Skip to content

. avocado, apples, & cheese… oh my! .

June 6, 2011

Ello pudding pies! 😀

Before we get down to business, a few of you asked what kind of pudding I use to dress up my oats…

 

 

I’d love to call myself a culinary genius, and boast about my unquestionable prowess in the kitchen… but let’s not kid ourselves here. I spend enough time cooking and baking as it is, and when it comes to making everything from scratch, well, I’m usually just too lazy to bother.

So, the honest and less-than-impressive answer to the burning pudding question is that I just go out and buy it. The chocolate one is from Zenzoy, and the caramel/vanilla ones are from Belsoy.

No fuss. No muss.

And with that out of the way, we can move on to a far more important question…

What on earth was in last night’s dinner?

The Answer?

. . .

 

What wasn’t in last night’s dinner?

This baby was loaded with pumpkin, hummus, thyme, apple, cheese, and avocado…
All stuffed in a crisp brown rice tortilla

I was actually really impressed that quite a few of you came pretty close to guessing it all! You guys must know me better than I thought 😀 I’ve done the pumpkin/hummus, apple, cheese thing once before, but this time I decided to get a little crazier and throw in some avocado as well.

Best. decision. ever.

What I did was take a brown rice tortilla and spread it with ~2 Tbsp. of pumpkin and 2 Tbsp. of hummus. Then, I topped the whole thing with a layer of thinly sliced apple and some shredded mozza before popping it in the oven at 350° for about 20 minutes.

When it came out, I let it cool for a few minutes before spreading it with some mashed avocado…

… and then promptly went to town…

 

Swoooooooon.

Hey, don’t knock it ’till you try it. I have it on pretty good authority that the combination of pumpkin, hummus, apple, and cheese is a good one, and how can you go wrong with the addition of avocado?

You can’t.

But if you had asked me a few years ago, my answer would have been a little bit different. Apples were always apples, and cheese was always cheese, but I detested avocados, hummus grossed me out, and pumpkins were for carving, not eating. These days I’m a lot more open-minded when it comes to food, and I’m usually willing to try anything at least once. Sure I’ve come up with some pretty big duds, but I’ve also discovered so many foods and combinations that I love.

Moral of the story? Don’t be afraid to try new things; with food and in life.

. – . – . – .

Do you make a lot of things from scratch?

Are you pretty adventurous when it comes to trying strange food/combos?

Try anything new and exciting lately?? Food or life-wise…

60 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2011 5:28 pm

    HELLO LOVE!!!

    Exciting life wise we applied for our marriage license today!

    I tried Wendy’s new Wild Berry Iced Tea today and it was amazing!!!

    I love trying diff combos! I think you are awesome for this combo! Make me this and I will try it!!

  2. June 6, 2011 5:32 pm

    NOOO that Belsoy stuff is Alpro Soya in England! Exact same packaging, but with a different name (I have about 12 packs in my cupboard :-p the caramel flavour is sooo good). It’s very weird to see :/
    I think I’m pretty adventurous 🙂 I mean, I’ll try any combination once. It’s fun!

  3. June 6, 2011 5:36 pm

    Your dinner sounds insanely good! Sometimes it’s the most random combos that turn out the best. The first time I made a cheese, jam, and tempeh sandwich it blew my socks off! And everyone was just like wtf are you eating? Hahaha

  4. Matt @ The Athlete's Plate permalink
    June 6, 2011 5:43 pm

    That dinner looks freaking delicious.

  5. June 6, 2011 5:44 pm

    Girl your taste buds are crazy!! I would never ever think of this. Then again, I’m so not creative!! You’ve totally inspired me to make a quesadilla tonight though, although I’m pretty sure mine won’t be nearly as exciting as yours ❤

  6. June 6, 2011 5:44 pm

    Dang *brushing shoulders off* I’m pretty proud of myself!
    New (and exciting to me) I’ve recently tried (where have I been) adding nuts into my veggies/salads.
    Brocolli, braggs, gomasio, stevia and cashews say whaaa??? Say YUM.
    Also experimented with cucumbers in my asian stirfry …Jury still out.

    • June 6, 2011 5:45 pm

      I’m proud beacause I guessed your wrap pretty good, by the way. Not because of the nut thingy.

  7. June 6, 2011 5:51 pm

    i add avocado to everything. I eat 4 large avocados per week at least.

    if someone were gaining and suffering a tumultous digestive system and tummy…would this be TOO adventurous and complicated? Sometimes I think I make myelf worse (much worse) becuz i overcomplicate things and my body literally is not ready for such complication right now…were u simple for a long time until u reached a normalcy in weight and health?

    excellent recipe!

    • June 6, 2011 6:27 pm

      You make yourself worse because you stress yourself out too much about what to eat. Just eat and stop worrying about whether it’s right or wrong.

      • June 6, 2011 7:39 pm

        Sorry, I didn’t mean to bother you…

        just wondered your thoughts or stuff…thanks for the feedback…

        i won’t irritate you any longer! (i irritate myself i guess).

  8. June 6, 2011 6:03 pm

    I should definitely probably know this by now but are you a vegetarian? If not, I demand you make a chicken, almond butter, and sweet potato wrap. If you are – ditch the chicken in lieu of some tofu and thank me later.

  9. June 6, 2011 6:05 pm

    I am becoming more and more adventurous as I recover from my ED. Every single night I could last summer, I would have a baked sweet potato with an apple, a side of spinach and a container of non-fat greek yogurt. Yes that is fairly nutritious, but I didn’t like to have anything else because of course I was afraid of gaining weight.
    I have come so far from that point… tonight for example, I had stir fry for dinner 🙂
    Avocado used to be a fear of mine too, now I love them on sandwiches!

  10. June 6, 2011 6:14 pm

    That is one crazy food combo. I mean who thinks of putting an apple in with all that? Certainly not me, only Amanda I guess. 😛
    I actually make your pumpkin hummus veggie pizzas all the time though. So much flava in one simple meal, love it. 🙂

  11. June 6, 2011 6:15 pm

    I make most things from scratch – it’s easier for me! And I’m loving on your combination – so weird, but so good.

  12. June 6, 2011 6:26 pm

    I love making things from scratch and then sharing my creations with others!
    Your dinner wrap looked wonderful – filled with all of my favorites! I think I’ve become more adventurous with my food choices as I continue o recover. We only live once right?

  13. June 6, 2011 6:42 pm

    I definitely wouldn’t dare to try making pudding from scratch, way to complicated and the containers are much more convenient. I like to consider myself somewhat daring when it comes to combining different flavors, but I’ve never tried a combination like your dinner before! It looks really tasty though, I want to give it a try 🙂

  14. June 6, 2011 6:52 pm

    Yummm love your dinner. I am definitely pretty lazy when it comes to making things from scratch lol I like the convenience of an easy meal 😉 I do love to go out and try new things, there are so many things I would have never tried before. I’m glad I’ve expanded my mind to new awesome foods 😀

  15. June 6, 2011 6:53 pm

    That looks SO good! I haven’t had avocado in a long time but it always shocks me how amazing it is whenever I happen to have it again.

    And no shame in just buying the pudding..I do it, too. I eat the stuff so often to jazz up cereal bowls or whatever…I’m just way too lazy to make it from scratch!

  16. sunshinevegan permalink
    June 6, 2011 7:02 pm

    I’m really adventerous when it comes to strange food combos 🙂
    and on Saturday I tried a paddle board boot camp class that was killer! Trying new things is the spice of life. I really try not to get too stuck in a rut or set in my ways.

  17. June 6, 2011 7:22 pm

    this sounds SO AMAZING! i love all of those things so much and would love to combine them!

    and as far as trying new things, I did try pudding on my oats the other day, and it was DIVINE. seriously.

  18. June 6, 2011 7:43 pm

    wow, i would never come up with that combination! i love trying new things though, so i’d give it a try!

    i love pickles, cheese, and mustard sandwiches, which a lot of people find really gross…..

  19. June 6, 2011 7:44 pm

    Mmmm, I might need to try that dinner… looks simple and that’s exactly what I need! And I used to hate avocados too! And I avoided hummus and stuff like that. I still hate peas tho. And broccoli. :p

  20. June 6, 2011 8:12 pm

    i like to make a lot of stuff from scratch when i have time…but on the other hand, sometimes it’s really nice to just buy whatever. keeps you open to new flavors, too!
    as for being adventurous…why, yes, i consider myself pretty…uh…adventurous….when it comes to flavors! although…i’m not big on avocado…and can’t really imagine hummus with pumpkin and an apple :X BUT, i also know some of the oddest sounding things taste the best so i certainly wouldn’t knock it ’til i tried it. different > normal, anyways.

  21. June 6, 2011 8:45 pm

    LOVE your creativity! I’m a creature of habit… I really need to be more adventurous.

  22. June 6, 2011 8:59 pm

    Man that looks really good even though I can’t help but think the combination of apple with savoury is extremely odd!

    I tend not to make things from scratch unless I REALLY want to. The weirdest food combo I have is probably chocolate with peanut butter and THAT is NOT weird at all. I need to be more adventurous with my food methinks 😉

    xxx

  23. June 6, 2011 10:27 pm

    The pudding on the oats thing actually looks really good! I normally hate pudding so I don’t buy it but I definitely would like to try that. Oh and even though your dinner sounds pretty weird it looks great too!

  24. June 6, 2011 10:58 pm

    I actually just recently tried apples and cheese in a tortilla, pressed on a panini maker to get the cheese melty, and I can’t stop thinking about it!
    This sounds even better! I wish I had some pumpkin to make it 🙂

  25. June 6, 2011 11:20 pm

    I’d like to say I’m pretty adventurous when it comes to trying new foods, but I probably wouldn’t buy anything too out there in case I don’t like it because thats happened a few too many times and I feel like I’m wasting so much.

    I love random meals where I just pick out whatever I have leftover in my pantry or fridge and make a meal of it although I don’t know that I’ve come up with any combos as adventurous as your dinner last night yet. Looks good!

  26. czechvegan permalink
    June 6, 2011 11:28 pm

    Wow, that dinner looks awesome, I am all for avocado + apples + anything else:)
    I try to do things from scratch and not to use pre-made, bought items. But sometimes the laziness takes over:)
    I am very very adventurous when it comes to food combinations, I like to mix everything and things like jam + cheese, peas + strawberries or hummus + bananas are the ones I enjoy pretty much 🙂
    Lately I am really hook up to sunflower + dried tomatoes spread on a whole wheat bread. I can´t get enough:)

    • June 7, 2011 6:20 am

      Hummus and bananas?! Omigosh. NEVER crossed my mind, but it sounds fantastic! I might have to give it a whirl.

      • Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
        June 7, 2011 8:28 am

        Yes, sometimes there are things crossing my mind that makes me a bit affraid of myself :)) But who can go wrong with hummus? And with bananas? And with both in one meal? 🙂

  27. June 6, 2011 11:41 pm

    If I had the time I would make everything from scratch, but I don’t so yes, I do buy some things (gasp!). I think we both know I’m quite the adventurous foodie. There’s not much I won’t try. And ummmm, avocado in a hummus, pumpkin, apple, cheese combo?? BRING IT ON! One of my co-workers was eating apples and cheese tonight and was like “I know, you probably think this is weird,” when I interrupted to inform him that I think that combo is anything but weird!

  28. June 6, 2011 11:47 pm

    MmM, that dinner does sound good! Never something I would come up with myself, but when I see it in the photoes it really looks and sounds delicious! And I love hummus, pumpin and avocado- Cant see how it could be bad together 🙂
    I go rather safe when it comes to food.. I like to know that I will like my meal 🙂 I did try oatmeal with chocolate for the first time the other week though . Ive seen it all over the blogs, and I had to try it! And I loved it! I know this is not a weird combo for us food bloggers, but my friends and family thinks I eat all these crazy stuff 😛 Like dipping chocolate in almond butter ❤ What is so crazy about that?!?!
    Wish you a great day:)

    • June 7, 2011 6:37 am

      Hehe I get some weird looks from people sometimes, but I’ve learned to live with it. I just can’t help but thinking “oh you guys have NO idea what you’re missing”.

  29. Teniesha permalink
    June 7, 2011 12:33 am

    I love combinations like that! It’s funny–three years ago, I’d never eaten some of the foods I now consider my favourites. Or, for example, when I was little, I avoided nuts, dried fruit, sweet potatoes, mushrooms, tomatoes, sauerkraut, and bananas like the plague, and now, I eat them almost every. single. day. Tongues mature, and tastes change! And oh, I am glad mine did. I look forward to trying your recipe (sans cheese) as soon as I go shopping again. I think adding caramelized onions would be delicious, too! 🙂

  30. June 7, 2011 1:04 am

    That looks AMAZING! Plus anything with avocado and hummus is in a winner in my book! I love trying creative and random food combos- and making some stuff from scratch. Today my mama and I made homemade hummus- so fresh and delicious!

  31. June 7, 2011 3:08 am

    ah I know I tell you this all the time but I think you’re amazing! I love this food combo. I don’t know if I’ve worked up to trying avacado, hummus, apple yet but I’m working on it.
    Last night I had cottage cheese on a sweet potato because I saw it of course on your site and thought HMM that looks interesting.. turns out i LOVED it. so clearly your combos are working for me 🙂

  32. June 7, 2011 3:59 am

    Oh my god! We get that Belsoy stuff but with a different name and I used to eat the caramel one like it was my JOB. You have just reminded me that I need it back in my life right now!! *adds to grocery shopping list*
    Your creativity never ceases to amaze me – the flavors always sound random but thought out and they always work! I love trying random flavors together that people think are strange but I still worry that they’re not going to work every time haha! But I figure, if you don’t try you won’t ever know! I like cooking things from scratch but sometimes it’s nice just to have something pre-made that I might add into my cooking to give it a bit of oomph if you get me?! 🙂

  33. movesnmunchies permalink
    June 7, 2011 4:40 am

    coolest dinner combo EVER!!.. im defs into making things from scratch.. when i have time.. haha so most of the time my meals are just whole foods that dont require much cooking ! cuz i rly dont like cookin! im thinking u need to MAKE ME MAH FOOD!

  34. June 7, 2011 5:39 am

    Um, YUM!! I neeeed to have that in my life!! I LOVE making things from scratch and cooking- so much fun!! Although I totally have my lazy days too when it’s all about ready meals 😉

    And I am SO getting that caramel pot thing now!! I’ll try it on ma oats Amanda-style and I know I’ll LOVE it! 😀

  35. June 7, 2011 5:59 am

    I make almost everything from scratch – mainly because I usually have the time and buying it would just be way more expensive. As a result I don’t always end up with the “real thing”, which is sad.

    I love crazy combos, although I’m usually a bit cautious in that area. I try something cautiously in very small quantities before making a whole meal out of it.

  36. June 7, 2011 6:03 am

    That’s one heck of a sandwich! I love weird combos like that. Once I tried tuna and peanut butter, which was amazing, so I have no qualms against weird combos of foods haha!! 🙂

  37. June 7, 2011 6:34 am

    I must make a lot of things from scratch if I want to have them at all. Now I really want to make hummus but I still cannot find chickpeas. Do you think it is possible to make it with soy beans?

    As for strange food combos… Well, I am living in Japan. Half of the time I don’t even know what I’m eating 😀

  38. June 7, 2011 7:24 am

    YUM! I’d loove that sandwich!!!!! 😀
    There was a time where I would NOT eat an avocado b/c of the fat, but now I LOVE it!!!! 😀

  39. June 7, 2011 8:05 am

    Interesting. I bet I’d love that dinner if someone served it to me, but I don’t think I could make it myself. It’d feel too odd. haha

  40. June 7, 2011 9:31 am

    I love how open you are to experimenting with unique combinations of food! I think that shows that you’re an awesome person! 😉 I definitely make most of my food from scratch and I’m pretty adventurous when it comes to trying new things. I used to stop myself when I had a weird food combo idea and be like, “that’s weird!” But now I embrace it. 🙂

  41. June 7, 2011 9:59 am

    Wow, I really want to try that combo! Sounds amazing!

    I do make a lot of things from scratch, but I’ve never made pudding from scratch! Just about everything else, though! Haha.

    I love cooking!

  42. June 7, 2011 10:16 am

    That combo looks fantastic! A perfect combo of sweet AND savory 🙂
    I has pasta the other night, & for the sauce i wasn’t feeling the plain red stuff, so i did a combo of tziki and steamed spinach. Yum.

  43. June 7, 2011 11:53 am

    That wrap looks delicious! The other day I made a not as exciting version including laughing cow, peas, cheese, Bob’s red hot, and Mrs. Dash garlic and herb. It was pretty good!

  44. June 7, 2011 3:17 pm

    pumpkins were soooooo on my ew list! and avocados needed to be for guac only or i’d move them aside… I love how are tastes have changed =) LOVE your combo! i’m a newly discovered pumpkin fan — and apples and cheese sound so good with it!

    xoXOxo
    Jenn @ Peas & Crayons

  45. June 7, 2011 9:03 pm

    soooo cool! I love it 🙂 And I try to be as adventurous as possible in the kitchen, but I do NOT make a lot from scratch!

  46. June 7, 2011 9:49 pm

    What an interesting combo, but I love it!! Make me one, please 🙂

  47. June 7, 2011 10:18 pm

    Oh my goodness, your food is just too good!!!

    xoxo

  48. June 9, 2011 3:46 pm

    I am definitely trying out this combination!

  49. June 11, 2011 12:40 pm

    Ugh, now you’re going to have me on a quest for pudding! I need some caramel action on my next bowl of oats! Maybe then, I’ll stop drooling over yours!

    That wrap looks fantastic! Do you use plain hummus? Wonder if pine nut hummus would taste ok?

    I used to hate hummus and pumpkin was only for pumpkin pie…now I’m considering a meal with both of them AND apples and cheese and avocado! Haha! I never used to have any weird food combos and now I can’t seem to stop mixing all kinds of weird things together! Let’s see…last night’s dinner: started out somewhat normal, steamed green beans with a BIG plop of hummus and some BBQ seasoning. Next thing I know I have a bowl with green beans, hummus, BBQ seasoning, nooch, edamame, and alfalfa sprouts! Um, don’t ask! 😉

Trackbacks

  1. . sweet and savory oats . « . running with spoons .
  2. . this or that . « . running with spoons .
  3. pumpkin in new places « Accidently Delish

Leave a comment