that is key to being healthy and preventing yourself from going over board.

  19. June 27, 2011 6:31 pm

    Love this 🙂 I feel like you’re always stealing words right out of my mouth. Oh, wait…I’m nowhere near as eloquent 😛 Now that I’m working out more I’m paying more attention to what I “should” have, but don’t force anything, either.

  20. June 27, 2011 6:36 pm

    We do things very similarly! I can agree with each one of those points. My current favorite pre workout snack is actually your cookie dough balls!!! And post workout I love my protein shakes but I also add a carb to have with it or in it.

  21. June 27, 2011 6:53 pm

    I love your heart sweet potato…And just about everything else you posted today! I usually workout early in the morning right when I wake up so I’ll eat a date or stuffed date before my workout and than I come home and eat my breakfast where I try to incorporate a good amount of protein.
    I really struggle the most with water consumption. I suck at it and always forget, but I think I’ve gotten a little better at it ever since I got my 24oz camelbak 🙂

  22. June 27, 2011 7:17 pm

    Thanks for the wisdom, girl!
    I too, used to be a stickler for combing protein fats and carbs at every meal …it got tiresome. Because sometimes? I just want a piece of fruit. Unadulterated. Blood sugar spike be darned.
    Maybe that’s what my body needs!

  23. June 27, 2011 8:26 pm

    What works for me is eating a HUGE breakfast, snacking throughout the day, then having dinner. I do have lunch on occasion, but I don’t normally get hungry for lunch until 2 or 3 (OATMEAL BEASTS!), and I don’t want to spoil my dinner with a big meal! I think this will change once I get back to school and I’m on my own again, though. I wont need to worry about “spoiling” a meal, since everything will be on my schedule! Plus my schedule is going to get all funked-up with my classes being all over the place. Every day seems to have an interference with a meal time! I guess we’ll see what happens. It’ll all balance itself out 🙂

  24. June 27, 2011 8:38 pm

    I try to have a protein shake on days where I do strength training. I really don’t know if it helps but I’m happy with the part (I think) it plays in my muscle development. I also eat a LOT too.. mini meals. If i go more than 3 hours without eating, well, you don’t want to be around me..

  25. June 27, 2011 8:41 pm

    I don’t eat a pre workout snack- I just roll outta bed and out the door for a run!! Afterwards I have some b-fast. I wish I could have more snacks but honestly I just don’t have time!! I always have dessert and sometimes have an afternoon snack.

  26. June 27, 2011 8:50 pm

    I reallly loved this post, I totally identified with it. I am constantly eating, constantly. I kinda love it. I really cannot go more than a few hours without a snack..I never leave without a fully stocked purse. (think almonds, protein bars, bananas) My favorite pre-workout snack is definitely pb, toast and banana!

  27. sunshinevegan permalink
    June 27, 2011 9:03 pm

    Eating and snacking often definetly wor for me. I sometimes graze or5 nibble between meals and I never plan out my meals, I just go with what I feel like at the moment!
    Pre workout I usually have breakfast so oats+ an apple or nanner with AB or PB and post workout I like smoothies or nutbutter stuffed dates 🙂

  28. June 27, 2011 10:00 pm

    your food always looks so yummy I can’t take it! 🙂

  29. Teniesha @ Vegan on the Go-Go permalink
    June 27, 2011 10:01 pm

    Some days, I find that snacking works best for me; other days, I prefer 3 square meals and maybe 1 snack if my tummy starts growling. As for what I eat, I’ve really come to realize that I’m a carb and healthy fat girl–as in, if I don’t eat enough whole grains and nuts, seeds, nut butter, avocado, etc., my hunger is insatiable. Being vegan and dealing with the infamous “Do you get enough protein?” question, I am conscious of my protein intakes, too, but without my brown rice and peanut butter, oh, my body isn’t a happy camper. 🙂

  30. June 27, 2011 10:09 pm

    i love that you say that your ultimate goal is for your body to be “functioning properly.” i think for my own “optimal functioning,” so much of it is comes down to not being stressed out or worrying about food – which means not rigidly adhering to any sort of food plan (meaning specific macronutrients) or structure but eating when im hungry – though i think for me a routine of 3 meals plus snacks whenever im hungry in between is best for me. i try not to think at all of the macronutrients of what i’m eating though – i just try to eat what i’m craving in (mostly) whole food form

    • June 28, 2011 6:42 am

      I definitely agree that not stressing about food is a big part of being healthy. I felt a lot worse, and suffered more digestive complaints, when I was trying to control my diet by eating what I thought I “should”. When I eased up, everything just kind of fell into place 😀

  31. June 27, 2011 10:50 pm

    I love your attitude towards honoring cravings especially as it is something I am still working towards! Carb & fat combo before a workout seems to work well for me like a Larabar or a banana and nuts, probably because it’s a combo of slow and fast release energy. However on weekdays I work out at 6.30 am so I don’t snack on anything because it’s too early for me. Fortunately my bedtime snack from the night before does the trick! My workouts tend to happen right before a meal so post-workout, I normally eat a combo of carbs, protein, healthy fats and fruit/veg like oatmeal made with egg whites, soy milk, chias, banana and topped with peanut butter.

  32. June 28, 2011 12:18 am

    YEY 😀 I love you!!
    Great post Amanda! This is a so healthy way to live, and really what Im going for in the long run!
    Your food is looking so good, especially that sweet potato. I kind of hope it is almond butter in it, but it looks like something else!? Looks yummy anyway 🙂
    I usually run in the morning, and I feel the best when I have eaten oatmeal a hour or 2 before that.

  33. June 28, 2011 12:20 am

    Thank you for this post, dear Amanda! I’m nearly burst into tears, cause I crave for so much things, which I can’t let myself to eat.
    Maybe this will inspire me.
    You are brilliant!

    • June 28, 2011 7:05 am

      Aww hun 😦 Don’t deny yourself such a simple pleasure – food is meant to be enjoyed, and it can add so much more to life! I know it’s hard, but if you just give yourself a small taste, you’ll fall in love with how good it feels and it’ll get easier from there.

  34. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    June 28, 2011 12:45 am

    I have a similar eating “philosophy” – 6 meals a day and there´s no way I can go on without a refuel for more than two or three hours!
    I used to be OK (or more so-so) with two meals a day, but since I started working out more, I need to eat a lot more and I love it and enjoy it!
    I need to have a proper meal before working out, other way I feel like I woul faint in a first minute of exercising. A bowl of oats or a whole wheat toast with PB usually works for me.

  35. June 28, 2011 1:55 am

    Your post the other day totally ended up with me buying the new rules of lifting! I can’t wait to read it. Really love this post and love that you love to eat too! I’ve spent a while finding what works well for me, I usually workout first thing and can’t stomach much so as long as I’m well fuelled from the day before I just go for it then make a mega large refuelling breakfast afterwards. My fave pre workout snacks for when I work out in the evening has to be a lara or nakd bar or some dried fruit. Dates are my rocket fuel! Post workout its all about the smoothies (big green ones for breakfast) or protein ice cream after my dinner after my evening workouts, yum!

  36. June 28, 2011 2:04 am

    LOVE THE REINDEER PLATE!! I’m sooo excited about Christmas already, seriously!! 😀

    I dunno how many times I eat a day to be honest! I just ‘nibble’ like you and randomly head into the kitchen to grab a snack bar or a bowl of oats at least a thousand times a day, so no idea really! 😛

    Pre-workout I love AB+banana+honey sandwich 🙂 Post workout definitely chocolate milk (straight away) and then oats or a smooooothie! Made with TOFU yaaaay!!

  37. June 28, 2011 2:12 am

    I really need to get back into working out (mostly strength training) when I get home- but thanks for the tips- I’m always confused about whether the protein shake should come before or after the workout (I guess it makes sense afterwards to replenish).
    I eat at least five times per day, and every few hours because otherwise my blood sugar gets too low…and that puts me in a baaaaaad mood

  38. June 28, 2011 3:14 am

    I can’t believe that I used to only eat 3 times a day O_o Depending on how late I get up I eat at least 5 times a day but I tend to have large meals that aren’t only considered large because they have a lot of vegetables. I like to fill up on food that will energise me so I’m done with filling the void with vegetables and fruit especially when I feel like something else. Having said that, I do crave fruit and veg so that’s a plus 😛 I don’t adhere to rules as much as I used to. I still feel uncomfortable when I go against some old food rules but it is very liberating when I do it 😛

    xxx

  39. June 28, 2011 4:05 am

    Heheeee love the cute reindeer plate – I’m excited for Christmas already too…in two days we’re half way to Christmas YAAAY!!
    Ahh girly, every single post you do, you just take the words right out of my mouth that I want to tell the world. But you do it much better with your beautiful wording so I’ll let you do the talking 😛
    I agree so much with what works for you. Especially having a balance because after spending so long depriving myself of things because I thought they were ‘bad’ I’m now really enjoying loving my treats every single day along with the tonne of fruit and veg I also eat.
    For me I actually probably eat more than 6 times a day! I get really conscious about it but it works for me because my meals are just an average size so I depend on snacks to make up probably more of my intake than my meals to keep me healthy – but I like it like that! I also get really panicky when I get hungry and I’m out with no food around me which is still something I need to deal with because sometimes you just have to wait a bit..I always have breakfast after my workout which will involve protein powder too but pre-workout I’ll just have a piece of fruit because eating too much makes me feel ill.

    • June 28, 2011 7:13 am

      I used to get REALLY panicky when I was hungry and couldn’t eat, but it’s something that fades as you get healthier… when eating isn’t as much of a life and death thing anymore.

  40. June 28, 2011 4:10 am

    Love this post! It’s full of so amazing tips. My favourite post workout snack would have to be a gigantic green smoothie…yum!

  41. June 28, 2011 5:27 am

    How many cups of water a day do I drink? I have no idea. I measure my water intake in bottles. I usually refill my bottle 4 times while I’m in the university and I can’t even imagine how much more I add to the equation with all the water I drink directly from the tap. I have always been like that. I never leave the house without a without a water bottle if i go out for more than 15 minutes. Dehydration is out of the question 😀 .

    Foodwise… I don’t put much thought into compensating all the energy I burn during a workout. I’m just trying to give my body what it wants. Even when it wants pure junk.

  42. June 28, 2011 5:33 am

    It’s definitely taken some time for me to figure out what works for me, but whatever it is, it’s WORKIN! It’s something like this: coffee, tea and water all day; no to low soy consumption (killlls my stomach); grains at every meal; fresh fruit and vegetables every day; Greek yogurt is one of the few dairies I can tolerate, along with cheese (thank goodness); roll with the punches, go with what I want in that moment and be happy with it. Also, don’t overthink it. That’s what gets people in trouble!

  43. June 28, 2011 6:34 am

    I love that you’re so intune with your body! I hope I can achieve that sooner rather than later :). I’m starting to learn what’s making my body happy. I always always have to have breakfast or something before I work out. PB and banana is usually the go to for me. And I’ve also been eating 6 times a day… not including all of the grazing that goes on in between those 6 meals.

    My favorite post workout snack is usually a meal. I try to time my workouts by either having a pre workout snack, exercise, then breakfast. or Breakfast, exercise, pre-morning snack.

  44. Erika permalink
    June 28, 2011 6:51 am

    Great post! Eating less and exercising more is never the way to go!

  45. June 28, 2011 7:33 am

    I too am a huge snacker. I like to eat, so I eat. 😉 My current pre-workout snack is just a rice cake since I workout at 5:30 a.m., but I love protein oats after a good workouts, especially if I sneak fruit in there too!

  46. June 28, 2011 9:49 am

    i only eat twice a day, 3 if theres a social function. i seem to work just fine, and love short heavy lifting. i agree, balance is key because in the end it does not matter one flying ____ what you add in or eat more of, your body will do with it what it needs to regardless of what source it comes from! took me a long time to grasp that one 🙂

  47. June 28, 2011 10:14 am

    I eat at least six times a day (sometimes more like 8) and don’t even think about taking my protein shakes away from me:)

    What a great post!

  48. June 28, 2011 10:42 am

    I’ve actually been eating a lot more fat than I’m used to recently. I used to not eat ANY until I realized our muscles feed off fat first, then carbs, then protein when recovering. Which seems strange, but it’s good since the protein should be in our bodies long enough to rebuild our muscles rather than feed them while they’re working. So having adequate fat in the diet’s really important for weight loss. Who knew!

    • June 28, 2011 11:19 am

      Truth! I definitely noticed myself getting leaner when I upped my fat intake. The whole idea that “fat makes you fat” is such a load of garbage.

  49. June 28, 2011 11:01 am

    Love this. Especially that Christmas plate, which I own as well. How come cookies always taste better on holiday dishware? 🙂

    When I began lifting, my appetite began roaring as well. Initially I was confused, because I’d cut back my cardio tremendously, and figured that I was burning far less energy. However, when I began losing muscle mass instead of gaining, I realized that was not the case! Over time, I gave myself permission to eat more, honor my hunger and my cravings. Now my body is happy and healthy!

    I love your vanilla tofu pudding recipe! Definitely giving that a try when I get home!

  50. June 28, 2011 11:01 am

    oh p.s. you won my giveaway!

  51. June 28, 2011 12:17 pm

    I absolutely love your blog. I’ve read and subscribe to so many “healthy living” blogs, but after discovering your site it truly opened up my eyes. running with spoons is healthy for your mind, body and soul. I am now in the process of unsubscribing to all those “healthy living” blogs because I can now see for myself that they are so far from living a healthy lifestyle. After reading your post from other day I went out and bought The New Rules of Lifting on my lunch break. I’ve just recently been starting to lift some weights at the gym so this couldn’t have come at a better time! Thank you for being such an inspiration.

    Jenny

  52. June 28, 2011 1:18 pm

    I like your routine 🙂
    I always, always have a snack pre-workout, regardless of how hungry I am – my worst nightmare would be getting hungry and weak halfway through a run! I also alwaaaays have dessert, cos it makes me feel good mentally 🙂 I can be full, but it’s just…lovely, to have dessert 🙂

  53. June 28, 2011 1:29 pm

    Still trying to figure all that out, as you know. 🙂

    What I’ve been really interested in lately is the whole IIFYM (If It Fits Your Macros) philosophy… the idea is that no matter what you eat and no matter what time of day you eat it, none of it matters as long as you hit your target number of grams of macronutrients (carbs, protein, fats.) Obviously, you want to make sure that you get the necessary micronutrients from fruits and veggies and all that… but the idea is the rest of it doesn’t matter. Meal timing is irrevelant–you can eat all your food in one meal (if you wanted to…?) You don’t have to have pre- or post-workout nutrition if you don’t want to, because the body’s a smart machine and as long as you hit your totals at the end of the day it will figure out how to use them. “Balanced meals” and “clean eats” are irrevelant. You could eat all your veggies in one sitting and not eat another all day. Or eat an entire pint of Ben and Jerry’s (lol…) if you can “fit it in your macros”.

    Maybe its not the best philosophy for me right now… but its interesting all the same, no? Makes a lot of sense. I’ve been thinking lately that a lot of the healthy living blog world “babies” their bodies too much–emphasizing eating “clean” foods to stay lean, making sure to eat carbs before a workout and protein after, demonizing sugar, all those old conventional myths that recent science has proven wrong…

  54. July 4, 2011 8:19 am

    Please forgive me for JUST NOW getting caught up on your posts! Where did the time go? I feel like I haven’t “seen” you in forever! Lol!

    “I enjoy eating healthy foods because they make my body feel good, but I also enjoy eating not-so-healthy foods because they make my mind feel good.” <- AMEN!

    I usually eat 3 meals a day with 1-2 snacks. A lot of times when I'm working during the week, I'll skip snacks just because I'm too busy to even think about food, but I always keep a "stash" just in case I DO get hungry. It may not be ideal, but if I have to scarf down a bar in 0.08 seconds, so be it! I refuse to go hungry! I've been experimenting with pre-workout snacks and it looks like the only thing that works for me is a date with some kind of nut butter…sunflower seed butter and peanut butter are at the top of that list! I tried coconut butter today, but it was way too rich! Whew…felt like a sugar high! Haha!

    I loved your post about eating less/exercising more. I couldn't agree with you more! There is so much misleading information out there and I really feel sorry for those you haven't "seen the light" yet. I used to think the only way I would lose weight was to just kick my own a$$ to burn off all the "bad" food I ate. My life was filled with guilt…I was tired…I was depressed…and I was flippin HUNGRY! Now, I try my best to listen to my body when it comes to eating. I still have the occasional food label (good vs bad) thought pop into my head, but I just try to look at the bigger picture. It all balances out in the end!

Trackbacks

  1. You Guys Are SO AMAZING! « katshealthcorner

Leave a comment