Skip to content

. an update, of sorts .

August 14, 2011

You’ll have to forgive me, but it’s been a while since I’ve done this, and there’s something I just need to get off my chest before I can go on…

EEEEeeeEEEeeEE! Only 32 more days until I move 😀

Ahhh. Much better. I still remember the number being somewhere around 50 when I first put in my offer, and it’s kind of crazy to stop and think about where the past 18 days have gone. Time is flying, but I’m not complaining – the faster it goes, the sooner I get to move 😀

Although, I suppose I should really start putting more effort into packing… I’m the kind of person that tends to put everything off until the last minute (especially when it’s something I really don’t like to do… like packing) because I feel like I have all the time in the world. And then “all the time in the world” suddenly becomes “that last minute” and… well… let’s just say I turn into a stressed-out head case.

And the worst part of it is that, every time it happens, I tell myself that next time will be different; I’ll start early, get things done gradually, finish with lots of time (and my sanity) left over. Yeahhhh.

In my dreams maybe…

So what have I been doing instead of what I should be doing?

Checking out my new ‘hood…

Home sweet home…

 

. – . – . – .

Pimpin’ [rice cakes] like it’s my job…

Almond butter, honey, and one happy tummy.

. – . – . – .

Going out to see[k] some help…

 

I enjoyed the movie, but the book was better. And does anyone else feel like a goofball when they “pose” for pictures? No? Just me, then?

. – . – . – .

Having my cake and eating it too…

Mom got bit by the baking bug this weekend, and when she asked me to be her taste-tester, I was more than happy to oblige. I have no idea what was in this besides vanilla, cocoa, and cherries, but daaaaaaaang was it good. Mom needs to bake more often…

. – . – . – .

Burning my tongue…

I can’t help it! I crave hot tea/coffee even in the middle of summer, and impatience gets the best of me. This is my favorite tea in my favorite mug. I take extra special care of this mug (especially after this and this), because it has tonnes of sentimental value and I’d be devastated if it broke.

. – . – . – .

Healing said burnt tongue…

Ice cream heals everything, from burnt tongues to broken hearts. True story.

. – . – . – .

Putting my “GRRRR” face on…

 

I just started Stage 3 in NROLFW, and while I’m still following the program [more-or-less], I’ve been deviating/modifying it a bit because I find that it focuses WAY too much on legs, and not enough on other muscle groups. Still, I’ve been seeing some good progress, and I might do a “lifting update” post if anyone is interested…

. – . – . – .

Devouring good books…

Remember the stack of books I bought a little less than a month ago? I only have one left 😦 I finished The Shadow of the Wind today (loved it), and only have One Good Dog left. I’ll have to refrain from buying more before I move, because that just means more packing…

. – . – . – .

… and good food…

I’ve always been a “meat and potatoes” kind of  girl, and today’s dinner included an Amy’s Texas burger topped with ketchup, and a sweet potato topped with coconut butter and cinnamon. Oh, and some green beans just for kicks. I’m trying to use up a lot of the food in my pantry/freezer before I move, and this meal was definitely evidence of that. Frozen green beens = heebie jeebies.

Strawberry Greek yogurt (my favorite flavor) and a coconut banana chocolate chip cookie (my favorite way to use coconut flour).

Salad beast with my favorite dressing, Greek yogurt mess with a banana, Kashi Honey Sunshine, puffed wheat, Puffins, and trail mix. My stomach has been kind of “off” lately, and I’ve been eating smaller meals more often, so this was only half of lunch. The other half came later…

Softboiled egg and baked lentil chips. I ran out of my favorite cucumber-dill flavor 😦 Oh the joys of having to use up what you’ve got…

Someone put out a bowl of cherries this morning. The bowl is still there, but the cherries are gone. I wonder what happened to them…

My absolute favorite night time snack – it makes me sleep like a baby. Oat bran and Greek yogurt, topped with flaxmeal, cinnamon, and maple syrup.

. – . – . – .

Do you put things off until the last minute? Or do you get them done early?

What was the last movie you saw? Or book you read? Or meal you ate?

92 Comments leave one →
  1. August 14, 2011 5:43 pm

    You’re not a goofball! Love the photo 🙂

    Suave Slav and I saw the new Planet of the Apes movie the other night – it was REALLY good! Go see it.

  2. August 14, 2011 5:44 pm

    Oh my gosh do I put things off! I think the same way about things. ‘Ohh, I have so much time! Not to worry!’… and then it’d the night before and I have more than I can manage! Eeep.

    I do feel like a goofball when I pose for pictures! But that’s alright, ’cause I AM a goofball! Through and through 😉 Speaking of that movie- I’m dying to see it! I haven’t read the book but it looks phenomenal.

    The last movie- one of the Harry Potter’s! But not in theater. Book- Harry Potter! I’m seeing a trend here…. 😉

  3. August 14, 2011 5:45 pm

    EEEEeeeEEEeeEE!
    I’m with you.
    The best thing about moving is that you can get all “zen” and toss stuff. Stuff you don’t use, don’t need, doesn’t fit with the new you….stuff you had when you were with HIM.
    The zen state of mind is fleeting — gotta strike when the iron is hot.
    That is why you should start packing now in small increments.

    I procrastinate about procrastinating.
    That’s how bad I am.

    • August 14, 2011 8:42 pm

      Ahh yeah. I hate the process and the mess of packing, but it’s definitely a great feeling to start tossing old stuff and feel like you have a fresh start. Can.not.wait.

  4. August 14, 2011 5:47 pm

    I haven’t read The Help, but I’m seeing it this week with a friend (to my chagrin as I was really hoping to read it first).
    I try not to put stuff off to the last minute, or I’ll do a little bit in advance, but who am I kidding, everything gets done in panic mode (Packing in advance is so hard for me because I always think, ‘what if i need to wear/use that before then?’
    Last meal I ate: Mix of leftovers: foul mudammas (arabic fava beans) with babaghanouj, hummus, fattoush salad (lettuce/parsley/cukes/tomato/sumac/vinegar/evoo), ground turkey and lots of pita and cumin…oh and a bowl of my mama’s middle eastern harira soup (pureed lentils/carrots/zucchini/spices)

    • August 14, 2011 8:43 pm

      Haha oh I’m definitely going through the “what if I need to use it before then” thing, which just gives me a reason to procrastinate even more. Oi.

  5. 2tightlywound permalink
    August 14, 2011 5:48 pm

    I am so jealous of the view from your new place! I am kind of freak about packing–I start way in advance to make sure everything is “just so.”

    And I just saw Crazy, Stupid, Love. this afternoon. It was pretty good (and Ryan Gosling isn’t hard to look at either ;))

  6. August 14, 2011 5:49 pm

    Wow you are so small. You must have the lean gene. Rock it, chick!

  7. August 14, 2011 5:50 pm

    mmmm girl! You go ahead and PIMP those rice cakes out 😀

    I try to do things early on, and am generally pretty good at it. However, I definitely do have my moments when I procrastinate and end up putting things off until the last minute. PACKING is one of the things that I do this with for sure! In fact, I’m moving back up to Orlando for school in a few days and haven’t even thought of beginning.. whoops. 🙂

  8. August 14, 2011 5:58 pm

    I always feel strange posing for photos, but you look great in yours, I love the top! I usually get things done as soon as possible, otherwise it’s a constant nag on my mind. Sometimes it bites me in the but though…like for school if there is an assignment due and I get it done a week early, then later the professor gives a great lecture which would have helped me tremendously if I had held off on my assignment. Or when I cook dinner, I clean up all the pots and pans/prep mess before sitting down to eat. I can just enjoy my meal better that way 🙂

    • August 14, 2011 8:46 pm

      I do that too! I just reaaaally, really don’t like mess, so I try to clean as I go as opposed to piling it all in the sink and having to attack it in one go.

  9. August 14, 2011 6:01 pm

    Love the view from your new place – it looks beautiful! Im so excited for you! Packing is definately something i leave till the last minute – just because i find it so tedious trying to get everything to fit!
    Last meal i ate – 2 poached Eggs over arugula and an idaho potato baked with baby spinach!

  10. August 14, 2011 6:05 pm

    AHhhhhh! 32 more days! So much fun.. I am so excited for your girl!

    Normally I do not put things off – but this week, Justin and I kept putting off food shopping. Thursday . then Friday . then Saturday. Finally we had to go today. And figures.. it POURED all day. Yuck. Shopping in the rain really erks me. But I guess it is what I get for putting things off 🙂

  11. sarah permalink
    August 14, 2011 6:09 pm

    Ah, your new home looks so lovely and green!
    Fuuny you say you are a meat & potatos type a gal- I always thought you were one of those other types, ya know, the hummus & jam type.
    You read FAST! Iv not read a book in aaaages, but I just got the 1st book in the Hunger Games series & I am a few chapters in & really enjoying it.
    I just got a bag of coconut flour and I see those cookies in my very near future
    Currently munching on more of your’heaven in a bowl’, except I It eat directly from the magic bullet cup( classiness right there) so not a morsel of deliciousness goes to waste, it really is GOOD, my tastebuds are singing<3
    Xxx

    • August 14, 2011 8:55 pm

      I eat straight from the Magic Bullet a lot, too, especially now that I’ve shattered the pretty yellow bowl that I normally ate my concoctions in 😦 And I could definitely never abandon my beloved hummus and jam – it’s just gonna have to share the spotlight for a while so that I can actually get through some of the other food that’s been lying around for ages.

  12. August 14, 2011 6:09 pm

    I have got to try your sleepy time snack out =) I need help lulling my mind to sleep. ahhhh 32 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! so excited for you! cannot wait for photos of the new place! we get to decorate together from afar! yess!

  13. August 14, 2011 6:36 pm

    oh amanda, i am SO excited for your big move! it’s awesome that you are getting your own place – life changes are definitely huge signs of growth and great opportunities for learning and discovery. and wow, that area looks gorgeous…. all that lush greenery!

    -i’m trying to chug through The Help (book) before watching the movie! i don’t think it’s going to happen since i might be watching to the movie TONIGHT haha

    -i love so many things about this post: the lovely pictures of yourself (esp that sepia-toned one against the sky, so gorgeous), all that great-looking food, and the fact that you READ so much – a kindred bookworm, i already feel warm and fuzzy inside =)

    i DEFINITELY put things off until the last minute… i’m a procrastinator. no shame. i’ve gotten this far in life, so i think it’s alright 😉

    last movie i saw was friends with benefits. SO good. mila kunis and justin timberlake have an INTENSE chemistry onscreen. plus, justin is pretty good-lookin 😉

  14. August 14, 2011 6:41 pm

    i try to get things done as soon as i can but every once in a while i will get in a major procrastination mode. It’s bad haha. But my google reader usually ends up completely cleared out so it’s not entirely a bad thing. 😉

  15. movesnmunchies permalink
    August 14, 2011 6:46 pm

    GO YOU for NRLW!!! im a last minute gal for some things but usually im ahead of the game!

  16. August 14, 2011 6:51 pm

    U are a beautiful goofball! The days are getting down!! So exciting! I can’t wait to see how u decorate your new place too!! I want to see that movie, I know the book is better, it’s how it always Is ; )

    Those cherries look amazing! Yum yum!

    Love u!!

  17. August 14, 2011 6:52 pm

    That cake thing looks fantastic!! I wish someone would bake for me! 🙂

  18. August 14, 2011 6:53 pm

    I’ve finally accepted that putting things is off til the last second is when I do things the best! Plus if you pack up all of your stuff now, you’re definitely going to NEED something you packed deep down in a box and you’ll have to undo all your packing.
    Just saw The Help yesterday and it was so much better than I expected! Of course the book is way better because it goes deeper into the maids’ lives, but the movie was really powerful as well.

  19. August 14, 2011 6:54 pm

    I always have to get things done right away. That is a problem at times because I do things on impulse just to get them out of the way. Last meal I ate was tonights salmon stirfry with pita crisps and cheese. Well, the book I am almost finished reading is Jodi Picoult’s Unborn.

  20. August 14, 2011 6:57 pm

    I do some things early and put other things off til the last minute. I’m right there with ya on the packing…I hate it and therefore put it off haha. And you do not look goofy! That pic is cute :). I LOVED The Help and I’m seeing the movie with my mom when I get back from Florida! I just finished reading Before I Go to Sleep…it was awesome! Ahhh you’re getting soooo close to your moving date!

  21. August 14, 2011 7:08 pm

    I try not to leave things until last minute, but that’s how it usually turns out!
    I’m a bit afraid to see The Help the movie just because I loved the book SO much!!

  22. August 14, 2011 7:25 pm

    Love all the pics, updates, and food combos! Your posts are always so colorful and happy, never gets old 🙂
    I love getting things done ASAP, I’m not much for procrastination haha and last meal I ate was a chicken and egg white veggie sub at subway mmm

  23. August 14, 2011 7:29 pm

    Last movie I saw was HP 7 (part2) AMAZING. And I just had baby scallops with sweet potato and cauliflower 🙂 yum! haha I want to see the Help soon too.

  24. August 14, 2011 7:36 pm

    your new hood looks gorgeous! I can see why you’re so excited! 🙂
    And your pimped out rice cakes are soo delicious looking! I guess that’s why my rice cakes feel like they’re missing something. I’ve only been putting almond butter on them. Need to add that honey next time! 😛
    I’d love it if you did a lifting post update! I’m still loving that book and I’ve been feeling stronger. Which I’m loving 🙂
    Great books are just amazing! I just finished reading Sarah’s Key and am now moving on to The Room.

  25. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    August 14, 2011 7:42 pm

    Your new hood looks gorgeous!!! AAh I can’t wait to see your new place!!! Moving is gonna be so exciting.

    Your yogurt messes look delicious as always! Love all those toppings.

  26. August 14, 2011 7:47 pm

    Oh my, I put things off like crazy! I was really excited at the beginning of the summer that i had so much time to get all kinds of things done before school starts again… but I move back to school in less than two weeks! ahh..

  27. August 14, 2011 7:47 pm

    You look so gorgeous Amanda!! I love your shirt 🙂
    I’ve never used coconut flour…i really should buy some though, because coconut is like the best flavor ever. besides chocolate and nut butter of course.

    • August 14, 2011 9:32 pm

      Coconut flour is pretty fun to work with, but it’s also really fussy. I definitely don’t recommend trying to make pancakes out of it, because you’ll just end up with a gloopy mess that never seems to cook!

  28. August 14, 2011 8:15 pm

    The books are always better than the movies, especially when the books are so good! I’m nervous about the hunger games.. that could easily be ruined. The only books-gone-movies that I really like are the harry potter series.
    I’d love to see a lifting update! I’ll have to modify it a lot too if it focuses on legs, because once I’m in cross country season I absolutely can not have sore legs!

  29. Elizabeth permalink
    August 14, 2011 8:34 pm

    Amanda, you still look really, really skinny. At any point in your recovery have you ever had a doctor monitoring your vitals, weight, and blood chemistry? You have a beautiful outlook on life, and have come so far in the past year mentally, but are you really at a place now that doctors would “clear” you? I’m sorry, being in a similar place in my life, I’m just a bit worried for you.

    • August 14, 2011 9:42 pm

      Awwwr. Thank you for your concern, Elizabeth 🙂 I did indeed get checked by my doctor and everything’s been given the a-okay. My weight, vitals, hormones, and blood are all in a good place, so it looks like all of the hard work has finally paid off 😀

      • Just a girl permalink
        August 15, 2011 10:25 am

        Please remember that vitals, hormons and blood don’t tell all. I must admit I’m worried too after seeing your picture. You’re doing a great job and have a wonderful perspective, but please make sure that the last “extra” weight for safety and lifetime recovery is gonna be there:)

  30. August 14, 2011 8:39 pm

    I get certain things done early, and certain things done at the last minute. Packing is definitely a last minute activity for me. For vacations, I’m a night-before/morning-of type of packer. The last book I read was Catching Fire, and now I’m making my way through Mockingjay. The last movie I saw was Crazy, Stupid, Love. And my most recent meal is the one I’m eating right now: brown rice, kale and collard greens, arame, and tempeh. Super yummy. The view around your new place is gorgeous, by the way! I’m so excited for you, Amanda! 🙂

  31. August 14, 2011 8:52 pm

    I ALWAYS put things off last minute… Like packing for my senior year, doing a presentation, reading the material for the presentation… Hmmm.

    Last movie -> I sawww Captain America and it was meh. Not the best rendition of it. I was a bit let down.

    Last book I read/reading -> The Help!

    Last meal I ate -> Chocolate oats with cinnamonomonomon and PB. Now snackin’ on grapes.

    Oh, and I definitely pose in pictures ALL the time. In fact, I did about a bajillion times today. 😉

  32. August 14, 2011 8:59 pm

    Oh, I wish I could say I do things early! I’m going to see the Help on Wednesday, I loved the book! 🙂 I really want to read that Weight Lifting Book because I prefer working my legs to working my arms.

  33. August 14, 2011 9:09 pm

    I almost always put things off until the last minute. It makes life so much more stressful but I can’t seem to get ahead of the game. I will keep on trying though! I don’t watch movies that much, but I recently read Ella Minnow Pea and loved it!

  34. fabulousemily permalink
    August 14, 2011 9:22 pm

    Oh my goodness! Are you in Edmonton!?!?

  35. August 14, 2011 9:56 pm

    Last movie I saw was HP7.2, but before that I couldn’t even remember what I’d last seen!! I read The Help and thought it was great, but I’m hesistant to see the movie since movies aren’t usually as good. The new “hood” looks lovely 🙂 And I love your spin on “meat and potatoes.”

  36. August 14, 2011 11:14 pm

    the shadow of the wind is such an amazing book!! brillliant brilliant brilliant and then i read his other book the angel’s game and was so disappointed 😦

  37. August 14, 2011 11:16 pm

    I can’t even remember the last movie I saw its been so long.
    But I just finished tuesdays with morrie, twas very insightful 🙂
    Yeah, I tend to leave things till last minute. Probably should change that once school starts!
    Gorgeous view of your new hood btw

    • August 15, 2011 7:12 am

      I’m not a big movie go-et either, I just really wanted to see this one because I enjoyed the book and I was curious to see what they did with it.

  38. August 14, 2011 11:19 pm

    I loved The Help and cannot wait for the movie…although I’m trying not to get my expectations too high! Random fact: hot tea/coffee is actually cooling so it’s ideal to drink when the weather heats up (Google it for the scientific reasoning behind it)

  39. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    August 14, 2011 11:22 pm

    Even though you aren´t doing what you should be doing, I think you are doing amazing pretty good things 🙂 (Well, except the burnt tongue thing :), but I do this pretty often too 🙂 I am often putting things off until it´s almost too late, I need to get rid of this habit, but it is probably a part of my personality that is just too hard to forget about 🙂
    Last movie I have seen was the new Jane Eyre, it was good, but I still like the old version better (and the movie the best). I saw the Help last week and I like it, but again – the book was better 🙂

  40. August 14, 2011 11:44 pm

    I always aspire to get things done early, and it usually works. Packing is quite a different story, which is weird because I’m one of the odd people that actually enjoy it 😛

    LAst meal I ate/am eating are bluberry, peach oats with vanilla protein powder stirred in. Heavenly!

  41. August 14, 2011 11:58 pm

    The area around your new home looks so beautiful! Im so excited to see how your place will look too!
    I always put things off. I feel like Im having aaall the time in the world, but all of a sudden I have no time at all. When will I learn 😉
    Last movie I saw was Bridemaids- loved it!
    Your food looks goood! And so does you 😀 I feel silly when posing, but I do it all the time alyways 😛

  42. August 15, 2011 12:05 am

    i never say OMG, but OMG!!!! I didn’t know you were back to blogging! clearly I’m living under a rock.

    I don’t read much these days. Lately I’ve been listening to This American Life podcasts. Its cool, its radio so I feel old fashioned.

    I should mention that I’m not one to say, “your food looks sooooooo yummy!!!!” but it does 😉

  43. August 15, 2011 12:15 am

    Oh I am SUCH the procrastinator! Like you, I happily subscribe to the “all the time in the world” philosophy…until that is, there isn’t much time at all. This happens frequently when I’m packing for a trip…I’ll begin thinking about that tasks that need to be accomplished days before, but don’t actually accomplish them until a few hours prior to the deadline. The good news is that what needs to get done, always gets done! (Just in a slightly more stressed manner…haha).

    I’m loving your nighttime oat bran snack! Do you think I’ll be able to take a leap of faith and mix things up over here? Maybe if I compromise and add a blop of cottage cheese on top? 😉 And your burnt tongue remedy is one of my favorite treats. In fact, I ate one earlier this evening for dessert. 🙂

    Yaayaaayaay for 32 more days! (31 now!!! Weee!!) Your new neighborhood looks gorgeous…Love that greenery!

    Hope you had a great weekend, Amanda! xoxo

  44. August 15, 2011 1:56 am

    Unfortunately I can totally relate, I’m a big procrastinator. I always leave things for the last minute and then I’m freaking out, as I’m running out of time. Afterwards I regret it and swear that this is the last time I’m putting things off, but yeah … it keeps happening.

  45. August 15, 2011 2:02 am

    Wow your food looks good!! Sweet potatoes and greek yog are some of my favs!! I went to go see The Help since i read the book but it was sold out 😦 So i saw friends with benefits, which was sooo good!!

  46. buttonss - Cherie permalink
    August 15, 2011 2:44 am

    Just wondering, how long do you bake your potatoes for? Mine never come out that nice and mushy. Maybe its because Im too hungry and take them out too early?

    When I moved out I was ready and packed like a month before. Mainly my mums doing, since she is kind of like that, and even if we go on a short weekend trip, she will start packing a week before.

    Your so gorgeous!! You should post that pretty face of yours more often ♥

    • August 15, 2011 7:24 am

      I bake mine at 400* for about 50 mins, and it’s DEFINITELY hard to wait that long sometimes. And thanks girl 🙂 When I get over feelin’ like a goofball, I definitely will 😀

  47. August 15, 2011 3:06 am

    The last movie I saw was the new Harry Potter film. The film was amazing, but as in all cases the book is always better. 🙂

  48. August 15, 2011 3:10 am

    Ohhh I’m definitely a last minute putter offerer………yeah.

    The last movie I saw was Harry Potter and I did not want it to end AT ALL!!!! NOOOOO!
    The last book was the second book from the hunger games series. OMG SO GOOD!

    How the hecky doo daa do you always manage to make your oats look so good?! I am currently eating my screen. Thanks…now I need a new screen……. 😉

    xxx

  49. August 15, 2011 4:06 am

    EEeeeeee I’m SO excited for you girly!!! 🙂 🙂 Ahhh man, do I put stuff off?! Heck yes!! When I moved into my new place I left sooo last minute thinking ‘ohh I have loads of time, take a chill pill, Nicky’ and then woosh..before I knew it, it was the day before moving and I had done nothing haha! I was in such a panic and it seemed like SUCH an enormous job..I got myself into such a stressy mess over it, but fortunately my parents helped out and we just spent a whole day moving all my stuff. What would I do without them? 🙂 And I have to say, your new place looks so beautiful 🙂
    And yaaay for all the good food in this post!! ❤ Incredibly jealous of your cereal mess..soo sooo wish we had those cereals here boo!! And I definitely need to try those cookies, I have a big bag of coconut flour just dying to be used!
    Ohh and lovin' your style girly! ❤

  50. August 15, 2011 4:27 am

    FIRST of all I am just so excited for you!!! I’m a putter-offer…its real bad. I’m going to try and stop that this year at school! I ALWAYS drink hot coffee even in the summer! Actually, I went to Starbucks yesterday, and the guy was like really? You want regular coffee? Confused. Yes sir, actually I do. I’d lovee to hear a lifting post. I saw the help too! I really really liked it, but as usual, liked the book better!

  51. August 15, 2011 4:54 am

    I think it comes with being a bit of a control freak but I do like to get things done early when I can, I feel less stressed that way! Would definitely be interested in the lifting update post, after my half in September I’m looking forward to doing way more strength training 🙂

  52. August 15, 2011 5:24 am

    All the food looks so, so good! Your mom does need to bake more often! Whatever she made looks delicious.

    Greg & I went to see Transformers 3 yesterday. I always dread going to the movies he picks out but then I really end up liking them every time! The one before was the new X-Men movie and I have to say that Magneto definitely helped keep my interest in that one haha ;]

  53. August 15, 2011 5:42 am

    I do the same thing!!! I totally did the last-minute packing thing for my own move – typical me- except I think I was subconsciously trying to pretend that the move wasn’t happening haha – aaand consequently my last 2 days at home were pretty stressful and then I got to my new place and realized I’d forgotten like…all of my pants?? and a dresser?? hahaha. Hopefully you’ll be more successful than that! 😀

  54. August 15, 2011 5:45 am

    I always feel like a goofball when I pose in front of mirrors and try to take pictures of myself but your outfit is so cute! I love the shirt!!

    I’m so jealous of that view you have from your condo! It’s absolutely gorgeous.

    I usually like to get things done early otherwise it’s constantly on my mind and it’s usually all I can ever think about. Sometimes I do end up putting it off… like school work haha

  55. August 15, 2011 6:12 am

    The view from your apartment is so pretty! 32 more days and it’s ALL yours!!!

    I’m totally a last minute kind of girl. Case in point: my tuition is due today and I still haven’t paid it yet. 😛 But I’m actually pretty good about getting school assignments done early because I hate freaking out about them the night before they’re due!

    I just finished reading “Sarah’s Key” and I’m about to start reading “The Help”! I hope it’s a little bit happier than my previous book… “Sarah’s Key” had me in tears throughout most of it.

    • August 15, 2011 8:10 am

      Gah I always left assignments until the last minute too, and the worst part of it was that I convinced myself that I perform better under pressure because I always did really well, which only further reinforced my bad habits.

  56. August 15, 2011 6:18 am

    You’re beautiful girl, love the picture! And how exciting about the apartment, I will help count down the days too 🙂
    I saw The Help this weekend too and agree that the book was better…as are most book to movie adaptations.
    I am currently reading Pillars of the Earth and really enjoying it! It’s a beast of a book though so it’s goign to take me awhile to get through

  57. August 15, 2011 6:26 am

    That was the last movie I saw too. I prefer the book, but I still thought they did a pretty good job with the movie. And yes, I too feel dumb posing for pics. I also feel dumb photographing my food in public- or even just in front of the mister.

  58. August 15, 2011 6:52 am

    Oh my gosh Amanda that neighborhood is beautifulllllll!
    I usually like to get things done asap but sometimes I get lazy… but schoolwork I usually do to get it out of the way. This is sad, but I don’t remember the last movie I saw 😦 The last book I read was Lord of the Flies (for school, it was slightly disturbing) but I’m considering getting the NROLFW book to keep me busy 🙂

  59. August 15, 2011 7:19 am

    Hello, Amanda.

    My name is Katherine, and I’m brand new to the blog world but have creeped on this blog and your last semi-religiously, for like, way over a year.

    anyways, I finally got a blog so I can interact with my heros (like you)

    Just wanted to say hi and that you’re a total inspiration to me.

    that’s all for now…I’m sure I’ll be commenting (FINALLY) on your stuff much more regularly from meow on.

    HAVE A GREAT MONDAY 😀

  60. August 15, 2011 7:27 am

    I definitely put things off until the last minute, then have a frenzied panic attack about said putting off 😛 I always feel so much better when I just get things over with though!

    I hope your tum feels better soon and the small meals help. IBS is no fun, as I know from experience…

    You look gorgeous in that pic, but then again you do in all of them anyway.

    xxx

    • August 15, 2011 7:28 am

      P.S I would love to see a lifting update, as it’s clearly working for you and I’d give anything to have a figure as wonderful as yours.

  61. August 15, 2011 7:28 am

    I don’t know how you feel when you pose for pictures but the results makes me feel… ugly. Honestly, you look great!

    Is it really procrastinating if you know you can do it in 2 days and just do it the last 2 days? I’ve moved numerous times and I have never spent more than 2 days packing. And last time I moved by bicycle. It was one of the craziest things I’ve done 😀 .

    I didn’t have internet at home for a few weeks (I still don’t know how I survived) and I watched more movies than for the last year. The one I liked the most was a Japanese movie called “Confessions”. A really creepy one.

  62. August 15, 2011 7:35 am

    Oh my goodness that mug. I NEED it. So dang cute!!
    I was planning on reading The Help but then saw the movie coming out. It looks super cute, so Im planning on seeing the movie and then hopefully picking up the book. I hate how different hollywood makes movies compared to books. Did you see My Sisters Keeper? TOTALLY different from the book!! I was like ummmm not even CLOSE!! But still a good movie, as long as you dont compare it to the book lol

    • August 15, 2011 9:07 am

      Hehe I only got through about half of the My Sister’s Keeper movie. I loved the book, but I just couldn’t get into the film. I think you’ll really enjoy The Help, though. It did a pretty good job of the book.

  63. runningonapples permalink
    August 15, 2011 7:54 am

    Love oat bran and Greek yogurt! Such a good snack =]

  64. Errign permalink
    August 15, 2011 10:03 am

    Soooo much good food. I’m loving all over rice cakes lately too – recent fave is pumpkin butter & peanut butter.

    I so want to see The Help, but I’m so worried it will ruin the book for me.

  65. August 15, 2011 10:32 am

    I’m so a last minute person. I put everything off until the last possible second. Oh yeah, there’s so much time left 😀 and then I’m running around like crazy trying to make sure I haven’t forgotten about something. Every single time I tell myself next time I’ll start early, but it never happens haha. I’ve heard so many great things about The Help. I think I need to go see it and read the book too. Those cookies look absolutely amazing! I bookmarked the recipe. Making them as soon as I get some coconut flour.

  66. August 15, 2011 11:40 am

    I read “Care of the Soul” by Thomas Moore……a truly beautiful book!

  67. August 15, 2011 12:55 pm

    Oh I feel like such a doof when I pose for photos!
    I tend to plan waaaay in advance, but actually DO a little late. I leave on Wednesday for the US but I’ve only started packing today, although lists and plans have been in place for MONTHS! A nice mid-way I guess!?
    Last book? Jodie Picoult, Vanishing Acts. I love her 🙂

  68. Jessica permalink
    August 15, 2011 12:57 pm

    I feel you on the book buying front. I can’t help myself. When I tell myself not to, it’s worse! I loved Shadow In The Wind! I have the prequel on my shelf and still haven’t got round to reading it! I just finished (like 10 years after the rest of the world) The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and really loved that too.

    Definitely guilty of being a last minute person too. I hate packing. (And unpacking even more.) It’s just so urggh. Usually it ends up in a bit of a night-before panic (since I refuse to compile packing lists too) but that’s the fun, right?!!!!

  69. August 15, 2011 1:19 pm

    The Help! Ahhhh. I am seeing it tomorrow with my mom. Tonight I’m going to see 30 Seconds or Less.
    And you are so gorgeous in that picture. Definitely not a goofball. I’m the goofball here. (:

    Packing sucks. I have moved 8+ times in my life so I know packing is the worst.

  70. spoonfulofsugarfree permalink
    August 15, 2011 1:42 pm

    I usually like to get everything done early. I hate scrambling at the last minute to get stuff done-freaks me out!

  71. August 15, 2011 5:09 pm

    I procrastinate with most things!!! Oh and I LOVE Those baked lentil chips! They have the perfect amount of spice!

  72. August 15, 2011 5:19 pm

    Amy’s Texas Burgers are so good 🙂

    You are moving into your own place right? No more mom and dad? 🙂

  73. August 15, 2011 5:36 pm

    I’ve been wanting to check out the NROLFW for sometime now. Yes updates please!

  74. August 15, 2011 5:42 pm

    I love your shirt in the photo!

    I definitely put everything off till the last minute…like cleaning, packing school work…and yes, I always say I’ll do better next time. Do I? No. Someday…

    The last book I read what “The Golden Compass.” I liked it 🙂

  75. August 15, 2011 6:33 pm

    eeeee I’m excited for you! Can’t wait til you show us your new place. But packing is definitely the worst part about moving! And ugh, doesn’t burning your tongue really suck? 😦

  76. September 10, 2011 6:45 pm

    O.M.G.! Do you live in Edmonton???? I recognize the University from the pic!

Leave a comment