Skip to content

. crazy cravings .

May 19, 2011

Hullo and Happy Thursday, boos! 😀

Did you know that the birds start singing at around 4 AM and that they stop at around 5? No? Well, I can assure you that they do; or at least the ones outside my window do. How was it that I came about gaining such incredible knowledge, you might ask? Well, I was lucky enough to be awake before the crack of dawn to witness the monumental event with my very own eyes ears. I mean, who needs sleep when it only causes us to miss out on such simple, everyday pleasures…

… Uhm, I do. I choose sleep, please.

Unfortunately, it wasn’t up to me, so my day started off at 3:45 AM when I woke up to take my nightly trip to the bathroom and was unable to fall back asleep. Sigh. I’m not bitter, just a bit groggy. Actually, I think I might have managed to doze off a few times after that, but the majority of my time was spend tossing, turning, swearing, and Google Readering (let’s just pretend that’s a verb, okay?).

I have no idea why, but sleep just wasn’t in the cards this morning. I blame the weather. Or rising gas prices. Or the fact that I was crazy itchy after providing the mosquitos with a delicious feast on my walk last night. Whatever it was, I threw in the towel at around 5:30 and got up to go make breakfast…

Blueberry Muffin Breakfast Bake

… and surprisingly didn’t burn the house down in the process. Actually, judging by my actions, you’d probably never be able to tell that I was slightly intoxicated sleep deprived. Looking at my eats, on the other hand? Well, I’ll just let you be the judge on that one…

. – . – . – .

We’re all familiar with cookies and milk, yes? Well, what about cookies in milk? I mean, who needs cereal when you’ve got ginger snaps?… and frozen mango chunks, apparently.

 

Don’t ask… Noooo idea.

And if that’s not oddball enough for you, lunch was when things really started to get interesting… I’m actually a bit hesitant to share this next tidbit of information with you, because:

a. I don’t want to gross you out, and

b. I don’t want to lose whatever respect you might have for me.

This is one of those things that should be kept hush hush; like all those things we do when no one else is around. Mmm hmm. In fact, I’m only sharing it with you because I consider us friends and I know [read: very much hope] that you won’t judge me too harshly. And if you must, then just remember… I was sleep deprived. Deep breath. And here we go…

I know, I know. What. is. that?! That, my friends, is what I called lunch. Maybe it doesn’t look so bad at first glance, but you might change your mind when you hear what actually went into it…

Brown rice with applesauce, hummus, and cinnamon; raw tofu with steamed broccoli and mustard.

Err… ?

Looking back, I have no idea how I came up with such a strange combination, other than to say… it’s exactly what I was craving, so I went with it. And before you ask, no, I’m not pregant and experiencing weird cravings for things like pickles and ice cream. I’m just… experiencing weird cravings.

 The logical part of my mind tried to talk me out of it, arguing that it wasn’t a normal combination of food, and that it would probably end up making me sick; but over the years I’ve learned that a craving denied is satisfaction denied, so I threw together the seemingly incompatible mish-mash of ingredients, enjoyed every bite, and didn’t experience any digestive complaints whatsoever.

Moral of the story? Listen to those cravings!

The only downside is that I may have grossed some of you out a little bit, but I’m sure you’ll forgive me with time, because I’m willing to bet that almost everyone has a hush-hush food combination that they love but don’t want to admit to. Mmm hmmm. That one. Admit it! You totally do!

. – . – . – .

Anywho, the rest of my eats were nothing to brag about… Although I do have to give an honorable mention to two of my favorite things [read: almond butter and coffee] for helping me make it through the day in a relatively coherent manner.

 

But there’s nothing crazy about that, because everyone eats nut butter straight from the jar, right? 😉

. – . – . – .

What’s the weirdest combination of flavors that you love?

What do you do when you wake up in the middle of the night and can’t fall back asleep?

56 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2011 5:34 pm

    That lunch!! I truly believe in listening to your food cravings, however. I wish I could give you some advice on falling back asleep but I had the same problem last night. Woke up around 2 AM and just tossed and turned… and sweated, which is why I woke up in the first place. Better luck tonight!

  2. May 19, 2011 5:43 pm

    Haha I love that! It totally reminded me of something Freya from BritChickRuns would do. Power to ya!!! I’m sad at the fact that I don’t really get cravings like that. Maybe at some point in the future I will but right now I’m all “normal”. ICK!!!

    I don’t often wake up and not be able to fall back to sleep again anymore (thank goodness!!!!) but the only thing I did do when that happened was I just stayed in bed with my eyes closed and eventually after possibly an hour or two of just laying there I would eventually doze off. How long do you generally sleep for?

    xxx

  3. May 19, 2011 5:45 pm

    You didn’t gross me out, don’t worry 😉 I’m used to getting odd comments about my love for my bbq tofu, pb and j sandwiches so I think I’m immune to “weird” food combos. Nothing seems weird anymore! Though I will say I’ve had my fair share of bad ideas 😉
    Absolutely listen to those cravings. I’ve talked myself out of it before only to go back ten minutes later for what I really wanted, not what I thought I should have.
    Wake up in the middle of the night? Luckily it hasn’t happened in a while! But when I used to, surfing the web or watching some tv usually made my eyes tired again 😉

  4. May 19, 2011 6:19 pm

    THAT HAPPENED TO ME TOO! I got up around 4am to go to the bathroom and then laid in bed for two hours until finally I needed breakfast. GRRRR! Anyway, I’m not gonna lie that applesauce thing sounds super weird but I say go with your cravings no matter what they are! Hahaha and nut butter straight from the jar is never a bad thing either 🙂

  5. May 19, 2011 6:19 pm

    That’s awesome! I love following weird food combinations. I don’t know where they come from but I usually listen. And most of the time I’m grateful that I did. I guess I’m pretty lucky because I hardly ever wake up in the night. But if for some strange reason I do, I usually just lay there in the dark until I can sleep again. If that’s not happening, then I’ll get up and make some tea. Then read or blog and watch a cheesy movie or something.

  6. May 19, 2011 6:38 pm

    I would think that everything I consume is a weird flavor combo. It is a goal of mine to improve the “share-a-ble” quality of my food but until then, why not? Let’s see, pikles and peanut butter like every day. Peanut butter on everything basically. ONions, egg whites…shrimp. I love salt on fruit, too. Nooch on EVERYTHING.I ould go on.

    Your lunch atually sounds good to me! Nothing weird about it in my book.

  7. May 19, 2011 7:03 pm

    I love all of your food combos from today – I totally agree with listening to our inner cravings – they’ll never steer you wrong!
    sorry about your difficulty staying asleep – I have the same problem – I fall asleep no problem but always wake up so early! I usually try and doze back to sleep or if all else fails I read or go online!
    They say eating foods that release tryptophan like milk, or a banana before bed helps!

  8. May 19, 2011 7:15 pm

    That lunch actually looks really good! I’ve had some weird combos this week too. Today Instead of tuna fish with a little mayo mixed together on my sandwich…I mixed the tuna with a little bit of mayo, pesto sauce, and trader joes tomato basil hummus. So good. And 2 nights ago I made avocado pancakes. When I can’t sleep I just get up and do hw or w/o haha.

  9. May 19, 2011 7:34 pm

    Hahahaa this post is great, and I think that lunch looks quite tasty! I enjoying mixing strange flavors together too, or adding different textures to make the dish more interesting. I suppose this is not too out of the ordinary, but I enjoy mixing cottage cheese with different dried fruits, and also at least three different kinds of cereals. One of the cereals has to be something sugary, an old time favorite such as Cinnamon Toast Crunch, Frosted Flakes, Lucky Charms, Frosted Mini Wheats…. 🙂 I’m getting hungry thinking about this!

  10. May 19, 2011 7:41 pm

    When I wake up in the middle of the night and can’t fall back asleep, I usually pick up some dry reading. Sure enough, several pages in, I’ll be nodding off again (this is SO sacrilegious, but usually I’ll read the Bible and that will do the trick!!). I’m usually a great sleeper, but there are those nights when I can’t just fall back asleep and it’s always super frustrating.

    Weird cravings? Hmmmm that’s a toughie! I love pickles and can eat them by the jar-full, which I suppose is kinda gross and weird.

  11. May 19, 2011 7:55 pm

    Google Readering hahah that is totally a verb!

    Yes, that craving is a little weird but I love it 😀

  12. May 19, 2011 8:20 pm

    No weird combinations, sad to say, and I’m pregnant 😦

    I just lay there with my eys slightly open, almost a squint. After a while my eyes get tired and I fall asleep.

  13. May 19, 2011 8:38 pm

    I haven’t had trouble sleeping for a long time! I can’t even remember what I do!

    Your cookies and milk with mango looks SO advertising! Gorgeous photos combined with delicious food, I guess. Speaking of weird food combos, I am toying with the idea of pouring homemade almond milk over fresh corn and eating it (well, of course I would eat it). I think I’ll do that for my morning snack tomorrow….

    VEGirl

  14. May 19, 2011 8:41 pm

    Yuck, I hate nights like that! Usually I just keep my eyes shut and try to fall back asleep, even if it doesn’t work. I figure that at least trying to sleep will help me to be a little more rested than getting up and turning on the lights. 😛

    Not gonna lie, at first that lunch sounded SO bizarre to me. But I’ve heard of dessert hummus before, so why not mix applesauce with hummus? I guess it sort of makes sense! I’m curious though – did it taste good??

    • May 20, 2011 7:15 am

      Haha! It actually tasted great. I love the combination of sweet/salty, and this one definitely hit the spot. I may or may not be considering doing it again 😉

  15. May 19, 2011 8:51 pm

    Hey beautiful! Kat over at Keep n’ The Faith linked a post to your blog with them protein balls and my mouth juuust about dropped when I realized it was none other than the Amanda from .seeeeeek. !!! I recognized your name, then the incredible photography, the unbelievable ability to write and entertain, and then a little link to ye’ ol’ bloggeroo. Glad you’re back, so excited to eat more Mexican Chili Scrambles thanks to you! haha, and I have yet to master your ability of drizzling almond butter atop apple slices: real art. I can do blob real good, that’s for sure.

    Have an amazing Friday t’morrow. aaand for reals? brown rice and applesauce? okay. I might try it. But no promises!

  16. May 19, 2011 8:52 pm

    I am insomniac, so I spend a lot of nights reading.
    And today I had to say I had a weird combo: bagel with apple sauce and cinnamon (note: pic in blog), I usually keep y food pretty normal. Cucumbers and mustard is a love of mine…is that weird?

  17. czechvegan permalink
    May 19, 2011 11:13 pm

    I love that meal with rice+hummus+etc., looks like something I WOULD eat! Maybe I even will 🙂 I love unusual combinations and make them all the time, I am able to put cinnamon in everything sweet or savour, as well as chickpeas, nuts, carrots, parsnips, fig jam etc. 🙂
    I am a total insomniac, yeaterday I slept exactly from 3.15 a.m. to 5.30 a.m., and I woke up and went through the day like nothing happend 🙂

  18. movesnmunchies permalink
    May 20, 2011 2:11 am

    BAHHAHAAH WOAH the applesauce one threw me! thats sucha crazy comboi love it!! AHH Im so sorry about those birds! i HATE gettingwoken up early and its TOUGH to fall back asleep.. I usually get up and eat and get an early workout in maybe.. something to pass the time!

  19. May 20, 2011 5:34 am

    Oh my goodness, your lunch actually sounds amazing!! I’m definitely giving this combo a go! And wow, your snack of ginger snaps, mango chunks and milk…that is everything I love in a bowl and I never thought to put them together!! I love how you give me so many ideas, thankyouuu! 🙂
    My weird combo at the moment is dipping these spelt tomato and herb breadsticks in berry jam! Such a weird mix of savory and sweet but soo good haha!
    I never really have trouble sleeping but if I wake up it’s only ever a) to go to the bathroom or b) because I’m hungry.

    • May 20, 2011 7:22 am

      The combination of sweet/salty is to.die.for! I think that’s totally what I loved about the applesauce and hummus combo too… It just hits all the right spots 😀

  20. May 20, 2011 5:43 am

    My nightly bathroom trip woke me at 3:45 ish this morning too! I hate answering the call of nature, especially in sleep haha Your eats are so nomtastic! One of the weirdest, most delicious combos I crave is tuna and peanut butter, they compliment each other SO WELL! 😛

  21. oatsandspice permalink
    May 20, 2011 6:03 am

    The food looks awesome – I love the combos (def. would have never thought of that)!

  22. May 20, 2011 6:14 am

    OH my gosh, I was waking up every two hours last night! I hate when that happens! Because even if I don’t have to pee, I think “Well, wait. DO I?” And then I just lay there thinking “Yes. No. Yes? Damn it.” Then I get up regardless. It’s a horrible thing hahaha.

  23. May 20, 2011 6:53 am

    I ONLY eat nut butter straight from the jar. [And I eat it with a chopstick…what now?]

    People regularly think I’m a pregnant woman for the crazy things I put together.

    Not pregnant. Just crazy. [But that’s how you discover the unexpectedly wonderful!]

    • May 20, 2011 7:28 am

      COMPLETELY agree 😀 Some of the best things I’ve discovered are ones that I was convinced were going to be a complete disaster. But then again, some of my experiments WERE a complete disaster too lol.

  24. May 20, 2011 7:33 am

    I wake up in the middle of the night ALOT. My puppy likes to wake me up around 3 and try to play. I usually will pet her for 2 minutes until she gets bored and goes back to bed, but then Im left wide awake!! I usually end up getting up at 5 to workout anyway, so I just deal with it.
    That blueberry bake looks INCREDIBLE! Must try that!

  25. May 20, 2011 7:36 am

    i woke up this morning, poured a cup of coffee and ate a heaping spoonful of peanut butter straight from the jar – im pretty sure you’re the only person out there that wouldn’t think that’s weird!
    Taking the day off and making your chocolate protein balls – if i double the batch, can i freeze them?

    • May 20, 2011 9:13 am

      Actually, I think the majority of the blog world would see that as perfectly normal 🙂 Nut butters are pretty much loved by all of us, I think.

      And to be honest, I have no idea if you can freeze them. I would imagine so, but I go through them too quickly to have tried it.

  26. May 20, 2011 7:47 am

    Weirdest combination of flavors I love?… I couldn’t answer that, since I obviously don’t think it’s weird! 😉 (Though to be honest, I do tend to take issue sometimes with mixing things that “shouldn’t” be mixed. Yes, I know this makes no sense.)

    Stare at the ceiling and be angry that I can’t sleep. Very conducive to sleep, right??

    And I am definitely going to have to make that blueberry muffin bake.

    ❤ ❤

  27. Ashley permalink
    May 20, 2011 7:50 am

    Okay so blonde moment (no offense to the blondies out there) but i just realized you were the same girl from the seek blog i used tot read!! yay!! Im so excited you have another blog!! Anyway i have to literally force myself to sleep everynight and wake up or else i think i would just stay up 24 hours straight! haha but i actually like the cookie in the milk idea and ive dont it quite a few times! I actually really want to try the rice and hummus idea, I love both foods so they should taste good together? People always think im weird with the things i can dip in ketchup though!! Grilled cheese and ketchup sandwich? yes please 🙂 good luck with getting some sleep tonight!!

  28. May 20, 2011 8:01 am

    Hahaha I love the random combinations! I feel like if you switch up flavors like that, it’s easier to eat healthy, because you don’t get bored! I don’t know if I really have any super weird combinations. I mean, I like green monster smoothies, and my roommates think that’s CRAZY but everyone in the blog world thinks its normal )

  29. May 20, 2011 8:08 am

    Most of the combinations I like are weird for normal people so I have no idea which is the weirdest one. In addition to this I am living in a country where a lot of people don’t know what oatmeal is and don’t eat sweet breakfast but put sugar in their omelettes. Now tell me this is not weird… (By the way, I put cookies in my milk way too often to think it is weird 🙂 )

    If I wake up at about 2 a.m., I watch TV while eating something sweet and then go back to bed. If I wake up at about 5, going back to sleep is a lost cause. And I have been doing this every single day for more than a month. I am starting to get cranky because of the insufficient sleep hours.

  30. May 20, 2011 9:29 am

    Love the crazy cravings (the description sounds great!) I used to crave (and love) peanut butter and pickle tortillas as a kid (I guess I just really loved saltiness). Most of my cravings however are more textural if that makes sense (like something super crunchy and carby or something creamy with a carb to dunk it in, etc.)
    I also woke up unusually early due to the sun being SO BRIGHT that it seeped through the blinds and made me think I might have to don sunglasses to get some sleep

  31. May 20, 2011 9:30 am

    Ha. Love it. That reminds me of when I was little. Red Lobster gives little kids applesauce instead of salad (or at least they used to), so I’d take my parents’ croutons and put them in my applesauce. I did that for years and loved every bite. I’m not so sure I’d dig it now, but just sayin’

  32. May 20, 2011 9:32 am

    that salad looks great! I love the random cravings! Today I’m craving some banana yogurt for lunch and my leftovers from last night which ends up being a really odd combo since my leftovers have this onion-y taste.
    as for waking up in the middle of the night I usually wake up around 4 and just lay there until I think it’s an acceptable time to get out of bed haha

  33. May 20, 2011 10:36 am

    I have a very unique sleep schedule – I usually can’t sleep till like 2-3 and wake up 7:00 sharp every single morning. IT’s a bit annoying be honest.

    My oddest favorite combo – mango chutney, hummus, cheese sandwich – although I don’t think that’s ALL that strange 😛

    And cookie “cereal” is totally the way to go 🙂

  34. May 20, 2011 12:13 pm

    Seriously? That lunch looks so delicious. I’m a huge fan of nut butters on everything (read: everything). I’ve tried them on kale, tuna, carrots, with soup, in tea, with all sorts of cereal, with cheese, you name it, I’ve tried it. Strange thing, it’s all good too!!
    You have such a healthy relationship with your food now that I find to be a wonderful influence. I truly look forward to your daily posts and am more than delighted you have decided to blog again 🙂

  35. May 20, 2011 12:48 pm

    I hate when I wake up like that I can’t sleep! Usually then I go and grab a snack, some cereal with warm milk. Makes me sleep!
    I love cookie cereal! When I was little, I used waffer cookies (like Manner) broken in chunks, dunked in cold cold milk. Delicious

  36. May 20, 2011 2:08 pm

    The only thing that is weird to me was the raw tofu! haha! Sometimes I throw together quite strange meals, too! But it always satisfies!

  37. May 20, 2011 2:37 pm

    Mmmm your breakfast looks SO good!
    And ginger snaps in milk is genius 😉

    I actually giggled when I read about your lunch XD Brown rice with applesauce actually sounds so good! But is the raw tofu tasty?!
    I agree listening to cravings is the way to go!

    When I can’t go back to sleep I usually grab my phone and start listening to music or surfing the web…I hate it when that happens!

    • May 20, 2011 3:35 pm

      The raw tofu is actually really tasty! Especially with the addition of mustard. But then again, I’m one of those people that actually don’t mind the taste of raw tofu, so it might not be for everyone.

  38. May 20, 2011 3:39 pm

    I seriously use to think all my food cravings were weird until I started blogging lol I don’t feel weird anymore. I think the weirdest food combo I have is cottage cheese mixed with yogurt and cinnamon topped with cocoa almonds and a spoonful (or 2) 😉 of pb 😀 It’s amazing!
    Btw I seriously think of you every time I have almond butter now, which I had like 30 minutes ago haha

  39. May 20, 2011 3:43 pm

    I just made a big old Note To Self to make brown rice with applesauce and cinnamon. Oh mydays, sounds SO good!
    I like tempeh, with hot mashed banana and peanut butter and maple sizzup..I went through a phase of having it ALL the time and it was so good!
    i’m always waking up in the night to pee :/ If I can’t get back to sleep…read normally, or turn on my laptop, read blogs and eat cereal!

  40. May 20, 2011 3:57 pm

    yup, I’m obsessed with you — completely obsessed.

    p.s. brown rice with a-sauce and cinny sounds phenommmmm. how did you whip that puppy up? (if you don’t mind my asking. I feel like all I do is probe you for advice and wisdom. That’s what you get for being so brilliant ;))!

  41. May 20, 2011 6:39 pm

    haha that does NOT sound gross at all…. go with your cravings girl!!!! in the dining hall i would occasionally eat cottage cheese mixed with applesauce. my favorite weird mixture was black beans microwaved with peanut butter, honey, and a ton of soymilk poured over, like a sweet bean soup. now tell me that’s not a weird combo.

Trackbacks

  1. . feel good friday . « . running with spoons .
  2. . WIAW… round three . « . running with spoons .
  3. . stranded . « . running with spoons .
  4. . sweet and savory oats . « . running with spoons .
  5. The Crazy Cave « LIFT weights. SAVOR food. LOVE life.
  6. . feel good friday .
  7. . sweet and savory oats .
  8. . stranded .

Leave a comment