Skip to content

. a day without veggies .

August 28, 2011

Whereas last Sunday was characterized by one of these:

this Sunday was characterized by a lot of these….

Soothing fennel tea.

No, our weather didn’t suddenly take a turn for the worse, but my stomach certainly did. I’ve been nursing a bloated/wonky stomach since last night, and I think I know who to blame.

Now, I’m not usually one to point fingers or accuse but…

… squash, I’m looking at you!

Call it a hunch, but I have this nagging suspicion that my stomach doesn’t take kindly to eating vegetables in mass quantity, especially when it’s several days in succession. I had a feeling that I should probably lay off the squash while I was making dinner last night, but like the alluring song of a siren, I just couldn’t resist. And I hit the rocks. Hard.

I spent the rest of the night looking like I was 6 months pregnant, and while it wasn’t exactly agonizing, it was certainly uncomfortable and upsetting… especially because I completely lost my appetite and couldn’t even fathom the idea of eating my bedtime snack. Sad face.

(bedtime oat bran ended up spending the night in the fridge instead of in my belly)

It also meant that I decided to pass on my beloved cup of Joe this morning because I was too afraid of upsetting my stomach any further…

… which basically meant that I spent the majority of the day walking around like a four month pregnant zombie and nursing a bad headache (helloooooooo low blood pressure).

My day wasn’t anything exciting in terms of eats either, because the only things that sounded appealing were yogurt messes

Blueberry Greek yogurt, Kashi Honey Sunshine, puffed wheaties, trail mix.

… smoothies

 

1 cup frozen mango chunks, ½ cup almond milk, spoonful of coconut butter.

…  rice cakes

(with almond butter and honey)

… oatmeal

Baked apple oats with yogurt and almond butter.

 

… and english muffins

(with blueberry jam)

In a nutshell, lots of carbs, no vegetables – not even a single kernel of corn. And as for my stomach? It feels fantastic. Good as new.

Now, I love my veggies, but they’re not something that me and my stomach always see eye to eye on. I don’t eat nearly as many as I used to, and I no longer try to fool my hunger by loading up on tonnes of carrot sticks, but it seems like even a “normal” amount of veggies can cause me problems sometimes.

I know the general message in the healthy living community is to make sure to eat your veggies everyday, but sometimes I just can’t… not unless I want to spend some time nursing a well-developed food baby and dealing with other less than pleasant symptoms of an unhappy belly… which I don’t.

So, some days have to be veggie-free… and that’s perfectly okay with me.

. – . – . – .

Can anyone relate to my veggie woes?

What foods do you tend to eat when your stomach isn’t feeling too great?

110 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2011 5:41 pm

    No veggie days are just fine 🙂

    • August 30, 2011 12:31 pm

      I always do smoothies and soup when I am not feeling well! Luckily, I don’t seem to have a problem digesting anything, but I know some people who do and it is so frustrating for them! :-/

  2. August 28, 2011 5:42 pm

    I can definitley relate to that feeling. When I eat too many veggies, esp ruffage like spinach and salad, my stomach feels full the entire next day. Pumpkin has that effect on me as well. I always carry chewable gas-ex in my bag haha

  3. August 28, 2011 5:42 pm

    I loooove soup and pureed winter squash when I’m sick! Hot food is so comforting!

  4. August 28, 2011 5:43 pm

    I always crave bananas and toast when I’m having tummy trouble. I’m glad you’re feeling back to normal, stomach issues are no fun!

  5. August 28, 2011 5:44 pm

    I can totally relate, m’love! Though I absolutely love my veggies, they just dont seem to love me sometimes.
    But as I cannot seem togo a day without ’em, i’ve spent my share of time with the ole preggy belly! no fun, no fun!
    Yogurt is always a good go to food, has it’s way of easing an aching tummy.

    I’m glad to hear you’re back to your usual self again though, sweetpea!

    • August 28, 2011 5:45 pm

      Oh and Beano is always a good thing to keep on hand when you’re a fierce veggie muncher, like myself!

  6. August 28, 2011 5:47 pm

    I have been feeling this way to a tee the past few weeks. I’m still in a place though where I’m not comfortable giving up veggies completely for a day, but hopefully soon! I love them, but they shouldn’t be a forced food.
    I eat tons of cereal and oatmeal when my tummy hurts too, nothing like a big ol bowl of carbs to get you back on track!

  7. August 28, 2011 5:47 pm

    Oh yes ! Veggie overload happens to me! Especially with squash! I get a really full and yuck feeling when I eat a lot of that! Drink lots of water, that might help!

    Hope u have a great night love!!! Xoxo ❤

  8. Rosalie permalink
    August 28, 2011 5:47 pm

    I can definitely relate 😦
    Last winter I fell in love with squash–then my body fell out of love with me. No bueno. My last experience with squash left me at a point where I can’t even fathom eating them again (spaghetti squash is fine, but kabocha/buttercup/likely butternut = nono.)
    Aaaand this summer I’ve established that broccoli, cauliflower, and kale in anything other than very well-cooked small amounts make my tummy angry. And I’m thinking the skin of cucumbers is out, too.
    I can, however, still consume giant salads 🙂

    I hope you feel better soon!

  9. August 28, 2011 5:57 pm

    When my tummy is upset I usually stick to toast and nut butters/jelly. Not spicy food or veggies (they upset it even more!) and almond milk yogurt, or in your case greek yogurt, helps. 🙂
    i hope your stomach starts to feel better soon!!

  10. August 28, 2011 6:00 pm

    I feel guilty when I dont have veggies at lunch and dinner or even snacks sometimes..UGH but they DO sometimes upset my stomach in mass amounts so I try to do lil bit at a time..

  11. August 28, 2011 6:03 pm

    Amanda, have you tried taking the skin off the kabocha first before roasting/eating? That lessens the effects and you can still enjoy your kabocha!

  12. August 28, 2011 6:04 pm

    I hate when that happens… walking around like a pregnant lady is definitely no fun, especially because pants become way too tight. I tend to drink a lot of water when I’m having bloating issues, and sometimes taking a nap helps because I can lay down and stretch out my stomach (if that makes any sense).

    When I don’t feel too great, I tend to stick to oats, unsalted crackers/pretzels, and simple cereals.

    – Nicole

  13. August 28, 2011 6:14 pm

    This is interesting. I still struggle a lot with IBS symptoms for almost a year now. Thinking about it, kabocha had been a big part of my diet for all that time. My biggest symptom was yes, bloating = looking pregnant. I kind of feel like experimenting now – thanks for the post!!

    and for the veggies…cereal = veggies in my heart. So no problem here, lol!

  14. August 28, 2011 6:16 pm

    Oh no, stomach aches are never fun especially with bloating. It must have been really bad to not even want your night snack, and choose to skip morning coffee! But that’s good your stomach is feeling a little better. I don’t seem to have any problems with veggies UNLESS its raw onions, raw cauliflower or raw broccoli. I can handle any other raw vegetables and all cooked vegetables though. 🙂

    • August 28, 2011 9:13 pm

      Eep. Raw onions KILL me. And I’m not even going to talk about what raw broccoli does to me 😯 I think I can handle the veggies, just maybe not lots of squash 3 nights in a row 😆

  15. August 28, 2011 6:17 pm

    Ugh! I hate the prego belly feeling! Sorry that it gave you such heck 😦 YOgurt, bananas, ginger tea and rice are alll good sick-tummy foods for me 🙂

  16. August 28, 2011 6:18 pm

    Sorry youwere feeling under the weather but i can totally relate – i love veggies but too many can definate,y cause my tummy to be quite unhappy! But nithing wrong with a day filled with yummy carbs! When i tummy issues – foods like oats, toast, bananas, cereal and smoothies are just perfect!
    Hope you are feeling better tomorrow!

  17. 2tightlywound permalink
    August 28, 2011 6:23 pm

    I can definitely relate to the veggie food baby. And the bloating makes me want to restrict more… it’s quite a vicious cycle.

    Glad you’re feeling better though!

  18. August 28, 2011 6:26 pm

    I can definitely relate. Some days I eat too much broccoli for my own good 😦 The past few days I’ve been having tons of sweet potatoes and green beans and I’m just waiting for the bloating to start! It’s hard when I’m craving it yet I know it’s going to make me bloated!

    When I’m feeling icky I like to stick to soup and toast with butter 🙂

    • August 28, 2011 9:16 pm

      Gah! I know! I was craving it so badly and all the while that I was prepping it I was thinking “This isn’t a good idea… I’m going to regret it later” but I couldn’t help it! And the worst part of it is that I never seem to learn lol.

  19. August 28, 2011 6:45 pm

    I can totally relate – only i’m not 100% sure which veggies trigger it for me. I know I have to go easy on the plant proteins, especially beans and soy, which is really hard because I love them so much! More than animal proteins, but I guess that’s one signal my body could be sending that I still need my lean meats now and then. My go-to stomach soother is peppermint tea. And it tastes fantastic just as-is.

  20. August 28, 2011 6:47 pm

    Giiirrrlll I know EXACTLY how that feels. Quite honestly I look at my eats and I hardly ever eat veggies on their own. In tabouleh and such, sure. I love veggies! But I never seem to buy ’em cause they rot so fast! I bought some spinach and mixed veggies today. My goal is to start eating a little salad every day. Or something. Just the idea of salad… meh. I have to be in the mood for one. They don’t really make me feel FANTASTIC or anything. I much prefer my oats, or toast, or something… carb-y. Though I know I should try eating more ’cause my intake of veg-ness has been pretty scarce, especially since moving out. I’m all about the fruit, yo.

    ANYHOW.

    I can relate. That is EXACTLY how I felt after eating dairy (after the stomach ache subsided, anyhow. Boo!). My stomach would bloat up like a balloon and I COMPLETELY lost my appetite, which totally threw off my ENTIRE sytem. Ugh.

    Isn’t the feeling of relief so amazing once the bloating has gone? When I cut it out for a week, oh my goossshhhh did I realize what I’d been missing! It’s one of those things like.. you don’t appreciate it ’til it’s gone 😉

    When my stomach’s upset I have trouble eating ANYTHING if we’re being completely honest. But I do make myself eat, so I’ll usually go for carb-y things as well. Not sure why, but carbs seem to agree with me best. Love them. If I’m feeling too lazy and icky to wait for oatmeal, I’ll make some toast with nut butter or whatever other agreeable topping I can think of. And I eat a lot of nut butter, since I know I need to keep it dense and get in protein in a nom-able way. Tofu just… ugh. If I eat more than a serving it gives me a stomach ache. Which sucks. So I steer clear of that any time I’m feeling iffy.

    And giiirrrrrlll you need to give me some smoothie ideas! I have this amazing blender / processor my mom bought for my apartment, and I need to break’er in! Your smoothies always look so divine. But boooo I realized today that I forgot my gum in my house freezer. Booooooooo thin smoothies. I’ll have to bring my gum back on the bus after my birthday weekend at home. Win.

    ❤ ❤ ❤ ❤

    • August 28, 2011 9:19 pm

      Next time we chat, we’ll talk smoothies 😀 But I can’t promise any recipes with gums because I avoid them like the plague. After an incident that almost landed me in the hospital… yeah… no more.

  21. August 28, 2011 6:50 pm

    I hate that people feel guilty when they go a day without vegetables. Maybe hate is the wrong word. I feel sorry for them, is more like it. I’m glad you’re able to respect your stomach and eat what you think your body can handle. Hey, I haven’t had a single vegetable all day long and I feel juuuust fine. I actually haven’t had any vegetables since yesterday’s lunch. No worries in my mind. This is going somewhat off-topic now, but it’s a shame what eating disorders can do to people. I read a couple comments from girls that said they would feel guilty if they went veggie-less. Vegetables don’t have to make huge appearances at EVERY lunch and dinner. I wish people would stop making their lives so hard. Anyway, I’m glad your stomach feels better. You’ve been eating all the right foods for tummy troubles! Toast is usually my go-to source of calories when I can’t stomach anything else. Or rice!

  22. August 28, 2011 6:53 pm

    Awww, I’m sorry about your tummy troubles! I actually tend to get that way if I don’t eat enough veggies. If I’m not getting as many veggies as I should be I get bloated and constipated (sorry, tmi) and feel exactly how you described. Except, when I feel like that the last thing I want to eat is veggies haha. I want more bland and carby foods- bread, cereal, oatmeal, etc.

  23. Diana permalink
    August 28, 2011 6:53 pm

    YES! Whenever I have a horrible stomach, I know it’s veggies. I adore my broccoli, but sometimes I have a tendency to OD on it, and I really feel it the next day… And same as for you, carbs are the only thing that can soothe it. Oatmeal, muffins, that sort of thing. Just the right medicine!

  24. cecilia permalink
    August 28, 2011 6:57 pm

    So proud of you Amanda, well done for treating your body right! As for the bloating issue, have you tried beano (or anything similar to that) I heard that it helps….

    Also, if vegetables were high in calories – I doubt we would see THAT MUCH of it. haha

    • August 28, 2011 9:26 pm

      I’ve thought about that before too, and I think you’re absolutely right… I think one of the reasons people eat so many veggies is because they’re high bulk, and low calorie.

  25. August 28, 2011 7:09 pm

    I’m glad to hear you’re feeling better! Bloating and stomach troubles are never fun 😦
    I definitely have veggie free days every once in a while. Too many veggies and too much fiber makes me one uncomfortable girl. Balance is really the key to a happy healthy me 🙂

    When my stomach feels all wonky I usually eat lots of carbs too. I try to eat cleaner foods and foods that are more plain. And I typically stay away from dairy since it sometimes makes me feel odd. Hot oats and tea are my go to 🙂

  26. marian0123 permalink
    August 28, 2011 7:11 pm

    I’ve been reading your blog for a while and I love it, but I’ve been too shy to comment. Well that’s over, so hi Amanda! I actually had a kabocha squash the same night you did… it was a funny coincidence when I opened my Google reader the next morning. I think Yogi Ginger tea solves everything! I’m sorry you aren’t feeling well!

    • August 28, 2011 9:32 pm

      Hi girl! 😀 Thanks for taking the time to say hello! Ginger tea definitely helps sooth my stomach. I had some this morning instead of my regular coffee.

  27. August 28, 2011 7:14 pm

    Oh boy can I relate. Some days I GORGE on veggies like a madwoman, and then others I just want yogurt or fruit and absolutely nothing to do with vegetables. Sorry to hear about your tummy woes though, that’s no fun at all! When I’m feelin subpar, I love love love having smoothies up the wazoo 😀

  28. August 28, 2011 7:20 pm

    I’m with you on eating lots of carbs — mostly cereal and PBJ toast for me — if my stomach is not feeling well. Plus lots of water and fruit.

    I usually only eat 1 veggie-full meal per day because too many veggies do cause me tummy distress.

  29. August 28, 2011 7:21 pm

    I definitely had the squash tummy today. I roasted one up early this afternoon and went to town on it… apparently too much. My stomach was not happy with me after that. Lately I feel like my stomach is bothering me more often than it’s NOT bothering me. It’s driving me nuts. Food allergies? Who knows. I’m pretty sure excess veggies do play a role in the tummy woes occasionally, though I haven’t been eating them nearly in as mass quantities as I used to. That darn squash, though, it’s just so irresistible. I too turn to tea to try to lessen the discomfort sometimes, but often if my stomach is too uncomfortable even the idea of tea seems pretty horrible. Dislike.

    • August 28, 2011 9:35 pm

      Squashes tend to affect me the worst too. I notice my stomach starts acting up as soon as I start eating too much pumpkin, butternut, or kabocha. Sweet potatoes can do me in as well. Geez… maybe it’s anything orange 😯

  30. August 28, 2011 7:26 pm

    Yep, I can relate to your woes… except I don’t think it’s necessarily caused by veggies. Honestly, I don’t really WANT to know what the cause is, because I don’t want to have to eliminate anything! Hmph.

    ❤ ❤

  31. August 28, 2011 7:31 pm

    My stomach doesn’t always love veggies either 😦 I ate a can of beans the other night (bizarre I know– but I didn’t feel like going shopping, haha) and for 2 days after, my belly felt like I was giving birth to triplets. Ouchhhh

  32. Brittany @ Itty Bits of Balance permalink
    August 28, 2011 7:42 pm

    Oof- I definitely relate to this nagging side effect of too many veggies! I am the official (yes, official) vegetable queen and if I go too many days in a row of salad beasts and roasted Brussels sprouts– my tummy begins to eat itself alive.

    Not to mention my pregnant tummy & intestines get angry too (hey! you asked!)

  33. August 28, 2011 8:01 pm

    Squash season! Hold me back. 😉 I cannot wait for this!

    Whitney

  34. August 28, 2011 8:07 pm

    I definitely cannot say that I eat too many vegetables (fruit OD sounds more appealing to me 🙂 ) but some of them cause discomfort to my stomach too. I have trained it to resist all kinds of beans in massive quantities but if I eat a salad for lunch without any bread I bloat like a balloon. And the other day I cooked a ridiculous meal consisting mainly of soy sprouts and onions which had a really weird effect on my digestive system. Onions are most likely to be innocent but I will think twice next time I want to put half a bag of soy sprouts in a single meal. Lesson learned.

    When I have stomach problems, I usually turn to buttered toast with camomile tea, potato soup (even better if it is cream soup), plain biscuits and the like. But it depends on the kind of problem I have. In some cases a warm bowl of oatmeal can do miracles.

  35. August 28, 2011 8:22 pm

    yeah….well, not ALL veggies. I eat a lot of salad, and that usually sits with me fine. And fruit, well, I could eat nothing but fruit all day long. But things like squash and eggplant definitely get to me! also broccoli and cauliflour, and, sadly, honeydew and canteloupe…those two are just sadly irresistable. And when I have the tummy woes, its lots of fruit and toast for me!

  36. August 28, 2011 8:24 pm

    I completely agree! I don’t think I ever eat a ton of veggies, but they fill me up way too fast and I end up not being able to eat things with more substance. I just try to get in veggies once or twice a day and then I’m good to go!

    I have a hard time eating when my stomach feels off, but I had this feeling the other day and I ended up eating mostly just fruit and cereal because I didn’t think I could stomach anything else.

  37. August 28, 2011 8:31 pm

    I feel your veggie woes! Especially raw veggies. I actually don’t eat salads all that often because I’m all afraid they’ll make me gassy/bloated. Too much of anything- veggie, fruits, twinkies, ANYTHING. It’s not good 🙂

    I’m glad you’re feeling better though! English muffins always make everything better ❤

  38. Maxwell@FreedomRunning permalink
    August 28, 2011 8:34 pm

    No veggies = a happy day! I like this! Eating too many veggies in a day can lead to way too much fiber so that you feel more full than you are, you get bloated, and you don’t eat other things your body needs! You don’t need to listen to what every one says about 5 servings of veggies a day! Who eats that many veggies? A rare few. I say you did the best thing you could have done. Listened to your body 🙂

  39. Edwina permalink
    August 28, 2011 8:44 pm

    Ahh this totally happens to me! I actually don’t really eat or like to eat salads all that often- they make me bloated and uncomfortable but I also get a hungry/empty feeling about an hour later- feeling bloated while hungry is the worst! I tend to get my veggies instead as a side to a meal or my favorite lunch is a toasted wrap- I still put spinach, capsicum and sometimes tabouli in but just smaller amounts along with other stuff. Seems to be the best lunch for me as fills me up but doesn’t leave me uncomfortable.
    I seriously thought this only happened to me! Hope u feel better soon

  40. August 28, 2011 9:02 pm

    Ugh, I have the same problem. Sometimes I feel physically sick just thinking about eating certain things. At the doctor’s I found out I was suffering from IBS, and looked up this thing called FODMAP about foods that irritate IBS and foods that don’t. It was very helpful.

  41. August 28, 2011 9:33 pm

    I love my veggies and tend to overdue it some days, simply cause I can’t get enough or I’m trying to fill my stomach with low calorie foods(not good!). I’ve done this as well with fruit.
    Though taking an antacid and drinking tea always soothes my bloated belly.
    Your eats sound exciting too me!
    ps, do you use crofters jam by chance? Its the beeeeeeest.

  42. Jenn permalink
    August 28, 2011 10:10 pm

    Random story.. but one time (in ED days) I ate a bag of frozen carrots.. that’s ONE pound. I was sooo full. It was to stuff myself so I wouldn’t be hungry, but I feel like that just makes it even worse. Love veggies, but not too many!!

  43. August 28, 2011 10:19 pm

    well I’m so glad you’re feeling better! I actually struggle with the same thing. Veggies don’t agree with my stomach sometimes.

  44. August 28, 2011 10:43 pm

    I’m sorry your tummies not doing well- that’s no fun. Sometimes I eat my weight in fiber and don’t feel so well down the road. Is it weird that I often eat too much fiber? *Most americans have problems with not enough!*
    Take it easy!

  45. August 28, 2011 10:53 pm

    although i can’t say i experience the same with veggie-overload, i can say bananas = a tummy lifesaver 😀 also, yogurt (probiotics = a girl’s best friend) and peppermint or ginger tea! yummy.

  46. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    August 28, 2011 11:32 pm

    I am glad you are feeiling ok again! I can certainly relate to your veggie-situation. Even though I eat tons of veggies every day, I often feel like a nine-months pregnant lady and that´s nothing too enjoyable… But I can´t help it, I love my veggie salads and I need to eat my daily supply of tomatoes and peppers. I wish my stomach was as fond of veggies as I am. I also sometimes suspect fruit to induce similar feelings in ym stomach, but I just do not listen to it in this case. I know I should, but what would my life be without fruit and veggies? 🙂

  47. fabulousemily permalink
    August 28, 2011 11:55 pm

    95% of the time, I eat huge amounts of vegetable volume. I like it. I feel really ful when I’m done, but the slight discomfort lasts only a couple minutes and then I feel really comfortable until the next meal.

    5% of the time, especially when I’m hungover, I cannot fathom the thoughts of veggies or fruit. Then I crave (nothing); okay, maybe some light, sweet grains.

  48. Flower permalink
    August 29, 2011 12:34 am

    My stomach can’t stomach many veggies and for some reason cooked oatmeal (with raw, no problem).

    I tend to drink peppermint tea, it really helps reducing the bloating, and fennel tea. 🙂

  49. August 29, 2011 12:46 am

    I CAN! i havent had veggies in two day sbecuz we have no groceries since we got back! BUT i still love them!! IM CRAVING THEM

  50. August 29, 2011 12:48 am

    I can totally relate to your veggie situation. If I eat to many my belly bloats up too. Not all if the time though, but it sure gets uncomfortable. I just try and experiment with portion sizes and see what works for my body best.

  51. August 29, 2011 1:20 am

    I can definitely relate- too many veggies ends up me with carrying a fibre baby- not attractive or fun at all! It happens specifically after too many starchy veg like carrots and squash, which are obviously my faves! Good call with not eating any yesterday!

    Quick question, how do you make your oat bran snack? I am loving it for breakfast and wanna try it as a bed time snack! Thanks in advance 🙂

    • August 29, 2011 8:05 am

      I just cook up a serving of oat bran (usually while making dinner, to save time), add a few spoonfuls of applesauce when it’s done, and then let it sit in the fridge. When I’m ready to eat it, I just transfer to a bowl, plop some yogurt on the side, sprinkle with flaxmeal and cinnamon, and then finish it off with some maple syrup 🙂

  52. August 29, 2011 1:37 am

    Ive been bloated like that for weeks, I would have never guessed it was the veggies!! I always blame mine on dairy?? Ill have to give your all carb diet a try for a day and see what happens. Usually I load up on hot tea to soothe my tummy, glad to hear you are feeling better though 🙂

  53. buttonss - Cherie permalink
    August 29, 2011 1:44 am

    Oh wow, I’ve never heard of anyone having that kind of reaction to veggies before!
    My main reactions come with raw red onion, which I absoloutely love, but when I do eat it I can get pretty bloated and my stomach gets all gurgly.
    I take the risk sometimes… well alot of the times ( i love it too much ). Usually if its really bad I just like to sip on tea and will eat simple things like oatmeal for dinner.

  54. August 29, 2011 1:48 am

    Hey! This is a great post! I think so many of your readers will have a lightbulb appear over their heads now, especially if they’ve “bloggified” their diet of recent. I find that I can eat veggies by the bucketload without bloating but I’ve been veggie since the age of 6 (i’m 28 now) so I guess my system is used to them by now! However, I have a very funny story about one of my friends, who came running over to me in the gym one night shouting, “It’s all your fault!!!” I inspired her to become a vegetarian and she took to it with gusto, only to develop the symptoms you mentioned. She works as a professional and ended up farting on an unsuspecting member of the public one day!!!! She was so mortified that she ran out of the room – CRINGE!!!!!!!!!!! So yeah……veggie free days are great!!

  55. August 29, 2011 2:39 am

    Oh, yes I suffer the same thing but with FRUIT! Not only do I get bloaty but I get many other unpleasant symptoms too which really REALLY sucks because I love my fruit but my body just doesn’t want it.

    Basically what soothes it for me is plenty of yoghurt because of the probiotics that helps aid digestion. No beans, no more fruit and I can’t even THINK about eating any veggies when my belly isn’t happy. White rice tends to go down a treat, though. Especially when flavoured with something like chilli sauce.

    We are always told to eat our veggies but there IS such thing as moderation even when it comes to vegetables and fruits. No matter how much we love a certain food, there is only so much of one thing that we can have at a time!

    Hope you feel better, love 🙂

    xxx

  56. kabochafashionista permalink
    August 29, 2011 2:47 am

    Awww nooo not you being bloated as well!! I’m so sorry sweetie!! It’s good that you know what caused and it have eaten things to make yourself feel better though! ❤ Bodies are such strange things with how they react to certain foods grrr!!
    As for me, I think my body is actually used to eating hoards and hoards of veggies (particularly squash hehe :P) and it doesn't make it bloat at all. Although what I DO agree with is what you say about people solving their hunger with tonnes of veggies and no 'real' foods because you are simply depriving your body of vital nutrients like protein, fats, grains etc by doing that and it makes me so frustrated when I see people doing that because in the end, they are only fooling themselves by thinking that they are being all 'healthy' but it definitely not healthy in the long term.
    Well with my stomach not being great at the moment, I've been eating a lot of cereal..which I do anyway hehe…mostly because it's a comfort food to me that I just love but maybe it's not the best for my stomach 😦 I've been eating a lot of prunes though which is supposed to help! 🙂

  57. August 29, 2011 3:44 am

    Haha I can relate!! Squash is DEFINITELY a culprit, and if I eat too much broccoli, I get a serious food baby too! 😛

    When my stomach is dodgy, I basically LIVE off oatmeal and toast, which is cool with me 😉

  58. August 29, 2011 4:16 am

    Ahh yes, the pregers belly look!
    i drink a lot of peppermint tea and take capsules to help aid digestion.

    Dairy and wheat doesn’t go down well with me but i really feel the peppermint helps and it tastes so refreshing 🙂
    S.X

  59. August 29, 2011 4:17 am

    p.s
    your ice cream pictures make me DROOL!
    SO good! HA!
    S.X

  60. August 29, 2011 4:36 am

    I’m sorry you weren’t feeling the best yesterday! I can relate to the feeling. Not, like, sick…but just plain uncomfortable and bloaty? Ugh :[ That’s how I get when I overdo it on the gluten and sometimes veggies. I used to pack meals full of veggies whereas now I’m a little more tame 😛 I don’t eat heads of broccoli at a time anymore, and I used to looove eating squash, sweet potatoes, etc but it got to be that I’d feel uncomfortably full even though I hadn’t really eaten enough to call it a dinner!

  61. August 29, 2011 4:39 am

    I’m very lucky in that I seem to be able to consume a crazy amount of veggies and experience no problems at all. I do feel your pain though, its awful when you get bloated up like that, what tends to do that for me is eating to fast or swallowing air when I’m eating and drinking 😦 The only thing that really gets me now is white pasta, bread and rice, it just doesn’t agree with me at all! Hope you feel better soon xxx

  62. August 29, 2011 5:58 am

    Eating too many veggies in one sitting always makes me feel bloated too. It makes me think I’m full, but then about 2 hours later I’m totally ravenous since veggies don’t have much staying power. 😛

  63. August 29, 2011 7:07 am

    My stomach was hating me yesterday so I basically ate saltines all day because everything else upset it more…and unfortunately yesterday was my long run day so I had to restore those calories lost, too. Just imagine the amount of saltines!

    • August 29, 2011 10:45 am

      Haha I don’t think I can imagine eating that many saltines. Did you try to do the saltine cracker challenge? Where you have to eat 6 in under a minute without drinking anything? 😀

  64. August 29, 2011 7:09 am

    Sorry about your tummy trouble. I’ve had a fair share of those experiences myself, so I can certainly relate.

    I have to be very careful about eating too many veggies or I get the same symptoms. I can’t eat huge salad beasts like some other health food bloggers without some serious consequences. And I’m learning to be ok with that. Obviously my body just doesn’t need vegetables in that quantitie, so I’ll try and give it what it actually needs instead.

    My staple tummy problem foods are : oats, banana’s, cooked apples, rice, eggs (always scarmbled), yogurt and crackers. But I tend to go with what I’m craving at the time (usually one of a few of the above) and I get along fine 🙂

  65. August 29, 2011 7:09 am

    I sometimes get bloated from veggies it depends what I have paired them with, I suffer with IBS so some foods cause me awful stomach cramps, fruit has caused this more so which sucks as I love it:( .

  66. August 29, 2011 7:15 am

    Sorry you dont feel well girl!! Ive actually had a similar reaction. I can eat fruit by the masses, but never just veggies. I hope you are back to your old and amazing self today :):)

  67. August 29, 2011 8:32 am

    Some days, I pack in the veggies and some days, I don’t touch a single one! It all balances out in the end- and what ultimately matters is what your body wants and how it responds! Yay to listening to your body!

    • August 29, 2011 10:48 am

      I completely agree. I try to not obsess over making sure to get the “perfect” balance in everyday. I figure it all works itself out in the end anyways 😀

  68. August 29, 2011 8:57 am

    Oh no! So glad you are feeling better now though 🙂

    I can totally relate to stomach stress when it comes to veggies! I used to eat a ton of veggies, because I thought it was “healthy” and I was messed up all the time! Eased off them and that was that!

  69. August 29, 2011 9:43 am

    One time I ate a TON of this light squash gratin my mom made..no butter or tons of cheese, just mainly squash. And my stomach was in pain for a whole day too. I think when it comes to squash and certain vegetables, there is such thing as too much. Unfortunately. 😦 Hope you’re feeling better today!

  70. lapiattini permalink
    August 29, 2011 9:52 am

    My answer to this question is so random but when my stomach is bothering me I like to eat muffins! I don’t know what it is, but it always helps 🙂
    Hope you’re feeling better!

  71. August 29, 2011 9:55 am

    😦 sorry to hear you haven’t been feeling 100%. I hope you are right as rain asap.

    I have been increasingly getting bloated after lots of dairy (mostly milk) and bread. I also get bloated and completely lose my appetite even into the next morning – it’s annoying. Thankfully it’s not all the time but it’s still annoying. I’ve not had problems with veggies yet though.

  72. August 29, 2011 9:58 am

    mashed bananas always seem to make my tummy smile. and eggs. mashed bananas with eggs.

  73. Jess permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:17 am

    ohhh i totally know how you feel on this one, i get the same problem alot, because i love vegetables i tend to go a little over board on mass quantities 😛

    I hope its back to normal in no time.
    Sorry i havent commented or been around much, I do hope your ok.
    Love Jess xx

  74. August 29, 2011 10:28 am

    I’m the same way. If I eat too many veggies in one day, my stomach is not happy. Sounds like your body knows how to fix things on its own. When I’m not feeling well I hop aboard the carb train. Oh wait, I do that anyways 🙂

  75. August 29, 2011 10:42 am

    I’ve definitely have those days. Sometimes I just need to eat cereal and peanut butter all day because they don’t make me feel nasty. I eat a lot of yogurt and fruit too because they always seems to keep my stomach calm. I used to be insane about getting in my veggies but I honestly get so many on the days that I’m feeling good that I know I’ve more than made up for it. Even if I didn’t, I’d still be fine with it because I feel like my body is trying to send me a message and I need to respond!

  76. Lilly permalink
    August 29, 2011 10:56 am

    I love my veggies too, and can down a whole kabocha at a time they are so good 🙂 But what I found is that I can’t just eat veggies, or even a lot of fruit, without something else. Like if I were to have a fruit salad as a snack or something I need to eat some nuts or something else with it, and if I were to have a salad for dinner I need to have some bread or grains or something else too. I think people tend to go overboard with veggies since they are such a bulk food, and tasty no doubt, but I def think you can have too much! I love melon but I get melon belly if I eat a whole one, but they are so tempting and delish.

  77. August 29, 2011 11:22 am

    i had the exact same feeling yesterday, and i suspect it’s from the chocolate frosted mini-wheats i had for breakfast since the power was out… i guess my tummy doesn’t do so well with processed foods anymore. and also, while i love beans, broccoli, pineapples, blueberries, and melon, i kinda have to keep them on the DL in my diet 😦 when i have stomach troubles i head straight for the peppermint tea and plain yogurt

  78. August 29, 2011 12:51 pm

    Too much of a good thing can be…very uncomfortable.
    My Friday and Saturday were — I thought I was gonna get stretch marks.

    Still trying to figure out what is what and I actually think it may be soy.

    I heard that squash skin can be killer on some people…maybe next time peel it if you ate the skin.

  79. August 29, 2011 1:55 pm

    I experience that every night after I eat veggies. I eat too many and I walk around like a pregnant woman.

  80. August 29, 2011 2:21 pm

    I actually used to get incredibly stressed out when I didn’t eat enough veggies in a day because I figured too much of other types of food would make me fat.
    So I would stuff myself silly with veggies and be a rather bloated, uncomfortable mess at the end of the day… I am so glad I am much better about this now

  81. August 29, 2011 2:32 pm

    Oh boy do I relate- too much veggies makes me feel ughhh…especially if those veggies are broc, cauliflower, kale, or any of those cruciferous types. The best feel better foods for me are yoghurt and bread n butta 🙂

  82. August 29, 2011 3:22 pm

    Hm… can’t imagine a day without veggies – I wouldn’t know what to eat :p
    veggies and fruits, they are like drugs, a meal without either one feels incomplete.

    But from time to time I experience some bloating if I eat a lot of raw or just slightly steamed vegetables. Probably you feel better if you cook them just a bit longer and just eat a slightly smaller amount 😉 so that you can still enjoy those other days which are not okay veggie free.

  83. Sarah permalink
    August 29, 2011 3:41 pm

    I brought this up with my mom and she told me that one day she ate nearly an entire batch of roasted brussel sprouts (she loves them) and she felt TERRIBLE after. I think you can definitely have too much of a good thing and fiber is definitely one of them!

  84. August 29, 2011 5:31 pm

    I have to eat veggies every day!

    I’ve actually really adjusted and they don’t really bother my stomach 🙂

  85. jenandberries permalink
    August 29, 2011 5:45 pm

    I think healthy living is giving your body the nourishment that it ASKS for, and if it is not beng asked to be nourished with veg then who cares. You are awesome for listening to your body and giving it what it wants. I was bought up on veggies every meal so think I have adjusted totally but if I’m sick of them, oatmeal is a perfectly deliscious alternative. Totally with you on the herbal teas – they know how to take care of your belleh ;P
    Hope you’re feeling a little less preggers now! Take care

  86. August 29, 2011 6:00 pm

    oh girl, I was prego with twin broccoli babies the other night. It was ridiculous! My nutritionist actually recommends I eat prunes to combat the bloat. Plus, they taste like candy. Win!

  87. August 29, 2011 6:12 pm

    Oh I can definitely relate! Too many veggies give me tummy aches too. I think broccoli are the worst for me and greens are the least harmful ones 😀 I haven’t had any problems with squash yet, but that could be because I try to make mine last as long as possible haha. A few weeks ago my stomach was really bad though. I drank lots of mint tea, had toast, English muffins, and soy yogurt. Blueberry Greek yogurt looks so pretty :] Yogurt messes are the best!

  88. August 29, 2011 8:46 pm

    Sorry to hear about your tummy ache! I can totally relate. I’ve noticed especially that certain veggies like broccoli and brussel sprouts twist my stomach into a major knot. No fun 😦

    I drink Yogi ginger tea when I get stomach issues and it helps most of the time!

  89. August 30, 2011 3:46 am

    Feel better!!! So sad that squash made your stomach upset 😦

  90. August 30, 2011 7:42 am

    Everything looks so delicious. Sorry your stomach gets upset though :[

    I usually just drink lots of hot tea, water and sparkling water. The carbonated water reminds me of how when I was little my mom would give me Sprite whenever I had a tummy ache.

  91. August 30, 2011 8:23 am

    Hard boiled eggs and a bagel tends to be my go-to meal when my stomach is off. I’ve definitely gone days with no veggies…something about it just feels strange – but when my stomach hurts, I usually find all I want is bready/carby stuff.

  92. August 30, 2011 12:52 pm

    Oh my.
    I’m tempted to boycott your blog, since you’ve blackened the kabocha name!! :p
    I have a stomach of steel, and can stomach a LOT of veggies (which is awesome, cos I love them), but I do have some evenings where I look like I’ll give birth any second. Not nice! I always vow on those days that I’ll never eat so much in one sitting again…then lo and behold, next dinnertime, I have a ton of veg :p

    If my tummy is ill, I just eat whatever I can – normally something bland and dry, like cereal. Just what I crave 🙂
    Hope you’re feeling better!

  93. August 30, 2011 1:51 pm

    Uhhh I know what you’re talking about. If I eat more than 1/2 of cooked veggies I end up doubled over in pain. I’ve practically had to cut onions (which I could eat nothing but all day) out completely. It’s infuriating. I love veggies but I can’t seen to eat them without horrible pain. It’s just not worth it right now. I have to use them as a garnish like herbs it seems. I hope that you (and I) can figure out a way to eat them pain free. My husband is similar and taking peppermint pills has helped him greatly, so I may try that as soon as I can run to whole foods to buy some. Maybe that might help you as well.

  94. August 30, 2011 2:34 pm

    Taking a day off from veggies is always a good idea! I usually go for carbs when my stomach just isn’t agreeing with them…and I’m OK with that!

Leave a Reply

