Skip to content

. accept yourself for who you are .

June 14, 2011

Hey hey friends, it’s good to see you again 😀

I’m glad I didn’t scare you off with my profession of love for the sweet & savory oats, and it’s great to hear that some of you want to try them yourselves!  It’s not always easy to admit to being an oddball, but what can I do? It’s who I am. I’ve wasted too many years of my life feeling ashamed of who I was, and trying to mold myself into the kind of person that I thought the world wanted me to be, and for what? It certainly didn’t make me any happier… If anything, those were probably the unhappiest years of my life…

Maybe it comes with getting older [and wiser], or maybe it’s because recovery taught me so much about who I was and I learned that I’m not so bad after all, but I’ve become so much more comfortable with myself over the past few years – to the point where I’m actually proud of all of my quirks and oddities.

So on that note, and because the beautiful Jenny and Chelsey tagged me with this baby…

… which requires me to share 7 facts about myself, I thought I’d share some of what I think are the most important things that make me who I am. Hope ya enjoy 😀

. – . – . – .

1. I’m extremely introverted… I was never the popular girl at school who had tonnes of friends and went to all the coolest parties. I was quiet, I generally kept to myself, and I had a small group of close friends. This used to bug me a lot. I would spend hours agonizing over why I couldn’t be part of the in-crowd, why I couldn’t be friends with everybody. And it wasn’t until many years after graduating high school that I finally realized… because it wasn’t what I really wanted – it just wasn’t who I was. Sure, that type of lifestyle looks appealing, but it wasn’t for me. I enjoy the company of others, but I’m also perfectly content when the only company I have is myself. In fact, although I do love seeing my friends, I also need a lot of quiet time to myself where I can just escape from the world.

. – . – . – .

2. I’m a big kid at heart… I remember being a little kid and not being able to wait until I grew up so that I could finally do “big people” things. Well, I grew up and came to discover that “big people” things really aren’t my cup of tea. Sure, it’s not all bad, but I miss the carefree days of my childhood where I had no worries and my biggest responsibility was to make sure that I brushed my teeth before bed. Can’t bring those days back, but I can remind myself of them with Disney movies and teddies.

 

… and I often do.

. – . – . – .

3. My mom and dad are my best friends… Although we didn’t always get along so well, and I gave them endless amounts of grief during my rebellious teenage years, I’ve come to appreciate them so much now that I’m older [and, once again, wiser…]. They stood by me through everything, and were always there with their love and support no matter how crazy things I got. I truly believe that they were a huge part of the reason that I was able to recover from my ED, which was actually one of the things that made us even closer. Ok, I’ve gotta stop now… I’m getting all choked up over here.

. – . – . – .

4. I’m a closet video gamer… You probably wouldn’t be able to tell from looking at me (it actually surprises most people), but I’ve been into video games since I was a tiny little thing. I grew up playing Super Mario Bros. and Duck Hunt on the original Nintendo, and it’s pretty much progressed from there. Super Nintendo. N64. X-Box. Wii. I mostly stuck to the Nintendo brand because I may or may not have had a slight crush on Link, from Legend of Zelda. God I sound like a geek. These days, I don’t play many console games anymore because most of my gaming time is spent living in the World of Warcraft. Yes. It sucked me in 6? 7? years ago, and has yet to spit me out…

 

. – . – . – .

And now to [hopefully] redeem some of my coolness factor…

5. I’m incredibly good around cars… Not only can I change the oil and fix a flat, but I’ve actually rebuilt the engine on my car twice. I blame my dad for this one. He loves cars, and I have a sneaking suspicion that he originally wanted a son that he could pass that love on to, but when God blessed him with a baby girl, he decided to work with what he had and pass that love onto me instead. And it worked – the oily/greasy smells of a garage are just as appealing to me as the smell of cookies in the oven. I adore cars, I love to drive, and I have an insatiable need for speed. I did a lot of [legal] drag racing and [not-so-legal] street racing in my late teens and early twenties, and although I don’t race anymore, my shiny red sports car is still a source of endless enjoyment.

No, that’s not my shiny red sports car… It’s the one I wish I had. A Saleen S7.

. – . – . – .

6. I love food… and I’m constantly eating it. No joke. I absolutely gotta, hafta, must eat something more substantial every few hours, and I often randomly nibble on things in between those times. Sometimes I wonder if people think I do anything besides eat… The staff at the grocery stores that I visit pretty much know me by name, and it’s not uncommon for people that know me to give me comments like “You’re eating again. Didn’t you just have something a little while ago?” It used to make me want to throw my food at them, but now? Now I just give them a big old smile and say “Yeah, you jealous?”.

 

7. Words are my life… Reading. Writing. Nothing gives me more peace or joy than transferring the world around me to the blank pages of a book. My dream job has always been to be a writer, and although I’ve toyed with the idea countless times, self-doubt inevitably gets in my way. What if I can’t hack it? What if I can’t support myself? What if no one wants to hear what I have to say? What if, what if, what if… But who knows. My self-confidence is constantly growing, so you may one day see a book from me yet 😉 Until then, I’ll keep adding to my growing library…

. – . – . – .

And those are some of the things that make me, me 😀 I think one of the most important things that I’ve learned is to accept myself for who I am, and rock what I got, instead of trying to force myself to be someone that I’m not. It’s okay if I don’t live the kind of life that’s so highly glamorized by society – I live life my way, by doing what works for me. I think that everyone would be a lot happier if they redirected some of the energy that they devote to trying to make themselves fit some “perfect” mold, and used it to try and learn how to accept themselves for who they are instead.

Just my two cents.

Do we share anything in common?

Or, are we completely opposite in some things?

70 Comments leave one →
  1. June 14, 2011 5:38 pm

    LOVED these things about yourself. I used to be the girl on the outside skirts of the “in crowd” – desperately wanting to be in it, but not quite there. I’m glad I didn’t get too sucked into that though because I like who I am much better than I would have if I was a part of their crowd!

    My dream is to write a book – or be published somehow.

  2. June 14, 2011 5:40 pm

    1) what would u like to write? fiction? nonfiction? drama, youth, adventure? i love love books and all things stories.

    2) i am also introverted..i have been going out more to a friends (spent this afternoon swinging on a swing while we chatted)…but people say i’m socially isolated and its not good…but i can’t help but think its just “the way i am” u know?

    3) i can’t accept myself right now bcuz my shame and guilt and regret for the last few years is so intense…i guess that is fuel to do do do better and be better. taking things one step at a time is far better. i think guilt and regret and confusion are my biggest things right now…they clutter my head and don’t seem to want to vacate.

    • June 14, 2011 8:32 pm

      I’d actually love to write a fantasy novel first. Those tend to be my favorite because my imagination can really soar 😀 But I like nonfiction a lot too.. And yes, guilt and regret are useless… just do better and you’ll feel better.

  3. June 14, 2011 5:45 pm

    We are definitely alike, haha

  4. June 14, 2011 5:53 pm

    One of the hottest things ever is when you know a gorgeous girl who knows what to do around cars! (That’s YOU, by the way 😉 ) I USED TO LOVE PLAYING DUCK HUNT ON THE OLD NINTENDO, TOO!! It was pretty much one of my favourite games. And then we got a Sega (remember those?!) and I played sonic the hedgehog instead. Then came the playstation and crash bandicoot took over my life. Now I don’t play video games and I’m kind of glad because I don’t need anymore excuses to procrastinate 😉 Your book collection is impressive but…where is Harry Potter?!

    xxx

    • June 14, 2011 8:37 pm

      Lol I remember Sonic! My cousin had it and I was always kind of jealous because I never had Sega. And if you can believe it, I’ve never read any Harry Potter books…

  5. June 14, 2011 5:55 pm

    I totally relate to you!!! I’m definitely an introvert and have always been really shy, my husband is the exact opposite and is totally an extrovert – somedays he just can’t understand me!!! I need lots of quiet time – and he can’t stand one moment of silence!

  6. June 14, 2011 6:04 pm

    I’m a kid at heart, I love food, and words are my life!! Girl we could be twins but I have no talent for cars :/

    There’s really nothing wrong with being an introvert, if you’re an extrovert you could get into a situation where everyone knows you and hangs out with you but you don’t really have any “close” friends and then EVERYBODY starts talking bad about you behind your back. Trust me it sucks.

  7. June 14, 2011 6:04 pm

    I love to read and quite enjoyed trying to read as many spines as possible on your bookshelf. I’m not a car person, I don’t even have my licence…but, I am an introvert, I love disney movies, and love food…so I would say we have a lot in common 🙂

  8. June 14, 2011 6:07 pm

    I know absolutely nothing about cars or video games… but I agree with all the rest of your answers! I was the exact same way in HS, wishing I was “cooler” with a huge group of friends. But looking back, I’m so thankful for my small group of really close friends. I’m still best friends with them today!

  9. June 14, 2011 6:08 pm

    1, 2, 3, 6, 7 are me to a T! 🙂 especially number 7, I can never get enough of my books!! I’m with ya sister, I love being unique. Recovery sure taught me to love myself for me 🙂

  10. June 14, 2011 6:09 pm

    I was definitely that quiet shy girl in high school. I wish I was the girl who went out every weekend with tons of girlfriends but who am I kidding I’m pretty antisocial lol My best friends are still my high school friends. I went through all 4 years of college without making a true friend. And I love to eat too. If I go a few hours without food I definitely get some serious anxiety.

  11. June 14, 2011 6:19 pm

    HMM I am a huge reader and writer (like you- go Twilight Series on the book shelf lol) and I am ALWAYS eating. ALWAYS. The old ladies and farmers at the market do know me, and we are always chatting haha. I am not good around cars or play video games that much. I come from a fam of girls so we dont even own a system. My fam and I are verryveryy close as well…uh think thats it 🙂 haha

  12. June 14, 2011 6:26 pm

    I can ‘t believe how muchwe have in common! M parents too are my best friends – they are my biggest supporters! I too consider myself to be an introverted person. I don’t however know a lot about cars – but I wish I did – especially during those timeswhrn the “check engine” light pops on!
    Great post! I love hearing more about the blogger behind the blog!
    P.S. You totally deserve this award!

  13. Tina- Vanillandspice permalink
    June 14, 2011 6:46 pm

    I loved this post. I’m a reader too. That was actually going to be one of my ten things in my next post! If I was only given one source of entertainment for the rest of my life, it would be a book.
    And of course, we have the love of food in common.

  14. June 14, 2011 6:46 pm

    You and I are pretty similar 🙂 Im an introvert, my daddy is one of my good friends, and I love to read and write!! Oh ya and I love food 🙂 I wish I knew more about cars, Im pretty sure my hubby would really enjoy that one!! He is always talking about cars and I have no idea what he is saying!! I mean I do like cars, my dream car is a 65 mustang, but I dont know anything about the internal parts at all! Wanna teach me?? 😉

  15. June 14, 2011 7:23 pm

    You and I share our relationships with our parents in common. They are seriously my absolute best friends, and no matter how many times I mess up… they’re ALWAYS the first to help me get back on my feet. I feel so lucky to have them! I’m visiting them right now, actually, but I leave tomorrow… I’m more than a little bummed 😦

  16. June 14, 2011 7:29 pm

    all of this made me love you even more. and i think we’d get along quite well…before we got sick of each other and needed our alone time 😛 haha. really, though – i’m the same there, and absolutely adore my mother, too. i feel like i’m ALWAYS eating something, too. whether it’s at work or at home i can’t help but wonder if people think “you’re eating AGAIN?!” but are just too afraid to say anything, lol.

  17. June 14, 2011 7:36 pm

    Amen sister!! 😀 Food is the bomb! Healthy food especially.

  18. June 14, 2011 7:58 pm

    I usually don’t say this to bloggers that much, but I think I’m in love with you and this blog 🙂
    You’ve just touched upon the subjects that I personally have been feeling insecure about.
    Thanks,
    Stephanie

  19. June 14, 2011 8:02 pm

    I’m kind of jealous about how great you are around cars…

    However, I too love the Legend of Zelda. In fact my sister and I pitched in to get gamecube JUST because we could get Zelda. It’s ALL we used to do growing up. I haven’t played in years though…perhaps it’s time to pull that back out?!

    One of the greatest parts (for me) about reading your blog is your pride in being able to eat so often. Everytime I’m at work I get “picked on” for always nimbling on something. I actually got YELLED at once because I was in the back of the house eating when I should have been out front working! But I literally can’t function if I’m hungry, and I try to explain that to the managers…but they just don’t understand. Oh well…we come first, don’t we?

    Plus I like being able to eat a lot…although sometimes it’s tough to accept. Knowing that I’m not the only one out there that eats constantly is nice. =)

    • June 14, 2011 9:36 pm

      I bought my N64 JUST for Ocarina of Time, and that’s still probably one of my favorite Zelda games to this day 😀 And I had a hard time accepting how much I need to eat as well, but honestly… any less and I feel like crap, so why not embrace it and enjoy it as much as I can?

      • June 15, 2011 6:50 pm

        True! There’s a definite shift in my mood when I’m eating even a little less than I need and eating what my body needs.

  20. June 14, 2011 8:22 pm

    I think I love you even more? And girl, I am IMPRESSED about the car stuff!
    I used to be big into video gaming! I blame my cousin, my used to be bestest friend. Remember Pokemon? Yeah. Just a slight obsession. A slight…

  21. June 14, 2011 8:58 pm

    i really enjoyed reading this amanda! i feel like i’m getting to know you more and more, which is a very good thing =) my mom and my dad are two of best friends as well – i don’t know what i’d do without them (and here i am choking up toooo!) words are my life as well. i like reaidng the dictionary. i’m kind of a nerd in that way. unlike you though, i HATE video games, muahah. i think it’s cool though that you are so good with cars. i wish i was better with cars but unfortunately i am a total DUD when it comes to them. it’s quite sad.

  22. elizabeth permalink
    June 14, 2011 9:30 pm

    favourite post yet 🙂

  23. Lilly permalink
    June 14, 2011 9:53 pm

    Loved learning about the girl behind the blog that I love oh so much! That is totally awesome about the car thing, I know almost nothing about cars at all. My madre is my best friend too, she’s my rock and I love her so much. And I feel you on the food thing, I seriously am constantly eating, we call it my marathon eating- then I sleep and rest up for another marathon. People literally ask me all the time where it all goes and how I can eat so darn much – I was even pressured to go see a doctor because someone was worried that a girl my size could eat more then a large man, but its all cool.

  24. Lenna permalink
    June 14, 2011 10:03 pm

    While I can totally relate to you in point 1,2, 6 and 7, I have to say I love what you say in point 2! I´d love to have such a great relationship with my parents!
    I really hear you about the adulthood and responsibilities thing. Especially since finishing my masters degree I am often thinking about the easiness of childhood years.
    I also never was the most popular kid “around the block”, but I always had close friends, even if only two or three (or one). It made me sad sometimes, but later I realized that it had actually been exactly what I wanted.

  25. June 15, 2011 1:22 am

    I love that you also have an entire shelf section devoted to Sophie Kinsella books 🙂 And I’m also a closet video game freak- in middle school and high school all I would talk about was Tomb Raider walkthroughs and World of Warcraft…hahahaha…:)

  26. movesnmunchies permalink
    June 15, 2011 3:00 am

    ur a video gamer? I LOVE IT! totally would not have guessed that!!… one thing about me is that IM SO HARD on myself.. thats the one thing i hope to change in the future… it just takes away the fun from life!

  27. June 15, 2011 3:01 am

    I can’t believe you ever wanted to be anything different because you are so AWESOME and amazing just as you are! 😀

    I LOVE words and I live in bookstores and libraries, cool that I am hehe! And I am SO with you on the food thing!! Seriously, I eat every few minutes and people are always commenting on it which used to annoy me a bit but really I know they’re just jealous 😉 Thankfully my friends are actually used to it and sometimes bring food FOR me! 😛

  28. June 15, 2011 4:13 am

    I love your book collection. I adore reading and writing too. I just I had more time to do more of it.

  29. June 15, 2011 4:19 am

    Ahh it’s so lovely to learn more about you!! It’s actually kinda scary how much we have in common..in fact, I’d probably say the same about myself for ALL of them believe it or not! I’m extremely introverted, a HUGE kid at heart (gah I HATE being 20!!), my parents are my bestest friends ever after all that we’ve been through with my ED and stuff, I played video games all the time with my brother and his friends as a kid and teen – I was such a gaming geek. I got addicted to warcraft too LOL. I love love cars too – my Dad has two Ferrari’s which I drive *ahem illegally*. I love food, being creative with it, eating it, GAH it’s amazing – can’t believe I denied myself of it for so long. Now I’m definitely making up for it! And I adore reading too. Scary hey?! We could be twinnys 🙂

  30. June 15, 2011 4:37 am

    I loved reading these things about you! I’m a nintendo kind of girl, I’m introverted, and I’m sooo close to my mom she’s my best friend, and I’m a HUGE kid at heart. 🙂 That’s so awesome you’ve rebuilt an engine! Surprisingly both of my parents are really into cars but that love was never passed down to me. Now I just let the boyfriend do all of my work but I do know how to change a tire!

  31. June 15, 2011 5:06 am

    Oh I love to read too! Your book collection looks awesome. Do you have any recommendations?

    I wish I was good around cars…and technology, but I think I’m just an old soul who prefers not to text/tweet/facebook. It’s a sensory overload!

  32. Julia permalink
    June 15, 2011 6:52 am

    ZELDA?! N64, Ocarina of Time is officially the best game ever. I’m also very introverted and best friends with my mom. Yeah we are a lot alike haha

  33. June 15, 2011 7:26 am

    I loved reading this and getting to know more about you! I am definitely with you on the last one. Words are my life. In fact, part of why it took me so long to land a job after graduation is because I was ornery and insisted on having a job that let me write, no matter what.

    Damn, I also really really want to make those coconut chocolate chip cookies because of you! You make em look so damn good!

    Have a faaab wednesday! xo

  34. June 15, 2011 7:47 am

    Introverted, kid at heart, words are my life — yep, we have those in common. Mom and dad as my best friends, not so much. (We get along a lot better when we’re a few thousand miles apart.) And while I’m not good around cars, I did used to have somewhat of an obsession with them — before I could even drive, coincidentally! Then I got mad that I wanted a $200K car that I’d never be able to afford, so I gave up. :p

    ❤ ❤

  35. June 15, 2011 8:15 am

    we are alike by being extremely introverted, being a big kid at heart, having mom and dad as best friends, and loving food. 🙂
    i will admit though..i am an ex-video gamer.
    and i pretended to know everything about cars. but i really don’t know anything. the damn mechanics try to take advantage of the fact that i’m a girl and it pisses me off.

    – Sharelle

  36. June 15, 2011 8:41 am

    Hi beautiful! I mis you so much! Miss reading your blog every day! I cant wait to get back full swing with blogging again! I love the 7 things!

    My mom and dad are everything to me, I love food as well!

    I hope you are fabulous! Miss you!

    p.s. cinnamon puffins are amazing too!!! love u!

  37. June 15, 2011 8:50 am

    My husband plays WOW too. lol That’d be hilarious if you knew each other somehow. I LOVE all these. A lot of times I also feel like I’m constantly eating. haha But hey, whatever works 🙂 I’ve realized I need to do what my body tells me is right, rather than what other people tell me is right.

    Also, I’m very introverted as well and need that alone time to recharge. I never used to understand why I would get so bogged down after socializing a lot…then I realized that for me, it takes a lot of energy to socialize. Now I know that if I’ve been on the go, with people all the time, socializing a lot, talking a lot, or etc, that it’s OKAY for me to go home, sit on the couch and not talk. Or go home, get in the kitchen and bake for a few hours, without talking to anyone. lol It’s how I recharge, so I can get filled up and energized again.

  38. June 15, 2011 9:21 am

    We have SO much in common! Well, besides for the whole car thing – I wish I knew more about cars, but I’m pretty clueless. 😉

  39. June 15, 2011 10:48 am

    I love this post because it reminds me of who I am! Through my recovery I have also learned to accept and love my quirkiness (trust me, there’s a lot). Fun fact: I also love video games (Zelda, Half-Life, Harvest Moon woot woot!). Also, I was never into dolls, or Barbies, or dress up as a little girl. Nope, instead, thanks to my dad, I grew up with Godzilla, Transformers, and Dragon Ball Z. No shame, no shame 🙂

  40. June 15, 2011 11:27 am

    My parents are my best buds too. I am an only child, so I was just always included in conversations, special dinners, and vacations. I mean, I didn’t go to *everything*, but I never felt left out. For that reason, I’ve tried to keep them in my life as much as possible too. Luckily, my hubby is now my #1 best friend, and he likes to chill with the fam too. Thank goodness!

  41. June 15, 2011 12:10 pm

    I love learning more about the people behind the blogs like this 🙂
    & I’m a closet kid… snuggling up in a duvet & sticking on a fave kids’ movie is a great thing to do when it comes to indulging in some “me”-time.
    & YES to being a closet gamer. I have NEVER told anyone that I sign into my bro’s XBOX Live account & get into a game of COD. I get nasty on that thing though… gamer-rage.
    Agree with the parents thing. I get emotional thinking about it all, but I really don’t know where I’d be without their guidance when things get tough. An eating disorder is an awful thing, but mygoddd, does it make you realise who/what’s important! x

    • June 15, 2011 12:47 pm

      Lol I’ve seen some pretty crazy things happen when people get angry playing COD. I think that game can bring out the worst in people… same with CS.

  42. June 15, 2011 12:12 pm

    Loved reading this! I can relate to you on pretty much all your facts, especially #’s 3 and 6. It kills me to see people who don’t have great relationships with their parents or families because when you really think about it, family is who will always be there for you (or at least what I would hope).

    I hope to see a book by you in the future! Don’t let self doubt get in your way and just go for it! 🙂

  43. June 15, 2011 12:59 pm

    While I’m not introverted per say, I’m not extroverted either. It used to bug me a lot and it still does a little, to be honest. Society has taught us that introverts are lame and extroverts are cool, instead of acknowledging that both introversion and extraversion are normal variants of behavior. It’s just the way you are and there is not much you can do about it!

    I absolutely love reading, but not writing. I mean, I was very good at it in school, but it’s not my passion or something like that. You definitely seem to have a way with words, so I have no doubt that you could achieve your dream if you decided to persue it. 😉

  44. June 15, 2011 1:07 pm

    I would have never thought you’d be a gamer. haha 🙂
    I am an avid reader as well, I have a huge list of ‘too reads.’ & Disney is the bomb.
    oh ps. I cam across this –>http://www.tastespotting.com/features/tag/oatmeal-project/page/2
    and immediately thought of you.

  45. June 15, 2011 1:37 pm

    Hiiiiiii I come to you from Clean Eating Chelsey..and because I see you over at funfoodandfreeweights a lot 🙂

    I have I believe 3 full notebook pages of “to-reads”? I am glad I don’t make much money anymore. Before the recession when I was up around $3k/month I spent probably about $5,000 on books every year. Uh yeah. And now they are all where our jackets are supposed to go in our front hall closet… :-X

  46. June 15, 2011 2:26 pm

    Wise words, from the wisest girl I know 🙂
    Im like you, love my alone-time (I love time with close ones too of course) and I dont mind enjoying a Saturday night alone from time to time. I LOVE Disney classics and have so many. I often see one when I want to relax and just cheer myself up. Or make myself sad- some of them are SO sad! I love foods, but there are some humps in they way 😛 But Im getting there, and I really DO love to eat, and I never eat anything I dont like.

    But I dont know anything about cars. I have my license, but I really dont know how I got it. I suck, and no one want to sit in the car when I drive (true story :P).

    And I used to be addicted to Super Mario- good times! I miss it 🙂

  47. June 15, 2011 3:46 pm

    I am totally with you on the introversion – I am incredibly introverted, and just had a few close friends at school too. I desperately wanted to be part of the popular crowd though – but looking back, I’m glad I wasn’t. I wouldn’t have got awesome exam grades or be who I am today if I’d been with them.
    Annnd my mum = my best friend! My ED definitely brought us closer together, and I love her to pieces 🙂

  48. June 15, 2011 4:28 pm

    This is such a wonderful post per usual 🙂 You consistently write about thoughts in my head, like this post! I have difficulties accepting certain things about me, such as being an introvert and being best friends with my parents, but they are both true… and there is nothing wrong with this! I like to be alone and maybe have a few friends, but that’s pretty much it.

  49. June 15, 2011 4:45 pm

    We have a lot in common. Especially 1, 2 and 7. Also, I still play video games, although I’ve never tried WOW, and I may not be a car expert but I would make quite a good plumber 😀

  50. June 15, 2011 7:30 pm

    Going into this post, I figured we’d probably have a lot in common…and I was right! I used to be REALLY shy in school except with my little group of friends…not in the “popular crowd” yet not a dork…but completely content!

    When I had cable, I used to watch the Disney channel all the time (as embarrassing as it is to say, I could never flip the channel if Hannah Montana was on! Lol) And I used to LOVE Super Mario Bros and Duck Hunt (although I would totally cheat at DH and put the end of the gun to the TV screen!)

    My dad has always been the same way with me…wether it’s cars or home improvement, he’s always teaching me “manly stuff” as I like to call it and I love it! It’s so funny the looks you get when, as a girl, you say, yeah, I change my own oil! Some guys look at you like you just took your shirt off in front of them. Wait…in they’re mind, that probably IS what’s happening! 😉

    I spy a Twilight fan!! Have you seen the trailer for Breaking Dawn? It looks awesome!

    • June 15, 2011 8:15 pm

      Lol I cheated that way in DH too 😉 It was the only way to beat the later levels when the ducks would be going insane! And I’m actually kind of hesitant to tell guys that I’m good around cars. Some of the reactions I’ve gotten have been… interesting.

  51. June 15, 2011 7:58 pm

    super cute post! Glad I read this. i just did my own random facts about me post recently, and I had so much fun doing it! Very impressed with the car skills and fascinated by the video game world, other than those two things we share a lot in common 🙂 Cars actually intimidate me. maybe I should get over that??? 😉

  52. June 16, 2011 7:13 am

    We actually have quite a bit in common. I’m an extreme introvert, too. I could happily spend the majority of the day by myself. My counselor has told me a lot that introverts need “time alone to deal with people”, and extroverts need “time with people to deal with being alone.” So true! Especially during the school year, I find that wake up very early just so I can have a few quiet moments to myself before the day begins. Now that its summer (even though I usually have the entire first half of the day to myself!) I find that I’m staying up way late to enjoy that time to myself! No one really understands this… I’ve never had the joy of meeting another introvert… my family keeps telling me I’m not a “normal” teenage girl. That kinda gets me down sometimes… but spending all my time with friends just isn’t me!

    • June 16, 2011 12:19 pm

      You ARE normal, girl. There’s no rule that says you have to enjoy spending time with people. If you feel happy and content by yourself, then what else matters? Don’t listen to people who tell you that you have to be someone that you’re not… just do what works for you.

  53. June 16, 2011 11:41 am

    I was the same in highschool. Though i don’t think I’m nearly as shy, it’s still hard to make friends and start relationships because of my shyness. It only really bothers me when I see things that make extroversion and being wild and outspoken the “norm”. You know? Other then those times, I’m happy with myself and who I am.

  54. June 16, 2011 3:44 pm

    I just love you and this entire post!!! :)))

    I agreed with a number of them… I’m not really an introvert (or I’ve never considered myself one, though the past year or so I’ve become more introverted and I dont’ actually like it because I think it’s mostly out of anxiety about people judging me, but that’s a major tangent haha) but I’m SO all over disney & reading/writing & am intensely jealous of yoru bookshelf. My goal in life is to have a library like the one in beauty & the beast 😛 (rather, to marry someone who can buy me said library… he needn’t be rich, just has to have enough to build me a library an then we can live liek peasants for all I care 😛 hahah).

    & yes, please write a book. 🙂 I love your writing! I think writing as a profession would stress me out too much, I get WAY too anxious when I write for school/etc and I don’t think I’m stand-out enough to do much with it but I’m content with that as I have other interests (aka I’m a psych nerd, it’s a problem)


    n

Trackbacks

  1. . WIAW … round 6 . « . running with spoons .
  2. Posts I love… Last Week « The Process of Healing
  3. . WIAW … round 6 .

Leave a comment