Skip to content

. chocolate chip oatmeal… muffins? .

July 12, 2011

Ohhhh, the weather outside is frightful…

But the [kitchen] is so delightful…

And since we’ve no place to go…

We bake! πŸ˜€

Okay, so that’s not exactly how the song goes, but believe it or not, that’s what I was humming to myself throughout most of the morning and mid-afternoon. Yes, I’m singing Christmas songs in the middle of July; but you would be too if these were the kind of skies that you had to work with…

They may not be that frightful, but neither are they very delightful. Blah.

But I suppose that I shouldn’t complain. After all, the bad weather prompted me to spend some time in the kitchen this afternoon, where I came up with a recipe that might just be my favorite one yet.

It’s no secret that I love me some chocolate chip oatmeal cookies – they hold a special place in my heart and are probably my favorite variety of cookie ever. But while I love the combination of chocolate chips and oatmeal, sometimes I’m just not feeling the cookie part. Sometimes, all I want is a muffin.

And thatΒ is how today’s recipe was born.

. – . – . – .

. chocolate chip oatmeal muffins .

IngredientsΒ (makes 12)

  • 1 cup old fashioned oatmeal
  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk (or any milk)
  • 1 cup spelt flour (whole wheat would work too)
  • Β½ tsp. baking powder
  • Β½ tsp. baking soda
  • ΒΌ tsp. salt
  • ΒΌ cup natural almond butter
  • 1 egg
  • Β½ cup unrefined sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • Β½ cup chocolate chips

Β 

Instructions

1.Β In a medium sized bowl, combine the oats and almond milk. Set aside until the oats have absorbed the majority of the liquid; approximately 30 minutes – 1 hour.

Β 

2.Β When ready to begin, preheat oven to 350Β°F, and lightly oil a muffin tray, or line it with 12 paper/silicone liners.

3.Β In a large bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Mix well.

4.Β Toss the almond butter, egg, sugar, and vanilla into a blender, and blend until smooth. Pour the contents of the blender into the oat and milk mixture, and stir until fully combined.

Β 

5.Β Combine wet and dry ingredients, stirring gently. Do not overmix. Fold in chocolate chips.

Β 

6.Β Divide dough evenly among the 12 muffin cups, and bake for 20 minutes. When finished, remove them from the muffin tray and allow to cool on a wire rack.

Enjoy!

. – . – . – .

I’m not usually one to play favorites but oh.mi.gosh. These were absolutely everything I wanted – the flavor of my most beloved cookie in a dense muffin form. Soft. Chewy. Chocolatey.

Swooooon. I’m in love…

Β 

Like, head over heels in love…

Or maybe that’s just lust…

In any case, you can bet that you’ll be seeing one [or two, or three…] of these babies tomorrow for WIAW. But I might have to hide some to prevent them from getting ninja’d when I’m not looking…

Until tomorrow, loves!

. – . – . – .

What’s your favorite kind of cookie?

What was the last thing that came out of your oven?

76 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2011 5:29 pm

    My favorite type of cookie = chocolate chip or double chocolate chip. Chocolate, please.

    The second question makes me laugh – good thing I didn’t just have a baby πŸ˜‰

    Leaving tomorrow for the competition! I might text you… be prepared to be bothered, haha.

  2. July 12, 2011 5:31 pm

    You channeled my inner baking craving! I’ve been wanting to make an oatmeal muffin for awhile now but it’s just been too darn hot out here. I can’t wait until it cools off some this will definitely be on my must bake list πŸ™‚

    My favorite kind of cookie is probably chocolate chip or an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie.

    The last thing that came out of my oven was… I actually don’t know because it’s been that long since we’ve used it. It must feel so unloved

  3. July 12, 2011 5:32 pm

    I AM SWOONING!! I can’t believe I have to leave before I can make these, but I am telling you the MINUTE I get back, these will be in my oven!! They are seriously HEAVEN for me and I love you for creating my dream muffin!! πŸ˜€

    Last thing that came out of my oven was single lady cookies!! SO good!! And my fave type is definitely PB chocolate chip…mmmmm…. πŸ™‚

    I’LL MISS YOU WHEN I’M GONE and there will be some serious Amanda stalking when I get back πŸ˜‰

  4. July 12, 2011 5:32 pm

    Muffins are one of my favorite things to bake!! These will surely be making an appearance sometime soon!!

    Last thing out of my oven.. were Banana Oatmeal Cookies.. delicious! And I’ve got 2 more super ripe bananas…so tomorrow may bring another baking experiment!

  5. July 12, 2011 5:39 pm

    Yuuuuummmm those look SO good! Chocolate chips and oatmeal go together almost as well as peanut butter and chocolate πŸ™‚ Slab some pb on top of those and you have the perfect meal in my opinion!

  6. Kaila @healthyhelperblog! permalink
    July 12, 2011 5:41 pm

    YUM! Thank you for this awesomeness!!! I love baking with almond butter! It makes everything so rich and luscious!

  7. sarah permalink
    July 12, 2011 5:47 pm

    Oatmeal choc chip is my ABSOLUTE fave cookie( maybe even favourite food!).
    None of your recipes has failed me yet- last thing out my oven was your oatmeal raison muffins(obsession right there)- so I’m making these tomorrow. I may have trouble not drinking the almond butter , sugar, vanilla mixture first though- wish me luck with having some self restraint.
    Thanks for the recipe,
    Xxx

  8. July 12, 2011 5:49 pm

    These look freaking amazing πŸ™‚

    Where do you live? It’s like 100 here every day!

  9. July 12, 2011 5:51 pm

    These look ridiculously amazing! Oatmeal cookies are my favorite cookie, hands down, and its looking like they could be my favorite muffin! Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  10. Alexandra permalink
    July 12, 2011 5:52 pm

    Yum Yum!! I have to bake these when I get home! My fave cookie is oatmeal raisin walnut πŸ™‚ I think the last thing that came outta my oven was granola, but it’s been awhile so I don’t really remember haha

  11. July 12, 2011 5:57 pm

    Ooooh, these look amazing!! You know I love me a good muffin or two.
    My answer is different every time I answer what my fav. cookie is! haha. Truth be told, I’d prefer a muffin any day – but I do love any kind of ginger cookie or lemon poppyseed!

  12. July 12, 2011 5:58 pm

    Ooooo yum! Those look delicious. Do you have any idea how much I love muffins?! You probably do πŸ™‚ I’m always on the look-out for new muffin recipes. I am making these SOON fo sho. I did a little baking today too! The last thing that came out of my oven was a little experiment. I made some vegan gluten-free espresso spice mini donuts. I’ll post the recipe soon, although, I think I’m going to have to come up with a better name for them than that! Lots of love to you sweetie ❀

  13. July 12, 2011 5:58 pm

    Oooo those look good! I love muffins and chocolate chips, and I super love chocolate chip muffins. My fav cookies are chocolate chip too, but I’m no hater when it comes to cookies.

  14. July 12, 2011 5:59 pm

    My favourite cookie is by far a molasses cookie!!!!!

    The last thing that came out of my oven was a chickpea, sweet potato, and spinach stir-fry, so so so delicious!!!!!

    – Samantha
    http://flavorator.blogspot.com/

  15. July 12, 2011 6:06 pm

    Yum, yum, yum X’s 1,000,000 πŸ™‚

  16. July 12, 2011 6:07 pm

    Favorite cookie — chocolate chip, or those peanut butter blossoms (PB cookie with Hershey kiss on top). YUM.

    The last thing to come out of my oven — I can’t remember! It has been 90-100 degrees every day for the past 8-10 days so I have avoided turning on the oven!

  17. July 12, 2011 6:08 pm

    My two favorite types of cookies are oatmeal-raisin, and good ol’ chocolate chip. So naturally, I also love oatmeal-chocolate chip! A winning combo. But honestly, I’m not the biggest cookie eater. Your muffins look a lot more appealing to me! Is it weird that I want a sip (or two) of the almond butter blended with raw egg, sugar, and vanilla? (Salmonella doesn’t exist when it comes to doughs and batters, right?)

  18. July 12, 2011 6:23 pm

    Oh my just goes to show how wide varied Canada’s weather is. I don’t know where you live in Canada but my guess would be Halifax or somewhere up up north!

    Those look scrumptious! My favorite baked good flavor is lemon poppyseed, doesn’t matter if it’s cookie, muffin, or cake πŸ™‚

  19. July 12, 2011 6:33 pm

    Holy cow those sound awesome! I love chocolate chip oatmeal cookies too! I may have to make these πŸ™‚

  20. July 12, 2011 6:40 pm

    My favorite kind of cookie is definitely anything with chocolate chips straight from the oven- nice and gooey!

    The last thing that came out of my oven- as you know- is my cream cheese / berry muffies / cake. HAHA! I still can’t believe all three of us were baking at the exact same time. Too bad I have a whole stash of goodies to finish right now or else I’d be in the kitchen making these babies at this very moment…

    YUM! I love muffins. And you, of course ❀

  21. Jenn permalink
    July 12, 2011 6:44 pm

    I have a feeling I’m going to be singing Christmas songs for the next week now πŸ˜‰ Thanks! πŸ˜›

  22. July 12, 2011 6:49 pm

    Those look good. My favorite cookie is oatmeal butterscotch.

  23. July 12, 2011 7:00 pm

    those look so delicious! I want one!

  24. July 12, 2011 7:21 pm

    Hmm…growing up in an Asian family, I don’t think I had that many varieties of cookies. But I can remember that I used to be so addicted to Oreos and Ritz crackers with that cheese stuff inside.
    The muffins look AWESOME!! I want to do some baking pretty soon, and this one’s on my list! (of million other bookmarked recipes that I’m too lazy to try…)

  25. July 12, 2011 7:37 pm

    I love oatmeal muffins! They’re so dense and moist. Absolualte perfect. Even better with chocolate chips in them!

  26. July 12, 2011 8:09 pm

    Yep, those absolutely look like winners right there. I’m a HUGE oatmeal cookie fan so oatmeal choco chip muffins sound about perfect. I’d probably throw some raisins in mine too and be in muffin heaven.

    Last thing out of my oven was a chocolate banana phyllo wrap experiment. I was having a bit of fun yesterday with a random box of phyllo I found in the freezer. Now that we’re talking cookies though, I wonder how phyllo wrapped COOKIE dough would taste… future baking experiment perhaps!

  27. July 12, 2011 8:13 pm

    There is an another less-healthified way to “bake” when you’re stuck indoors. Heehee.
    Hmmm…wonder if you could make “magic” chocolate chip oatmeal brow…I mean cupcakes.

    Sorry. Couldn’t resist. I don’t even get down like that anymore but heck if you were in the kitchen? Why not?

    Seriously, I wish I could send you some South Florida Sun!

  28. runningonapples permalink
    July 12, 2011 8:14 pm

    Oatmeal cookies are my favorite! Last thing to come out of my oven was…blueberry pie =)

  29. July 12, 2011 8:35 pm

    Ohmygosh.. cookie in the form of a muffin?! I’m dying. muffins are my favorite form of baked good, but cookies have awesome flavors so the combination is da bombb. My favorite cookie changes with my mood and I could never choose a favorite, but lately I’ve been craving a giant sugar cookie with tons of sprinkles!

  30. July 12, 2011 9:14 pm

    I’m on a total cookie baking phase right now as well πŸ™‚
    Boo to bad weather, love the blog, can’t wait to read more!

  31. July 12, 2011 9:14 pm

    These look DELICIOUS! I love putting oats in muffins. They give them such a lovely texture! πŸ˜€

  32. July 12, 2011 9:27 pm

    you know that feeling you get when you see an amazing looking recipe and you realize that you have all the ingredients in your house? Yeah. Thats whats happening right now =)

  33. July 12, 2011 9:28 pm

    oatmeal in muffins are the best. Adding chocolate is even better! can’t wait to try these girllll πŸ™‚

  34. July 12, 2011 9:31 pm

    I am LOVING the random breezing days this Summer! I am so with you, in that I see it as the perfect opportunity to bake with the oven preheated to 375F and not breaking a sweat. Delightful.

    Thank you so so much for that delicious sounding, looking, wonderful recipe. You’re a real gem! Last thing out of my oven was a sweet n’ sour tofu bake with sweet potatoes from Vive le Vegan. smells a little like heaven, shame it’s for tomorrow’s lunch! poo. Patience is a roughy.

    Happy almost hump day! Hope your Summer is treating you beautifully, girl πŸ™‚

  35. July 12, 2011 9:36 pm

    Oh wow those look delicious!! I am totally going to steal your recipe XD

    My favourite cookie…I don’t know it really depends what mood I’m in! At the moment I’m on a chocolate chip cookie kick but I’m thinking about baking some oatmeal raisin some time soon.

    The last thing to come out of my oven (by me) was a plate. I like to heat my plates up in the oven. If not that then some chocolate chip cookies I baked for the people at work. I’m nice like that πŸ™‚

    xxx

  36. Lilly permalink
    July 12, 2011 10:06 pm

    cookies dressed up as muffins, count me in! My cookie flavor changes with the day/ my mood but right now I would say lemon poppy seed or ginger spice, those are always winners in my book and good as muffins too. But your look to die for, that addition of almond but is drool worthy, I could def eat a batch of those for breakfast πŸ™‚

  37. theflourishingfoodie permalink
    July 12, 2011 10:22 pm

    I was singing Christmas songs on Sunday, I just couldn’t get them out of my head!
    My fav cookie is oatmeal chocolate chip too. Last thing out of my oven = pound cake, my grandma’s recipe…soooo good.

  38. July 12, 2011 10:38 pm

    Favourite cookie?! All of them! Well anything with chocolate- chocolate chip oatmeal or gingerbread for sure πŸ™‚ Though I must say I am a sucker for Oreos as well πŸ˜‰

  39. Lenna (veganlenna) permalink
    July 12, 2011 10:44 pm

    My favorite cookies are gingerbread cookies we make every Christmas. Now when I think about it, I donΒ΄t know why we donΒ΄t make them more often… πŸ™‚
    Last thing from my oven? Mushroom-buckwheat baked “risotto” πŸ™‚

  40. July 12, 2011 10:49 pm

    I wish that was the weather here! Instead it’s hot and smoggy. I hate it.

    My favorite cookie is definitely double chocolate chip. And the last thing that came out of my oven? Banana bread. But I didn’t get to eat it! I sent the whole thing to my neighbor. πŸ™‚

  41. July 12, 2011 11:11 pm

    What a nice simple recipe, I want muffins now!
    My fav cookie is probaby ginger molasses, or oatmeal. πŸ™‚

  42. July 12, 2011 11:58 pm

    Haha I asked that same question on my blog today, and would have to go with chocolate chip cookie, but oatmeal would come in second. πŸ™‚ Ironically, I just baked some chocolate chip cookies!

  43. July 13, 2011 12:54 am

    bookmarked! OMG girl! These. look. baller!

  44. July 13, 2011 3:58 am

    Ohhh you KNOW how much I love my muffins and my goodness, yours look incredible..not like the ones that I attempted yesterday at the same time as you were baking these delicious ones! I gave up on my experiment and decided to resort to the good old blueberry muffins I make haha! At least I ended up with some in the end because I NEED to have muffins in my house – cannot go a day without one, or two..maybe three πŸ˜›
    Hmm my favorite cookie would probably be cinnamon raisin..or ginger πŸ™‚

  45. July 13, 2011 5:07 am

    Woha, these looks amazing Amanda! Love that you added almond butter to the batter, bet it makes them super moist and good
    My favorit cookie must be good old chocolate chip. But if I really could choose, I would just go for the cookie dough itself. And it must contain lots of chocolate chips πŸ˜‰
    Last thing that came out of my oven was actually roasted broccoli πŸ˜› Not exactelly muffins or cookies, but still part of a really good lunch!

    ..And now I have that song stuck to my head πŸ˜‰ And I kind of love it πŸ˜€

  46. July 13, 2011 5:17 am

    Love! I love that we BOTH made something delish with chocolate chips! These look amazing though, I would rather have a muffin! Im actually eating a muffin right now for breakfast : ) raspberry one, its good, but I want your chocolate chip one!

    My fave cookies, because I have more than one, chocolate chip ( love the dough more , hehe ) peanut butter blossoms , and lemon cookies!

    Have a fabulous day! xoxo ❀

  47. July 13, 2011 5:48 am

    Oatmeal chocolate chip cookies are my favourite kind too! So I would definitely love these muffins. They look delicious!

    It has been wayyy too hot to bake here lately, so the last thing I baked was zucchini bread two Sundays ago. I don’t see any cool weather in the forecast, so I don’t know when I’ll get to bake next! πŸ˜›

  48. July 13, 2011 6:56 am

    Oh my gosh!!! Chocolate Chip?! MY KIND OF MUFFIN!! πŸ˜€ These sound INCREDIBLE!!

  49. July 13, 2011 7:00 am

    I am like the cookie monster. If the cookies are crunchy and not too sweet, I can’t resist them. I am not fastidious at all πŸ™‚ .

    Unfortunately, the last thing that came out of my oven was baked almost 4 months ago. It was a scrumptious banitsa with a crunchy crust. Mmm… I miss my banitsa. And not having an oven really sucks :/

    15 degrees for some reason sounds better than 35 πŸ˜€ .

  50. July 13, 2011 8:16 am

    Oh my deliciousness! This little chocolate-filled muffin looks SO GOOD! I love when easy tastes good.

    And yeah… it looks like it’s going to rain here, too!

  51. July 13, 2011 8:53 am

    URG these look so tasty! It has been all grey and chilly here too so firing up the oven doesn’t sound like a bad idea…favorite cookie? used to be oatmeal raisin but I have gone gluten free so gf oats aren’t that easy to come by…I am a large fan of ginger molasses cookies all soft and chewy and spicy…

  52. July 13, 2011 8:55 am

    Mmm… Looks yum! I can’t wait to start baking again after I finish my driver’s ed course!

    What’s your favorite kind of cookie? Peanut butter chocolate chip πŸ™‚

    What was the last thing that came out of your oven? Katie’s Fudge Dadies. Mm-mm-mm….

  53. July 13, 2011 9:07 am

    Oh wow, these look fabulous. Muffin baking is so comforting–especially on a dreary rainy day. And it’s even more comforting when it involves a knockout combination like chocolate chips and oats! I’d love to try making these…How do you think they’d work with GF baking mix?

    My favorite cookies: peanut butter chocolate chip and oatmeal chocolate chip. How is it that I’ve never tried combining the two? I think I need to do something about that. πŸ™‚ Oh, and I also love chocolate chip oat bars.

    Happy Wednesday, Amanda!

    • July 13, 2011 1:18 pm

      I’d imagine they would work with a GF baking mix, but I’m not super experienced when it comes to gluten free baking, so I can’t tell you 100%. And even if the texture is a bit different, they’ll probably still taste fantastic πŸ˜€

  54. July 13, 2011 9:18 am

    those look delicious. i love combining cool treats like that! my favorite might be chocolate chip cookie brownies (when it’s half cookie dough and half brownie).

  55. July 13, 2011 11:40 am

    Yum, these look great!

    I haven’t been baking because it’s super hot where I am, but I did recently make sweet potato falafel!!

  56. July 13, 2011 11:43 am

    Wow, those muffins are now on my to-do list! My dream cookie has chocolate, nuts and cranberries in it. Oh, and a scoop of ice-cream sandwiched in between;) The last thing that came out of my oven was definitely not something sweet:( Veggies it was!

  57. July 13, 2011 12:09 pm

    I keep commenting on muffin posts today. I really need to get a hold of one… I’m starting to obsess haha

  58. allthingswholesome permalink
    July 13, 2011 12:50 pm

    Oh gosh, the weather isn’t too pleasant is it. 😦 I think us Brits took your sun, because its been scorching today.
    The muffins look amazing, muffins are definitely the best thing ever πŸ˜€ I think im going to have to give your recipe a go. πŸ˜€

    Hope your having a great day! πŸ™‚

  59. July 13, 2011 12:58 pm

    My favorite cookie is probably just a regular old chocolate chip… though I do love oatmeal craisin or raisin, too. Those muffins look so good… too bad I’ve been on a cooking spree the past few days because its too bloomin’ HOT to go outside, so we have an entire cheesecake and about a quarter of a cookie cake to eat before we leave for vacation on Saturday…

    Weather is so weird… I can’t believe its that cold where you live! Canada, right? We won’t see those temps around here until late October! Not that I’m complaining; I’d rather be too hot than too cold any day… but (don’t laugh) I have to ask, does your grass turn green and your trees get leaves again if its that cold?! Just asking, because when its that cold here, all the grass starts to go dormant and the leaves drop!

    As I was typing this comment, a random tornado-esque storm blew up outside… YES! That means the “cold” front is finally coming through! We’re supposed to be back down into the 90’s tomorrow. πŸ™‚

  60. July 13, 2011 1:08 pm

    Whoa two classics that I’ve never thought of combining, how could this be? Thanks for the recipe, I will definitely be trying this one!

  61. July 13, 2011 1:10 pm

    Ooh they look so tasty!! I could use some comforting muffins – the weather here is exactly like yours 😦
    I like chocolate chunk spice cookies (a la E, D, & BV) – so amazing!
    Aside from dinner, the last thing out of my oven was mini gingerbread muffins, which if I do say so myself, are delightful!

  62. July 13, 2011 1:14 pm

    59 degrees? I’m super jealous! We’ve been hitting in the hundreds that last few weeks here in Oklahoma! Although it’s terrible weather for baking…I can barely stand the hot oven….I’ve still been baking up a storm. Yesterday meant a couple of batches of granola bars. I’m trying out different recipes looking for one that’s healthy AND delicious!

  63. July 13, 2011 3:53 pm

    Um I need to make these as soon as I can get my grubby little hands in the kitchen. Oh, and for the record, I listen to Christmas music year round. I’m a little weird ha.

  64. July 13, 2011 5:20 pm

    Um, how bad is it that I’ve never actually had a chocolate chip oatmeal cookie? Please don’t throw me down and throw jars of nut butter at me! :-/ Ugh, it’s been TOO long since I’ve had a good muffin! The problem is that they never really fill me up! Maybe I should try adding protein powder to the batter? Have you ever tried that?

    I hate the rain, but I’d love to switch temps with you for a couple of days! The heat we’ve been having here is ungodly!

    Favorite cookie: almond shortbread
    Last thing to come out of the oven: homemade pizza! Mmm!

  65. ire23 permalink
    July 14, 2011 1:48 pm

    What a great way to spend a rainy day! I’m going to have to try this recipe — keep ’em coming!

  66. July 16, 2011 1:20 am

    These are SO bookmarked! I’m still on my muffin kick and loving them like no other πŸ™‚ Plus I lovee oatmeal chocolate chip cookies so these are my kinda muffins!
    My favorite cookies are chocolate chocolate chip cookies, almond butter cookies, oatmeal raisin, and oatmeal chocolate chip. I basically love pretty much all cookies πŸ˜›

    btw, I’d totally trade you my 100 degree weather for that 59 degree weather! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. . WIAW … round ten . « . running with spoons .
  2. Books –> Bike « Sweet Ohm Cooking
  3. . WIAW … round ten .

Leave a Reply

