Skip to content

. five word friday .

June 3, 2011

Some things leave me speechless…

 

 

… and incredibly thankful for recovery.

. – . – . – .

Favorite food you had this Friday? Make it good! It’s the weekend!

Does it make you cringe to see people bite ice cream bars/popsicles? Yes. I only did it for show.

54 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2011 5:42 pm

    OH. MY. LANTA. those look soooo yummy! one of the best parts of recovery (:

    i’ve got a chocolate bake on my mind for dessert tonight… now i just need to get hungry enough to eat it! and YES YES YES i want to cry for people when they bite into things like that. it makes my teeth hurt just THINKING about it!

  2. 2tightlywound permalink
    June 3, 2011 5:48 pm

    That looks so delicious! Stupid question–but is it made with coconut milk?

    The best thing I’ve eaten this Friday…hmm… some double chocolate cookie dough 🙂

    Have a great weekend!

  3. June 3, 2011 5:52 pm

    Oh that looks delicious – and I am more than certain seeing a bite mark in a popsicle/bar makes me shiver!

    • squigglefloey permalink
      June 3, 2011 6:03 pm

      hahaha. I was like, what? And then I thought of a bite mark on a Popsicle and my mouth got a little numb. And then I sorta shivered 😛

  4. June 3, 2011 5:57 pm

    Oh, I remember those — I didn’t actually like them, though, they tasted too strongly of coconut!! Which works, I guess, if you like coconut. 😉

    And YES, my teeth hurt just thinking about biting into ice cream!

    ❤ ❤

  5. Joil permalink
    June 3, 2011 6:01 pm

    I see these and want them so bad. But since I have to gain + do zero exercise, I feel I do not deserve. Not exercising (not moving!)is my breaking thing.

    I do eat dark chocolate, etc.
    But certain things, are such a struggle

    Like bread on its own completely.

    It is the sedentarism and the major tummy and digestive issues I face that stop me. I feel guilt + worry that it will worsen my tummy.

    I cannot stand myself. And nothing helps.All the counsellrs I have tried have not helped.

    How did you get to be so freaking amazing? Your whole journey was and is amazing to me.

  6. June 3, 2011 6:09 pm

    Yumm… these look great! I haven’t had anything as tasty as these today…. good thing the night is young!

  7. June 3, 2011 6:22 pm

    *shiver* my teeth are wayyy too sensitive to bite into a cold popsicle/ice cream bar! these look so good, though. i hate that my usual grocery store doesn’t carry these ice creams, and only the co-op. i usually only go to the co-op on my lunch break from work! -sad face.-
    uhh, i sound kinda lame for saying this, but best thing i’ve had to eat today was definitely a fried egg pb & j. on irish soda bread. ohhhh my lanta. don’t knock it ’til ya try it…?

  8. June 3, 2011 6:23 pm

    LOVE coconut bliss! So many great yummies! Great company!

    Love you! Im loving that Mike came home and surprised me with pink roses and a sweet card!!!

  9. June 3, 2011 6:26 pm

    Hmm looks like you have 3 more left. Why do you share one with me? haha.
    You know what that never made me cringe until you pointed it out, now I can’t stop thinking about it 😛

    I think I’m the biggest coconut bliss addict ever. So Delicious (I don’t know if they have that brand in canada?) is just not near as good.
    Right now, the pineapple one is my fav.

    And I agree with you, every time I eat something like that it makes me so thankful for recovery. I love that I am able to enjoy whatever food I want 🙂

  10. June 3, 2011 6:49 pm

    oooh do those taste like chocolate and coconut? or just chocolate? they look awesome!

  11. June 3, 2011 6:53 pm

    1.) Nature’s Path Crunchy Maple Sunrise cereal. Sooooo good. Reminds me of Cap’n Crunch 🙂

    2.) YES!! Eek, my teeth feel super sensitive just thinking about it, haha.

    Happy weekend to ya!! xo

  12. June 3, 2011 6:55 pm

    NUMMM!!!! 😛 Best thing I had this Friday was probably a ginormous carrot from the farmer’s market–I had it with my dinner and honestly, the simplicity and flavor created a tastebud party in my mouth 🙂 I just love the freedom of recovery, so empowering and full of delicious noms heehee

  13. June 3, 2011 7:03 pm

    I just tried my So Delicious coconut fudge bar yesterday. It was good, but I wasn’t too satisfied; it was way too small!!!

  14. June 3, 2011 7:07 pm

    YUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUMMMMMMMMMMM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Favourite thing I had on Friday was the most amazing hot chocolate I’ve ever had in my life. It was like drinking liquid chocolate!! OH MY 🙂

    xxx

  15. June 3, 2011 7:09 pm

    lol. It didn’t make me cringe until you mentioned it, but I really like the “so delicious” coconut almond ice cream bars!

  16. Emily permalink
    June 3, 2011 7:10 pm

    Yep, my teeth honestly started to ache a little when I saw that photo. *shudders*. Anyway, that bar looks fantastic – I’m going to have to try one of those! I can’t remember the last time I had any kind of fudgsicle… maybe last summer?! Way too long, at any rate.
    Best thing I had this Friday was a square of Ghirardelli 100%. I adore bitter chocolate just as much as the creamy milk stuff. Oh, and I have a TJ’s dark caramel sea salt bar hiding in my cabinet – I may have to make a date with that after dinner!

  17. June 3, 2011 7:17 pm

    Oh man, I suddenly miss fudgsicles. I need to find some asap. The best thing I ate was… dun da da da… breakfast. I know, you thought that was going to be more exciting. Oh well, I like what I like and I like breakfast. And yes it makes my teeth ache to look at that picture. Also, it REALLY grosses me out when people share popsicles or suckers. Ew, it’s like licking someone else’s spit!

  18. June 3, 2011 7:22 pm

    I’ve been wanting to try out coconut milk ice cream/frozen desserts for ages! I just hate how expensive they are. 😛 Maybe I’ll make these my weekend treat to myself….

    Best thing I ate today was a slice of the apple and rhubarb loaf I made a few days ago!

  19. June 3, 2011 7:24 pm

    Wow! Those look delicious! I love coconut and cocoa together! What a perfect treat! Best thing I ate today – I enjoyed everything! Roasted red pepper hummus sandwich in a freshly baked pita for lunch and now I’m enjoying a deep dark chocolate extra thick smoothie!
    I hope you have a great weekend! :)aimee

  20. June 3, 2011 8:25 pm

    Oooh deliciousness!

  21. June 3, 2011 9:05 pm

    Oh my goodness. I have a serious thing for coconut, especially in ice cream form. I’m absolutely in love with So Delicious’ Sugar-Free Mint Chocolate Chip Coconut Milk Ice Cream (what a mouth-full!) because it’s yummy but leaves me without a sugar crash or foggy feeling. The best thing I ate today? Black bean brownie batter, straight from the food processor. Clearly I haven’t changed much since I was little 😀

  22. June 3, 2011 9:20 pm

    Moments like those definitely make recovery worth every bite. 🙂

  23. June 3, 2011 9:49 pm

    Had an awesome lunch: Sauteed veggies with chick peas and buckwheat noodles. Then went out and got a Rice Dream ice cream sandwich in Mint Chocolate!

  24. June 3, 2011 10:14 pm

    I NEED THOSE NOW! have a great weekend love!

  25. June 3, 2011 11:27 pm

    <3<3<3 Oh, I LOVE Coconut Bliss! I lived of it when I was in NY last year! Ah, I miss it so so much!! These popsircles looks awesome!
    The best thing I had yesterday was a strawberry ice cream smoothie, and the thickes chocolate you can imagen from Vivaldi!
    Happy weekend Amanda 🙂

  26. Tea permalink
    June 3, 2011 11:33 pm

    Oh my gosh, you’re back! I just re-stumbled into your blog here; I discovered your old blog when I was, in fact, experiencing some bumps in the road with my own recovery. You are incredible! Love your ideas and recipes (and gorgeous photography)–your “philosophical” posts ring SO true! Adding your new blog here to my blogroll, because you rock. 🙂

    • Tea permalink
      June 3, 2011 11:37 pm

      P.S. My blog is veganonthegogo.wordpress.com. The link from my name is a separate project long disbanded.

  27. June 4, 2011 12:11 am

    OMG that is some AMAZING looking ice-cream. I just had breakfast but now I want ice-cream for lunch 😉

  28. June 4, 2011 12:56 am

    You are so brave to bite into that ice cream. I could not have done it… my poor teeth hurt just thinking about the coldness! Love you and this post!!
    P.S. Def buying those bars the second I’m back in the States.

  29. June 4, 2011 5:21 am

    Oh my goodness, I didn’t know such a delicious thing existed and yet again, I’m stuck in the wrong country!! You’re making me so jealous!!
    Isn’t recovery fantastic? Having foods that you love and feeling happy and alive enjoying them. Life is too short to miss out on such amazing tastes and there is a whole world out there with so many flavors to try.
    I like biting into ice cream bars when they’re slightly soft 🙂 Only trouble is that they disappear faster that way!

  30. June 4, 2011 6:13 am

    Haha! I totally started cringing at that bite out of the popsicle! Ugh!! My teeth hurt just thinking about it!

    Love the play by play!

    Favorite thing I ate on Friday…the BEST frickin bowl of overnight oats ever! Rolled oats, almond milk, cottage cheese, cinnamon, maple flavoring, and chia seeds all topped with PB&Co cinnamon raisin swirl, pumpkin butter, and bananas! Totally bummed that I didn’t have time to take a pic!

  31. June 4, 2011 6:44 am

    WHY do your posts always leave me drooling?! And WHY don’t we have that in the UK?! And WHY did you do that because it definitely makes me cringe!! Sensitive teeth…ouchie!!

    Fave food on Friday was…squares of chocolate dipped in almond butter. Oh heavens 🙂

  32. June 4, 2011 7:26 am

    the only issue I have with this post is the fact that there’s only 4 bars in a box.

    GET
    IT
    GIRL!
    love you. love you like crazy!

  33. June 4, 2011 8:25 am

    Yesterday I went to a sushi restaurant with the girls from the lab. I didn’t really want to go but in the end I had a great night out and I finally tried sushi I liked. But today was even better because I finally found coconut butter and something I promised myself to buy for some holiday (my birthday probably). It is a biscuit spread 57% of which are Belgian caramel biscuits (yep, I love them). I have never seen anything similar before and I am quite intrigued. Maybe someday I will see how it tastes 🙂 .

    I can eat ice cream either way. If it’s good, I don’t care how I will eat it. And chocolate + coconut sounds just irresistible.

  34. June 4, 2011 8:25 am

    Favourite food I had this friday? CHOCOLATE SOUFFLE!! It was my first time and damn was it delicious! I also had some amazing asparagus/hazelnut strudel thing wrapped in puff pastry with the salmon I ordered at a restaurant. SO legit.

  35. movesnmunchies permalink
    June 4, 2011 9:04 am

    YES!! i cnt bite into them.. major teeth freeze! those look awesome! i wish coconut bliss and So delicious here! we need mo coconut! best friday eat… the cookie dough balls and raw chocolate cup from my lunch yesterday!

  36. June 4, 2011 10:32 am

    Uuummmmmm…I need to go get a box of those right now!

  37. June 4, 2011 11:37 am

    Eeek! I don’t like the bite. Those look delish though.
    Fav food this friday? = coffee fro-yo and fresh mango 🙂

  38. sunshinevegan permalink
    June 4, 2011 12:28 pm

    AHHH Coconut Bliss!!
    I am beyond obsessed with all things coconut. Coconut Bliss ice cream is probably my favorite thing in the world (next to coconut butter of course)
    And i just can’t bite into cold things like that. My teeth are pretty sensitive.

  39. June 4, 2011 3:31 pm

    Ohmygosh. I want that ice cream. We have only JUST cottoned on to coconut based milk (not the canned variety) over here – I think I have a looooong wait before ice cream comes on the market!

  40. June 4, 2011 4:29 pm

    Dear lord this post makes me happy. I need.that.now. But I surely won’t be biting it 😀

  41. June 4, 2011 4:30 pm

    Love this 🙂
    Yay for recovery! x a bajillion

  42. June 4, 2011 5:29 pm

    ahh I can’t bite into ice cream! it makes me cringe and I can’t watch people bite into it either. -shudders- but that ice cream bar looks delicious!

  43. June 4, 2011 5:35 pm

    I can only lick! The thought of biting straight into a lollipop, ice cream bar, or ice cube make me convulse. And, yeah, coconut bliss is totally he best company ever. There ice cream is off the charts– you can’t even call it ice cream! It’s so much better, and deserves a category of its own :). On friday,t he best thing I ate was granola and bread cubes with my new favorite almond milk poured on top, topped with peanut butter and cocoa powder. aahhhh, bliss. Random, delicious, bliss. I bet it would be great with almond butter, too, since you can’t eat peanuts!

  44. June 5, 2011 11:52 am

    Seeing people bite on the wooden stick gives me the shivers.

    I like coconut a lot.
    I’ve been inspired by you to try not to be so “afraid”. I had a whack of cottage cheese (new try ) earlier (I love dairy…I eat way too generous amounts of yogurt with crackers and avocado…weird).
    I also had a granola bar as a midmorning snack today…something i have always thought would be insane (carbs midmorning? while not moving or exercising , and instead sitting in church?).
    But I’m inspired. I figure I have nothing to lose…I think. Hope.

  45. owlmazing permalink
    June 9, 2011 5:44 am

    MMM those look great! I would definitely CRINGE if i saw someone take a bite! OWWW!

Leave a comment